We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour @ Truluck”

Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House
Reserve with OpenTable
Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 4,768 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Jolla Village Drive
San Diego, California
1 review
“Happy hour @ Truluck”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Review is only for happy hour in the bar area. Selection of HH food isn't super expansive, but what they lack in variety, they make up in quality. Drink selection is wider, and also quite delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hwang7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    122
    44
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“All you can eat Stone Crab!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We found this GEM on Yelp and found out that we really didn't need to fly to Florida to get amazing stone crab in season!! They had all you can eat for $69 WITH a salad and a side!!! It was a GREAT DEAL and as delicious as it was in Florida only 3 weeks before. The tuna was also great too.
The service was FANTASTIC starting with the reservation process and courtesy calls to make sure that our larger party was accommodated. Our server was very helpful with the food and drink menu and seemed VERY knowledgeable and friendly. Our entire party had a great experience and will look forward to going back when we are in town again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome desserts”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Awesome seafood and desserts. A great addition to San Diego. Good for special occasions. Hate how trip advisor has a 100 character minimum.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank artichoke78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Trulucks was outstanding in many respects. The seafood was fabulous. The range and price was excellent. The blends of flabours in the dishes was flavoursome without over powering the seafood. We had S&P calimari as a starter, it was a fraction heavy of the bread/batter, but very fresh, well cooked and not chewy/tough. We followed with the crab cocktail. The highlight of this was the large crab pieces ready to eat. There was no fussing around with cracking shells and digging out the flesh. We also tried the Lobster bisque. It was also delicious. The horseradish was subtle, but it could have had a little more lobster.

The Hallibut was excellent. Almost like a white salmon. It was soft and creamy on the palet. I opted for the bernaise add on which included 3 shrimp and some shredded crab, plus the sauce. This was nicely done and I choose the asparagus side which worked really well with the bernaise.

The crab leg (which you can buy one-by-one) was fresh and tasty, but Australians should be aware it tastes nothing like sandcrab or mudcrab from Australia. It's a cold water crab and doesn't have the salty taste of the crabs served in Australia.

Other posters have noted the benefit of having Andrew as your waiter. He was happy to accommodate any request and his knowledge of both the menu and winelist was excellent.

The winelist was extensive and the sparkling, chardonnay and sav blanc we had recommended by Andrew were all outstanding. If there was any downside it was the wine was a little expensive (perhaps 10-15% above most fine dinging restaurants). We were out for a special occasion so we didn't mind, but this might be important to some.

And finally, the chap in the hat on the piano. What was the manager thinking? He'd start a tune and then stop and switch to something else and at one stage, he stopped singing mid tune to talk to someone who was walking by. Very odd.

But don't let a bum note from the pianist put you off. This place is first class. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simonsays01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great experience - 36th Anniversary”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting San Diego for the week and started our trip with dinner at Truluck's due to its TA rating and reviews. We were not disappointed.

Our server was Matt who did a superb job and made the whole evening quite enjoyable.

We started with the cold shellfish platter for two and then we both had the Miso Seabass which was just fantastic.

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank ClarkJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing