We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Grub!”

Devine Pastabilities
Ranked #207 of 4,770 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Toasty hollow garlic bread with great pasta dishes, salads and cheese steaks stuffed inside!
Whistler, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome Grub!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Carbs, Carbs, Carbs!!! The Spagehetti Carbonara Tor is to die for. Great little place just off Midway Drive near the old town. Stopped off for a quick bite and now feel like I could go a week before feeling the need to eat again. Perhaps I could suggest getting some other beverages apart from those made by Coca Cola as we don't personally enjoy sugary fizz all that much. Perhaps a nice milkshake or juice selection as an alternative?? Apart from this though, I would highly recommend it to anyone for some unorthodox, new cuisine!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_Livingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    27
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“2 Thumbs Up!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The torpastas here are fantastic - hollowed out french bread filled with your favorite pasta. This is the ideal place for a good carbo load! I highly recommend the carbonara. How can you go wrong with bacon?! They even let me add extra cheese and chicken! I tried my husbands alfredo one and it was also delicious. The service was quick and the people were very friendly. The prices are very reasonable. I don't think you would notice it was there unless you were looking for it, but it is a "must have."

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“1st Class”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stopped here for lunch as we wanted to try something new. They sere various types of pasta in a hollowed out sub roll with garlic butter. never had anything like it before and it was great. service was quick what you would expect from a diner and the food was great. We had carbonara in a sub roll.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I ended up eating there twice myself. It was walking distance from our hotel, BUT I'd have no trouble driving a bit to eat there.

They are known for their Torpasta's... basically think of any pasta you like, but stuffed inside breading that holds it all together... looking a bit like a Torpedo...

Great idea, and it works wonderfully... between me and the family, I was able to try the Meatball with spaghetti, Macahelper, Tortellini in pesto, and Meat Lasagna Torpastas. All were very good. I thought the Lasagna and Tortellini in pesto were fantastic.

This concept would make a great food truck also! Torpasta's are super easy to eat and walk.. though we didn't try it... I have no doubt about this.

They also have some really good local beers on tap.... I loved this place.

Oh..we met the owner.. he was very friendly and great to talk to!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank superbford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What an amazing find!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Yesterday when I searched this site for an inexpensive place to eat near Humphrey's, I found this place. The food sounded so unusual I had to try it. My husband and I split a 12 inch sub of pesto pasta, sun dried tomatoes with shrimp, he had a beer with the whole tab being under $20! Food was FANTASTIC!!! I WILL be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank belindaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devine Pastabilities also viewed

 

Been to Devine Pastabilities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing