We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Thumbs Up!”

Devine Pastabilities
Ranked #181 of 4,764 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Toasty hollow garlic bread with great pasta dishes, salads and cheese steaks stuffed inside!
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“2 Thumbs Up!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The torpastas here are fantastic - hollowed out french bread filled with your favorite pasta. This is the ideal place for a good carbo load! I highly recommend the carbonara. How can you go wrong with bacon?! They even let me add extra cheese and chicken! I tried my husbands alfredo one and it was also delicious. The service was quick and the people were very friendly. The prices are very reasonable. I don't think you would notice it was there unless you were looking for it, but it is a "must have."

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    27
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“1st Class”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stopped here for lunch as we wanted to try something new. They sere various types of pasta in a hollowed out sub roll with garlic butter. never had anything like it before and it was great. service was quick what you would expect from a diner and the food was great. We had carbonara in a sub roll.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I ended up eating there twice myself. It was walking distance from our hotel, BUT I'd have no trouble driving a bit to eat there.

They are known for their Torpasta's... basically think of any pasta you like, but stuffed inside breading that holds it all together... looking a bit like a Torpedo...

Great idea, and it works wonderfully... between me and the family, I was able to try the Meatball with spaghetti, Macahelper, Tortellini in pesto, and Meat Lasagna Torpastas. All were very good. I thought the Lasagna and Tortellini in pesto were fantastic.

This concept would make a great food truck also! Torpasta's are super easy to eat and walk.. though we didn't try it... I have no doubt about this.

They also have some really good local beers on tap.... I loved this place.

Oh..we met the owner.. he was very friendly and great to talk to!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank superbford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What an amazing find!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Yesterday when I searched this site for an inexpensive place to eat near Humphrey's, I found this place. The food sounded so unusual I had to try it. My husband and I split a 12 inch sub of pesto pasta, sun dried tomatoes with shrimp, he had a beer with the whole tab being under $20! Food was FANTASTIC!!! I WILL be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank belindaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian Bistro”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My family and I ate there last night. The service was excellent, the food was delicious, and the price was perfect!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CMPerry1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devine Pastabilities also viewed

 

Been to Devine Pastabilities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing