We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded Breakfast Option”

Vela at Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Reserve with OpenTable
Vela at Hilton San Diego Bayfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #728 of 4,764 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Harbor Drive/Park Avenue
Description: With an emphasis on global coastal cuisine and wines that span all oceans, Vela is a revolutionary culinary concept. Showcasing breathtaking views of the bay, this San Diego waterfront restaurant features a unique wine list and a menu that truly thrives on the principle of "farm to fork."
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Upgraded Breakfast Option”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Opted for the buffet here rather than a 'drink and snack' at Starbucks, as offered with Hilton Gold status. $10 for the upgrade was well worth it. Buffet was gigantic -- everything you could imagine. Eggs, omelets, biscuits and gravy, breakfast meats, cereal, fruit, salads, breads, french toast/pancakes, and the list goes on. Mimosas were an extra $6 (great for a glass of champagne with a splash of OJ :-) ) and weren't half bad either. Service was fast, and very friendly. Views of the bay are spectacular while eating breakfast. Large, well-decorated dining room with a well stocked expansive bar as well. I was very, very happy with my choice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    63
    54
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent concept, poor execution”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A colleague ate here before and was very happy, so we dined there in mid November. it was a pretty miserable meal. The salad I ordered was limp, drenched in heavy dressing. Another dish also came with vegetables killed by the heavy sauce or dressing. I would have remained silent about it if this were a modest restaurant, but it's a confident restaurant at a power address and charges accordingly. The menu offerings and descriptions were excellent, but the food that was delivered to the table on Nov 12tn (ordered around 7:30pm) was substandard in execution.

The only thing that stood up to its menu description and the server recommendation was a special dessert served in a nest of thin, crisp almond cookie with a dark chocolate layer at the bottom holding some fresh berries with a light topping of vanilla ice cream. It WAS outstanding although sweeter than I'd like my dessert (most American desserts are very sweet for me, so this is no exception and no cause for complaint). This dessert did make up for the very disappointing dinner which was not inexpensive.

Their menu is good, and my colleague had a great meal there before. Perhaps the dinner chef was out sick that day and the substitute chef killed all the veges???? Was I there on an exceptional night when things went terribly wrong in the kitchen???

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The staff aims to please”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Breakfast buffet at $24 was sumptious. Available for kids at half price. Excellent scones, fresh salads, omelets to order...The staff recognized us and welcomed us back each time was appeared, remembering what kinds of coffee we liked.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LongIslandSuemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
434 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Healthy choices”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I went to this restaurant 4 times during my stay and appreciated the quality and variety of the food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaLunaStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great view. Excellent food. Delicious fresh fruit! Outside seating for best experience. Service was excellent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vela at Hilton San Diego Bayfront also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Vela at Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing