We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Thai food!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #2,562 of 4,726 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great Thai food!!! I got a groupon and went there with my gf and friends. I thought The food appeared to be a little Americanized, but I was wrong. The flavors were phenomenal.

Our waiter (Dean I think) was great. We took his advice on several (if not all) items that we ordered and they were great.

The place is really nice inside, but I'd advice to eat in the back room (much nicer).

We had Pad Thai (crispier than regular at other places, which was a great touch), Panang (sp?) Curry with Duck, Lobster and Scallops.

Definitely not disappointing and right at Gaslamp district.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Worth every dollar! If we come back to San Diego we would go there again. You have to try the curry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merciderien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Authenic Thai food some dishes Esan style sab sab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Have been to Rama two times during my 10 day stay in San Diego Gaslamp area. I find ther food to be excellant! Service has been good and attentive. I recomend the Pad Kana Moo Grob, Red Curry with rosted duck, Crying tiger prepared rare and the pork fried rice was good. I did not care for the cube steak special and not sure why it would be on the menu, very over done soy flavor. All in all a excellant meal from a Thai food expert!! I will go again maybe tonight :-))

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bryjenwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Great service. Fantastic food. A little expensive but worth it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“good Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

had dinner and then returned for lunch, outdoor dining, tasty food good service, will return next time I'm in town

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steven g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rama - A Fine Thai Restaurant by Celadon also viewed

 

Been to Rama - A Fine Thai Restaurant by Celadon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing