We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donovan's Steak and Chop House

Donovan's Steak and Chop House
Reserve with OpenTable
Donovan's Steak and Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 4,699 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 6th & K
Description: Donovan's rich and intimate ambience is enhanced by world-class unobtrusive service. The Chef serves 100% USDA Prime beef 100% of the time. Donovan's wine list of over 300 wines features the best the world has to offer. Wine tasting dinners available.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you're in the mood for a great steak in a relaxed environment try Donovan's. First good thing is that the steak actually comes with sides included. I highly recommend the potatoes au gratin. The staff is friendly and knowledgable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_bum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    96
    37
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent steak, perfect service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I held a dinner here for 15 guests and the staff did a great job, beginning with the booking of our private room. The raw bar was excellent, and I had one of the best NY strips and creme brulees I have ever tasted. The wait staff was extremely knowledgeable and professional, and their timing was always perfect. If you are looking for steak in San Diego, you shouldn't even consider going elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatUNH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I highly recommending splitting something. I was very hungry and couldn't finish my 8oz filet.

Great wine, filet, and super hot bread. YUM!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julsnlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“So glad I went”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My friend had a Groupon and asked me if I would like to go. I drove and Valet parked right outside. Despite the traffic on the street it was an easy process. Our table wasn't ready and we went to the bar. I asked if they had Bombay Sapphire and was told "of course"! Loved that! The bar tender was the friendliest I have ever met, usually you have to wait and they are rushed. This guy was a 10. We were seated and the amazing service continued from there. We took our time and were never rushed. In fact, we were instructed to take as much time as we needed. We did :). I had the surf and turf and it was exquisite. My friend had fish and she raved. We both shared a crime brûlée. I really did eat too much but it was so good. I do not know what the actual bill was but I would go again in a heartbeat. In fact, I will take my husband next time. He loves a good steak. I loved the service and the food was tremendous. A great night because my friend and I could talk and catch up without interruption. Very well done.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aukgalgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
260 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best Steak in California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Top notch steakhouse in San Diego. A group of 7 and we got the kings treatment. Complete gluten free menu for those in need. Lovely old style with 50/60 music in the background. Bone in New York cooked to perfection with awesome flavor. Seafood chowder that melts in your mouth. Piping hot fresh bread. Tuna tartar stack. They have a pres fix meal that includes soup or full salad, fillet and scampi and choice of dessert. About half our team did this. and loved it. Service was first class. Food was great. What more can I say?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donovan's Steak and Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Donovan's Steak and Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing