We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“In the mood for pizza? Try Basic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basic

Basic
Ranked #93 of 4,641 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“In the mood for pizza? Try Basic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I absolutely love a good pizza. We grew up outside Philly and spent a bit of time in NYC, so good Northeast pizza is the standard. We also found some awesome pizzeria's in Rome - totally different style of pizza there. Basic serves up what I'd call a Roman style pizza with the flavors of the Northeast pizza baked in. Hard to describe entirely so go give it a try to see for yourself. Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeffRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    133
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Basic is good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We took our 2 teenagers here our last night in San Diego.Lots of food for the price.The salad is good.A little to much cheese.Next time will we ask for less.It is very good but not excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank localhassle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Due to the number 1 rating on TA, i was determined to try the pizza from Basic. Judging by the crowd of people there and the wait to get pizza to go, I'm guessing so were a number of other people. The pizza was incredible! I honestly could not fault the experience in any way.
The bartender was very friendly when taking my order, and kept me updated during the significant wait. The rest of the bar staff were all happy and talkative as they walked past.
I'm not quite sure how a pizza place is number 1 on TA, as I'm sure that there has to be some better restaurants, however if you are in San Diego and feel like a great pizza at a reasonable price, Basic is the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edgie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
279 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

There is no question that the Pizza here is fantastic, but im not sure why this would be ranked the number 1 restaurant in San Diego, there are a lot more options and places which offer far superior food.

Basic Pizza is all about having Pizza and beer and some after work drinks, overall its a great hang out spot, but not somewhere i would want to go for a nice relaxing dinner.

The one in downtown takes on a different crowd when the Padres game is on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are staying on the bay front and attending a conference. I looked up restaurants on Trip Advisor and found Basic Pizza was close by and rated #1 in SD. We were really excited about going to the #1 place to eat and were expecting some out of this world pizza there. I will have to say we were a bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong the pizza was good, but I was very surprised that this is rated #1. I have eaten better pizza at home in Missouri.
The service is very good and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quadp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basic also viewed

 

Been to Basic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing