We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Surprised!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basic

Basic
Ranked #97 of 4,615 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are staying on the bay front and attending a conference. I looked up restaurants on Trip Advisor and found Basic Pizza was close by and rated #1 in SD. We were really excited about going to the #1 place to eat and were expecting some out of this world pizza there. I will have to say we were a bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong the pizza was good, but I was very surprised that this is rated #1. I have eaten better pizza at home in Missouri.
The service is very good and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quadp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    131
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“5 Stars for Pizza? YES!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Basic is rated number one on TA for the San Diego area for a reason - it is GOOD. Even though we've been to San Diego many times, we had never heard of Basic - thank goodness for Trip Advisor. We went our first night in SD and yes, the place lives up to the hype.

We went as a family on a late Wed. evening and quickly realized that at that time of night, Basic is more of a hip, trendy and very loud bar than it is a restaurant. We sat in the back of the restaurant and had to almost shout in order to hear each other over the loud music and rowdy laughter coming from the bar area. But we stuck it out because we were really hungry. Glad we did.

The four of us shared a salad and a large red pizza with mozzarella and pepperoni. The salad was great - lots of spinach and leafy greens mixed in with sliced apples, candied walnuts and gorgonzola cheese (which we had taken out). The pizza was phenomenal. Very thin and cheesy - reminded me of New York-style. Great sauce to cheese ratio and great flavor!

The large salad ($9) and large pizza ($22) were perfect portions for the four of us, including two hungry teenage boys. With the awesome value (Just shy of $40 for dinner for four), it is easy to see why this delicious pizza place is rated No. 1.

Bottom line: Go here! You won't regret it. We went back a few days later (this time earlier in the evening) because everyone kept talking about it. And it was even better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Located in the downtown area and a view down the street of the Padres stadium from center field. Don't get the large pizza unless you want to take it home with you. The small pizza is plenty for two.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NOD752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great pizza & salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Loved the pizza. Salad is wonderful, and big and shareable. The clean, industrial atmosphere works. Highly recommend Basic for a reasonably-priced meal out. Paper plates surprised me at first, but it actually worked fine in the context.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StephanieL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great New Haven style pies.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Perfect New Haven style brick oven pizza. Try the mashed potato pizza and add onions, I know it sounds insane but it's insanely good!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dmbangel710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basic also viewed

 

Been to Basic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing