We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great pizza and salad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basic

Basic
Ranked #80 of 4,536 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great pizza and salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We decided to try out Basic Pizza after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. They offer one salad and many varieties of pizza. The salad is a mixture of organic greens with candied walnuts,fresh pears,gorgonzola cheese and a light vinaigrette. It is very tasty and the portion is huge, enough for two large salads. The pizza is a thin crusted pie and very tasty. A small is more than enough for 2-3 people. A great meal at a reasonable in downtown San Diego.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tbjones0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    124
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
461 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews & we decided to make a trip.
We ordered the mashed potato pizza & it is worth it.
Big pizza for a "small".
Service at the bar was good.
The venue has a cool vibe.
Nice vaulted ceilings.

Only draw back is the alcohol pricing. It would be nice to have a good draft beer for a good price. I understand higher pricing for late night club atmosphere. But if you just want a pizza it's a bit high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VicandFawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pizza Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The industrial decor and ambience was just up my street...and more importantly the pizza was excellent.

Great service, good value.

Probably my favourite restaurant in downtown San Diego.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenchenko8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pizza and salad that's made on the fly with high quality ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by this place based on TripAdvisor ratings. I can confirm they are dead on. The salad was fantastic. And the pizza comes in white or red with sseveral fresh toppings available. If you have ever been to Deweys you will feel tight at home. Give this place a try. Great place to grab a drink as well

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not much of a decor but boy, what a pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I found this restaurant in tripadvisor. I went with my wife before a Padres game on may 4th 2013.
From the outside, it doesn't look like much. Stepping into the place, it doesn't look much better.
However, we were well treated by the staff, and the pizza was delicious!
I urge you, if you're in the San Diego area of visiting, to try Basic's pizza only once. Once you taste it, you won't forget it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basic also viewed

 

Been to Basic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing