We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping in car and old Harley Davidson collection”

San Diego Automotive Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #87 of 434 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Magnificent display of vintage automobiles and motorcycles including a 1927 Bentley, 1931 Rolls Royce Phaeton and Steve McQueen's 1953 Allard.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Camping in car and old Harley Davidson collection”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Well, great volunteer staff to explain cars on display.Interesting continues film showing how one car can,do laundry,iron clothes,have a shower...while on the road.Restores bikes,race cars and many other antique cars,trucks and motor bikes.There display changes monthly with a whole car lots unique vehicle .A car buffs dream in San Diego Old Town.Enjoy we will visit again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    76
    54
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Racine
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I enjoyed this museum but it was small and currently dominated by corvettes as they have a special celebration for the 60th anniversary. Corvettes aren't my favourite but other than that, several quite interesting old cars. I was glad I had a 2 for 1 coupon as I thought there wasn't much there for the $8.50 per person price. Check on the Balboa Park hot deals before going in case there is a 2 for 1 coupon. If you get the deal I would recommend if you like cars and motorcycles.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShirlLRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Small Museum - Unusual Cars - Helpful Staff”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were on the San Diego Trolley Tour and they stopped at this spot. We decided to stretch our legs and check out this museum. The Trolley Tours offered a discount coupon, however, we saved even more by showing our AAA card.

The museum is small and easy to navigate. The staff was friendly and could tell you information about any car in the museum. They also have a nice selection of motorcycles. Louie Mattar's car was fabulous and who doesn't want a photo next to a DeLorean?

There was also a small gift shop at the exit/entrance.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lurcherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting little museum”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We visited when they had a Corvette show which meant half the museum was dedicated to Corvettes - I guess the original exhibits had been moved out to make room? The Corvettes were good though.

Anyway, the museum is not huge but what they have is interesting. My husband had a great time and it took about an hour to tour the whole place. The info about the wooden road was especially interesting.

My only advice is to avoid free Tuesday. From what we could gather the museums in the park are free to San Diego residents on certain Tuesdays each month - the day we went - which means the park and museums are absolutely packed with kids! As a result this museum was quite busy as it is next to the air museum and most families seemed to be doing them both.

Worth a trip as long as you aren't expecting a huge car collection with hundreds of vehicles.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucys_Mum100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Falls between weak and cheesy”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a car museum for those with little interest in cars. It is small, with a minimal variety of vehicles. The vehicles on display have little historical significance and are the kinds you might just as well find in a neighborhood car show. Despite having a love of all things automotive, I was anxious to leave. Don't waste your time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mr Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Automotive Museum also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Automotive Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing