We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trains, trains, trains”

San Diego Model Railroad Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #42 of 435 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world's largest model railroad museums features a scale model railway that replicates San Diego's tracks.
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“trains, trains, trains”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Best model railroad museum or collection in the country. A collection of model railroading clubs housed together in this large space give visitors a view of many types of model railroading and many miniature views of different parts of the state since each club has modeled a different part of California in their layout. Don't miss the Tehachapi pass, it's the biggest and most amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carbrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    112
    32
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Be mesmerized by amazing models for a day!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This museum was among our favorite experiences in San Diego. Kids who love trains (are there any who don't?) will have to be dragged out at closing! Model quality and attention to detail are first class. My only criticism is that the operators / model builders weren't friendly. I felt as though we were intruding in their club, weren't very welcome, and were allowed in only to finance their hobby. Maybe I'm being extreme, but relative to our other experiences in San Diego, customer service was the worst. Regardless, you don't need service here - just stare at the models for hours!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabe10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Even nice for older children”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our children 10 and 13 liked it very much, and so did I. There are several very large railroad displays, some historic, some more fun displays. The volunteers have a great time playing with the trains and explaining what is happening.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fun; unexpected”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Balboa Park must have more museums grouped in one area that any one single other place in the world (even more than the Mall in D.C.). This was a totally serendipitous find. In fact we were in SD for a conference and just wanted a walk in the park (we know San Diego) when we came upon the Model Railroad Museum. It's terrific fun for young and old. You do have to look for it in the park. It doesn't just hit you in the face.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nurealam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“This could blow your mind”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I used to be a bit of a model railway enthusiast when younger but grew out of any active involvement in my teens, merely visiting the occasional exhibition. This place was below our pre-visit radar so we more-or-less stumbled upon it and boy, are we glad we did. The layouts are so extensive and detailed that they completely outshine anything I have seen before. They would probably impress someone with a better knowledge of Californian geography and railway history even more. As Michelin guides say "worth the journey". I can offer no greater recommendation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanalFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Model Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Model Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing