We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Ranked #202 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Customer service was amazing! The room was very clean and smelled nice when we arrived. Shower was great. However no seal on doors and could hear everything! Sheets came off bed very easy! Did not sleep well at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Taylor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience and thank you for the appreciation.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 307 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank kd24101
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
Karmiel
Reviewed August 6, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We came from chico california & were here 4 a long stay,(9 days) Beds were VERY comfortable, the location was minutes from EVERYTHING we wanted 2 see & do (sea world, mission ocean & pacific beaces, downtown,Belmont park, padres stadium) and Romie and staff were amazingly nice & helpful! We would stay here again in a second! You cannot beat the price 4 clean comfortable rooms and great location. They have a nice pool, laundry facility & all rooms are renovated with flat screens, wi-fi, new beds, carpet, mini fridge & microwaves. If you are a hotel snob looking 4 a spa & gym this may not be 4 you, but we spend little time in our room & more time on excursions so it was GREAT! We will DEFINATELY be staying here on our next trip 2 San Diego :) THANKS ROMIE & STAFF!

Room Tip: If you are a hotel snob, this is prob not 4 you, but we spend little time at our hotel & more ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm concerned about the experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology if anything was not beyond your expectation.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
16 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
9.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
9.4 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Address: 6440 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $60 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Remodeled Rooms with Flat Screen LED TV.Walking distance to SDSU (San Diego State University), a block away from major shopping center and restaurants & bars. Very easy access to I-8 highway and very convenient location. 24 hour front desk, free Continental Breakfast & Wifi in all rooms and a large swimming pool and guest laundry facility available. Free Bus and Truck Parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing