We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Ranked #203 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The rooms were being renovated but that didn't matter because the staff (especially Romie) was awesome and the beds were comfortable. we are from Mesa Arizona and noticed we left our office and motorcycle keys in room. Romie went out of his way to mail them to us. great service and highly recommend this hotel. we will visit again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geckome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Please except our apology for the inconvenience

Thanking you
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed there for three nights and did have good sleep. The staff is very polite and helpful. They tried their best to solve the problem for me (my door once could be open, they helped me immediately). The place is very clean and quiet. It is very good for rest. The hotel is still remodeling. My room does have brand new big screen tv, dresser, nice bed. However, there are no table, chair and at least a cloth rack where I can hang my clothes. This is its disadvantage. Over all, I gave it four stars for further improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhuang2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the appreciation and we promise to continue the same trend,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I came here just to get away from home. You know; you have one of those days where you just don't want to be near anyone else and want time alone. So I came here. They recently began a remodel of the property, new paint, new windows etc. Now I have never stayed here before, so I cannot compare it to how it looked previously. The rooms were very clean, I like the location of the air conditioner unit being mounted below the window where it was easy to reach.

There was a microwave and a refrigerator in the room which helped since I brought food with me. The bed was comfortable, there was a small lounge chair which was also nice. The tiles work in the bathroom and the counter top around the sink were both excellent. Not really too much negative things to say except that I wish they had conditioner in addition to the shampoo. I didn't see an ice machine on the top level.

They don't have any "suites"; which I was kind of disappointed in, but I still had a nice stay nonetheless. There were still a handful of rooms still undergoing the remodel when I got there as well as when I left. Overall this was a very clean place and I will be using tem again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

For your information our hotel has been renovation completely and we promise to have the things and amenities as per your expectation. Now under new management I guarantee you to have a zero complaint for our hotel we have been constantly monitoring the needs of the guest and have been taking care of it.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

That staff is very friendly, breakfast is not bad but unfortunately it is the only thing we can give to this hostel.
The condition of the room are poor. Bed bugs (not infested but we found some anyway).Open holes in the ceilings / walls. Very noisy at night.

I would definitely not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Laurent,

Sorry for the inconvenience and we apologize for the same.
For your Information our hotel is under new management from 21st May 2013 and our rooms are remodeled and available with new Furniture, Bathroom and Faucets,, Vanity with new Sink and Faucet, Furniture, Mattresses, Carpet, Paints, Drapes and Flat Screen LED TV. I assure you of zero complaints & promise you for the same and shall keep my promise. I would like you to visit us and tell the difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our room was newly remodeled (and nearly finished) with new bedding, paint and countertop. The staff was courteous and responded quickly to requests (more towels, fix door lock). My earlier research indicated that renovations have been going on for over a year, and from my observations the renovations will not be completed in 2013. Regardless, the accommodation was a good value - no a great value - when coupled with an airfare and car rental deal. The pool is small, but refreshing. Breakfast was minimal (coffee/tea/cereal/pastry only). If you require 5-star quality, this is not the place for you. But if you want a real value for your money, this is worth your consideration.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hello Earl yam,

Thanks for the review.

On behalf of our staff & New Management we thank you for the same. Everyday we try to accommodate many guests and when a praise comes from their end we feel satisfied and are committed to serve our guest with best of the service.

FYI. our hotel is under new management and few of its rooms remodeled and available from 21st May 2013.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused and once again thank you for posting a review which helps us as to how we are doing to take care of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I spent three nights at the HOWARD JOHNSON and found it to be clean, comfortable and very good value,Specially the new rooms such excellent quality standard rooms which can compete any Holiday Inn that I have stayed. The check-in was effortless and the staff very friendly. The room was clean, comfortable and had everything I needed for a short stay. The lights on the vanity was particularly nice. There was no difficulty to get to the various San Diego tourist spots and there are a number of restaurants and takeaways near the hotel. Other than minor remodeling work going, I was entirely happy with the hotel and would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for new rooms they are excellent new rooms.....................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy14k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Mr Roy,

Thanks for being 1st to place a review for our newly remodeled room and for our new management.

For your information from 21st May 2013 our hotel new rooms are available and is now under new management.

On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise.

We apologize for anything beyond your expectation was not taken care.

Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding.Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services
we provide.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

NITIN MODY (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
777 reviews
8.1 mi away
California Suites Hotel
California Suites Hotel
#233 of 278 in San Diego
313 reviews
2.5 mi away
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Address: 6440 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $58 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Remodeled Rooms with Flat Screen LED TV.Walking distance to SDSU (San Diego State University), a block away from major shopping center and restaurants & bars. Very easy access to I-8 highway and very convenient location. 24 hour front desk, free Continental Breakfast & Wifi in all rooms and a large swimming pool and guest laundry facility available. Free Bus and Truck Parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing