We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Ranked #219 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    63
    36
    55
See reviews for
89
55
44
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013













The complex was under major construction work. Court yard was covered with construction material and equipment which made parking difficult. Our room had a worn and dingy carpet, the ceiling did not have vent grills the bath-tub, shower water would not drain, the TV had no remote, there was no Wi-Fi which they advertised as having. I was over-charged for the room and was told I could not have a receipt for my payment. After much difficulty I was allowed (sic) to speak to the manager and was re-imbursed for my over payment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojosdsu, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Frank,

I'm concerned about the experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention. We have double checked our ledger and found no overcharge or double charge to your account.As you are aware that we are remodelling our hotel and few things are out of our control. The other day we had a serious problem of cable which was damage in the process of remodeling other rooms hence we had to cut the ceiling and pass a new cables for each rooms.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

From May 2013 our new rooms shall be ready for rental hence then onwards their should not be any issues. Once again accept my apology

Sincerely,

NITIN MODY (GM).


Howard Johnson University Inn
6440, El Cajon Blvd.
San Diago CA 92115
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel was being "remodeled," which meant there were wires hanging out of the ceiling, etc. Carpet was so dirty, feet were black after crossing room from shower. Lights weren't attached properly to wall/some didn't work. Coffee maker didn't work. Blankets paper thin. Room either too cold or too hot, not able to set thermostat. Everything in the room seemed soiled and old. Bed uncomfortable, etc. But the worst thing was the bedbugs that left bites all over the bodies of the guests in room 104. This is unforgivable and we will not stay at another Howard Johnson's again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojosdsu, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Scott,

I'm concerned about the experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention. As you are aware that we are remodelling our hotel and few things are out of our control. The other day we had a serious problem of cable which was damage in the process of remodeling other rooms hence we had to cut the ceiling and pass a new cables for each rooms.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

From May 2013 our new rooms shall be ready for rental hence then onwards their should not be any issues. Once again accept my apology

Sincerely,

NITIN MODY (GM).


Howard Johnson University Inn
6440, El Cajon Blvd.
San Diago CA 92115
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

san diego,ca
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

i stayed at the hotel for 5 nights spending $300.00 ,we were never informed of the remodeling that so rudely woke us up at the crack of dawn,t.v. didnt work,phone didnt work,they cut off the water w/out prior notice in the middle of my shower,the maid spoke no english and didnt understand any english so asking for anything was pointless,then when we took our complaints to the manager we were given a $10.00 discount on our last night there!!!! I mean really? You are too kind! I certainly wouldnt want to put you out!...lol and the attitude we got from the office staff and manager was that we were lucky to get the $10.00 because they really didnt even want to do that!!!! Do yourself a favor and do not stay here! they have the howard johnson name but not the hospitality!!!!!

Room Tip: Best Advice- Dont Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojosdsu, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Danita,,

I'm concerned about the experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention. As you are aware that we are remodelling our hotel and few things are out of our control. The other day we had a serious problem of cable which was damage in the process of remodeling other rooms hence we had to cut the ceiling and pass a new cables for each rooms.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

From May 2013 our new rooms shall be ready for rental hence then onwards their should not be any issues. Once again accept my apology

Sincerely,

NITIN MODY (GM).


Howard Johnson University Inn
6440, El Cajon Blvd.
San Diago CA 92115
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel the price didn't match up with my reservation. The difference wasn't large and the desk agent said she'd give me a "better" room. Well the room was not larger as she indicated and the air con/heater didn't work at all and there was NO telephone. There was no agent available when I left about 6 a.m.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank Xxx X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please except our sincere apology for the inconvenience.

Thanking you

GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.5 mi away
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
1.9 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
774 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Property: Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Address: 6440 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Remodeled Rooms with Flat Screen LED TV.Walking distance to SDSU (San Diego State University), a block away from major shopping center and restaurants & bars. Very easy access to I-8 highway and very convenient location. 24 hour front desk, free Continental Breakfast & Wifi in all rooms and a large swimming pool and guest laundry facility available. Free Bus and Truck Parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing