We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Clean and cool. Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #33 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 26, 2011

This is a cool hotel. The rooms are comfy and have great decor. It's only a few short blocks from the main Gaslamp spots. It's an easy walk...5 minutes tops. The staff was helpful, although not entirely knowledgeable. There are iMac's in the lobby as well as free wifi in the rooms. The views are great and there's a rooftop terrace with fire pits (only open until about 10pm). I would stay here again. This hotel is good for young or old. Parking at the hotel is way too expensive so plan on parking around the corner at a lot or at the parking meters on the street (free from 6pm-8am). There is a restaurant and bar on site but I didn't use either so I have no opinion on them. I was happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesTheTraveller704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Jamesah108,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We look forward to having you return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 1,800 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2011

My husband and I planned on staying at Hotel Indigo for one night while we visited with friends in downtown San Diego. As a matter of fact, our friends recommended the hotel. It is snowing in the mountains that we must drive through to get to San Diego and we decided it would not be safe to travel. My husband called the hotel this morning and the manager absolutely refused to either waive the $206 charge or provide a credit for a future stay. He was inflexible and unwilling to accomodate our request. We will never stay there in the future and will certainly tell our friends to never recommend Hotel Indigo again.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 32332Katherine055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2011

32332Katherine055,
While your review is not reflective of a stay with us we appreciate your feedback. Reservations booked via third parties carry their own non-refundable cancellation policies our hotel can not amend nor refund. These policies are not reflective of the high level of passionate customer service you will experience at our hotel from our staff should you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

From the Valet service when we first arrived and than David was so accommedating at the front desk. The service that was over the top, was by William in the floor leval bar. His ability to acess the FUN meter and make it happen! He was very knowledgeable about the area and the hotel. Adriana was just as awesome on the Roof.....Roof top lounge was an awesome place to have a beverage and take in the beauty.
BTW - Rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deewolfemassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

Deewolfemassage,
Creating lasting memories that in turn gain us loyal guests for life via our outstanding customer service is a goal our entire team shares and we are elated we reached this goal during your stay. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to our valet team, David at the front desk and to William and Adriana in our food and beverage team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

i would so love to give this hotel 5 stars, but i simply cannot. first off - the positives: friendly people, great location, relatively clean premises.

we stayed in the terrace suite which was nice and spacious and the only room with a balcony and wonderful view of petco park. this balcony, i thought, was only for our use, but perhaps it was different during the day since we saw some people out there as we were leaving for the day. not much of a big deal since we were about to leave, but still a bit annoying. also... we ordered room service twice... only two sliders per order, bummer. and everything was luke warm. when we came back from the first day we opened the suite to a pretty heavy smell of lemon. however, we both noticed that there was a bit of a smoky smell in the bathroom. perhaps the cleaning folks smoked in the bathroom and then tried to offset it with some lemon scented air freshner. the second day we came back, no smells, but a half full cleaning bottle was left out on the bed, the trash was not emptied, we did not receive a box of tissues when we blatantly were nearing the end, nor did we recieve another shampoo.

if you're paying X amount of dollars for accomodation, you hope that service is impeccable. it wasn't here. i could be petty about it, but all those little things added up lead me to say that the service is lacking here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cats77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2011

Cats77,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us in our spacious terrace suite overlooking Petco Park. We are happy to hear you were pleased with our friendly staff and our central location. That being said we regret to hear about the service levels you experienced at points during your stay. While it is certainly not the norm for our housekeeping teams high standards we take full responsibility for not surpassing your expectations. We could not agree more that our services should be impeccable at all times which is a goal we diligently prepare our team members to meet on a daily basis. We can assure you the issues you have outlined have been passed on to the appropriate department managers and were addressed immediately. We hope you return to stay with us in the near future and can assure you your next stay will bring nothing but the best of experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for a work conference with my husband for 3 nights. The hotel is only 2 blocks from the popular Gaslamp which has tons of great restaurants and shopping. The hotel is very modern and trendy looking. Arrived a few hours early and was not able to check early since our room wasn't ready. This was a problem for me since I am nursing a baby and needed to pump since the baby did not come on the trip with us. The front desk was extremelly helpfully and escorted me to a private restroom upstairs where I could pump in peace.

Once we checked in, we found our room to very clean and extremelly comfortable. Flat screen TV with cable, spa like shower, and plenty of plush soft pillows for relaxing. The bar/restaurant in the lobby was a great spot to relax and hang out in as well. Reasonably priced food and cocktails(the french toast and bloddy mary's were my fav). There are even 2 ipads in the lobby that they let you tinker around with(FOR FREE) if you wanna check your email or facebook. We would bring ours over to the bar area while waiting for our food, very fun to play with.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again next time we are in town!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Tnlake,
We thank you for taking the time to write a review about your three night stay with us. We are pleased to hear our team was able to accommodate your needs prior to you checking in during your early arrival. As a team we make every effort to consistently exceed expectations and to honor all of our valued guests requests to create an unforgettable personable experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your room, our I Pads which are available to guests 24/7, as well as the delicious French toast in our Table 509 restaurant. We look forward to having you back with us during your next stay here in San Diego and thank you once again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed here for Valentine's day weekend....The room was breathtaking and the views were unreal!! Ambiance is relaxing and upbeat. Staff was accomodating and super responsive to our needs. We were within walking distance to many of our favorite hot spots... Parking is so easy with valet. Could have stayed there all week. The best hotel in Downtown San Diego! Best part is when you return to the hotel the night is not over, There is a swanky bar downstairs with street/corner view and one on the 9th floor with a city view, music and heatlamps...perfect way to end the evening. Oh, and the Aveda products in the room are a breath of fresh air from many other hotel brands....Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajtcvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

Ajtcvegas,
We strive to create a uniquely personable environment while providing a uncompromisingly high level of customer service and we are elated we accomplished this during your Valentine’s stay. We thank you for making our hotel your choice while visiting downtown and can assure you your repeat visits will provide the same level of satisfaction. Thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

After we checked out, the hotel charged us over $2000. without notification for water damage caused by a leak in the room! Even though we had a receipt that showed we had washed our pooch at a local dog wash, they claimed afterward that we had washed her in the shower! If you stay here take photos when you leave of everything and protect yourself from spurious charges.
Caveat rentor.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
2  Thank rickrutgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Rickrutgers,
Thank you for your review. It is our policy, as is with any hotel, to charge guests for damage that occurs in a guest room during their stay. The damage to our in-room hardwood floors occurred during your stay and forced us to replace the entire flooring in the room. We did indeed share with you the receipts of the costs and were in contact with you throughout the entire process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,549 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 286 in San Diego
2,097 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#78 of 286 in San Diego
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $111 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff are here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or and enjoy breathtaking views of Downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower. You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed West Bean coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing