We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect room, excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #36 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated between Petco Park and the Gaslamp Distrinct. We were actually give a few right into the ballpark which was pretty cool. And with only a few easy walking blocks to the heart of the Gaslamp, there was no shortage of bars and restaurant options. Room was clean, modern and staff was accommodating, exactly what I was expecting based on reviews I read.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racheltravels_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Racheltravels_29

Thank you for stopping by and sharing your positive experience at our property. I am extremely pleased to hear our location and staff was accommodating and they you were provided a fantastic view for your stay! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,765)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here 5 nights last week for a meeting being held at a large hotel in the Harbor area. This smaller boutique hotel's staff was always helpful. I asked for an upper level room overlooking Petco Park and was cheerfully obliged. The room décor is modern, but comfortable and , other than the occasional roar of the baseball fans( which I loved) for 3 of the nights during Padres games, the hotel was very quiet.
The hotel is a couple of blocks from the Gaslamp Quarter, with many restaurants and shops, and a 20 minute walk to the Harbor area and Convention Center.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking Petco Park are not near the ice machines on even numbered floors
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Pam F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about our Hotel Indigo! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found the room and location accommodating. It is great news we were able to meet your request of a Petco Park view room. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and overall it was excellent.
Our standard room was large enough with nice quiet a/c, huge bed, great shower and fresh decor.
There was an issue with noisy neighbours on our first night through the linked room which after two complaints to the front desk, was resolved without fuss by security.
The bar on the 9th floor was a highlight with big fire puta and heat lamps making sure it was always warm. Great view of Petco park for Padres games too.
We didn't bring our dog on this trip but I've never been anywhere with facilities like this, treats, water and #2 facilities on a nice lawned area on the roof terrace.
Valet parking is expensive at $40pn, I would recommend 'park it on market' for $15/24h around the corner.
I will definitely be visiting this great city again and this hotel will be at the top of my list.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank EdwardRook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Edward R,

What wonderful words about our Hotel Indigo! Thank you for taking the time and leaving such positive feedback. I am thrilled to hear you were able to take advantage of our Level 9 Terrace and that you found our location and our rooms accommodating. We cannot wait to see you again in the future! Next time, be sure to bring your furry family members! As you can see, we are extremely welcoming to them to!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This was not my first stay at the Hotel Indigo and it certainly will not be my last. The location is perfect, close enough to all of the activity without being in the thick of all the chaos. It is clean, the staff is excellent, and the rooms are comfortable and modern. The views of Petco park from both the rooms and the 7th floor bar are amazing; my dog loves to look out of the floor to ceiling windows and admire it too! This is the most pet friendly hotel I have ever stayed in and they even have a yappy hour at the bar. My only complaint is they no not provide bathrobes, but I can overlook it because of all it's other wonderful features. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Mockett,

Thank you for stopping by and providing us with those wonderful words about our Hotel Indigo! I am ecstatic to hear that both you and your dog enjoyed your stay and that you found the room and location accommodating. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed on 11th floor...room was neat...very modern...bathroom amenities were very good...opened the window to a view of petco park...staff excellent...needed coffee and they came in 2 minutes...bed was comfortable...highly recommend

Room Tip: High Floor on the perco field side
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anurag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We only stayed one night here, but it was just perfect. It's hard to say why, I mean it's not the Four Seasons. But the vibe was just perfect. it's bright and cheerful and wonderful staff, and the lobby bar/restaurant had a great hip feel. It was oddly fun seeing the baseball stadium from our room, and there's a sandwich I had for lunch that i'm actually going to mention: grilled mozzarella with chicken on french bread. That's rare, that you rave about a lunch...

Room Tip: We paid just $199,
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank comedywriter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We booked one night at this hotel based upon our wonderful Hotel Indigo London-Kensington experience. The room, amenities, breakfast, and comfort were superior in London. Hotel Indigo San Diego is very average. The location is great. We had a city view and could see the baseball field. That's where it stops.

The room was very small, the mattress was low grade, as was the bedding. I expected the same bathroom extras to be there: q-tips, cotton, hair band, etc...nope, not available. AND NO FRIDGE!! For a $10 fee we could have had one. It was very noisy; I could hear every conversation walking down the hall. They did have a Keurig coffee maker in the roon with one kcup of reg coffee, one decaf, and two teas. I recommend you go to front desk and ask for extras with extra sugars and cream as they only give you two of those as well.

Breakfast was included but only up to a certain dollar amount. In London, we could order what we pleased, as much as we pleased. In London we had free soft drinks, snacks, and bottled water in our fridge: it was not an honor bar. Not in San Diego.

I would not stay here again. Next time we will return to the Marriott several blocks from the Gaslamp quarter. My mistake for assuming Hotel Indigo is consistent.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mfox12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Mfox12,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate the location of our hotel. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize we fell short of your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I sincerely hope you stay with us again in the future so we can show you just how exceptional we can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,406 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $144 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing