We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“GREAT Hotel”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I am a person who believes that if you're going to complain about the bad, you better be willing to tell about the good as well. I absolutely loved this hotel. Great rooms, but what really made the stay was the staff. From Sergio to the wonderful Scottish/Irish Gentleman, to Meg at the front. Each person I encountered was wonderfully pleasant, never hestiated to go above and beyond, and was knowledge and honest about places to go, sites to see, and how to get where we needed to go. Anyone who is looking for a great hotel to stay at should consider this. The next time I am at San Diego I WILL stay there. Wonderful, wonderfu, WONDERFUL.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Steph H.,


Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review about our Hotel Indigo! I am ecstatic to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to provide excellent customer service. I will ensure they all hear back about your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    511
    127
    36
    35
See reviews for
214
669
114
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

One of the most amazing hotels I've stayed in! The staff made my stay. Unbelievable service from the moment I walked through the door. Food was good, room beautiful and I would stay in this hotel anytime I visited the Gaslamp district! This stay was over a year ago but I loved it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Emily G.,

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in San Diego and at our Hotel Indigo. Thank you for taking the time to stop by and leave a wonderful review. I will ensure my staff hears about your fantastic feedback.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were so pleased with our extended stay at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter. The accommodations were comfortable, the hotel restaurant and bar had wonderful food, the rooftop bar was a treat and the hotel staff were helpful and friendly. The location was convenient for walking to the Gaslamp's restaurants,and to the East Village and Seaport Village. We were able to stay for 6 nights and use the bus system and trolley tours for visiting sites within San Diego. The banks of windows in the restaurant open to create a delightful inside-outside dining experience. The burgers were superb!

Room Tip: The hotel is really on the edge of the Gaslamp and away from noisy areas, so I don't think it re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Nancy E.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about our Hotel Indigo! I am extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your extended stay with us here in San Diego and that the location accommodated you well! We cannot wait to see you again the next time you travel to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My family decided to stay here because we were bringing our small dog with us. Yes, this is a pet-friendly hotel, so if you are allergic to animals, or are worried about the noise of barking dogs, you may want to look elsewhere for lodging.

PROS:
- Location was great, a few blocks from the heart of Gaslamp.
- Decor was very cozy, and the room in general was larger than most standard hotel rooms, especially the huge bathroom.
- The rooftop lounge was a great place to check out, with a really nice view of the city.

CONS:
- Valet is the only parking option and it's expensive. We got a package rate that included parking, which saved us a bit of money, so I recommend looking into that if you're driving.
- If I'm being nitpicky, some of the walls and furniture in the room were a bit rough around the edges and could probably use some cleaning or replacement. Obviously this is not a dealbreaker, just an observation.

Basically, if you don't mind dogs, and want to stay in the Gaslamp for a reasonable price, give this place a go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrelsheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Squirrelsheryl,

Thank you for dropping by and leaving a wonderfully detailed review. I am pleased to hear that the location, decor, and our love for pets accommodated you and your family. I appreciate your feedback about the parking and condition of our rooms. In order for us to grow as a property, we rely on the feedback from our guests.

Again, thank you and we cannot wait to see you and your family again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located in central San Diego. Many good restaurants in walking distance, even for breakfast there's a bagel place just behind the hotel (one of the better coffees we had in San Diego). The rooms are spacious and very clean. There's a fitness room with treadmills etc. One big drawback in this hotel is the noise from the street and from other hotel guests. Door slamming is really loud and walls are thin - if you are a light sleeper, better take earplugs or go to another hotel. Another thing that bugged us was the very slow WIFI connection - just about 1 MBit/s - and that you always had to log in again. There was not much of interaction with the hotel's staff - but they seemed to be friendly anyway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Christian S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful and detailed review about our Hotel Indigo! I am happy to hear that the location and room accommodated your needs. I also wanted to thank you for the feedback about the noise. We rely on you, our guests, you ensure we are aware of how we can better our property.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. But, walls are quite thin and can be quite loud. The staff was quite helpful and was very prompt at cleaning up after a guest's pet that had an accident in the elevators.

Green Features: Very environmentally friendly with information to actively encourage guests to save water and avoid excessive laundry.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalgalpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dalgalpal,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about our property. We are happy to hear the location and hotel suited your needs while in San Diego. We hope to see you again in the future the next time you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,954 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
5,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing