We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #38 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Lovely hotel with super nice and helpful staff. First they gave us an upgraded view and when that room wasn't ready they comped us a dinner. Really friendly and helpful staff. Will stay again when in San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddybauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    523
    128
    36
    35
See reviews for
218
678
116
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our first stop in California. The location was convenient and we could get to many different attractions and restaurants on foot or by using public transportation. However, we rented a car and we did pay for the valet which was the only option but costly. It was $35 a night. The room was comfortable, the pillows were awful but everything else in the room was up to par. The staff was very nice, and they were quick to offer advice for where to have dinner and how to get around town.The roof top lounge was very nice, even though the drinks were pricey. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit downtown San Diego

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseylili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just 5 mins walk from the main bars and restaurants the hotel has a great location. Hotel was very clean, safe and friendly services. Stayed with a group of friends and we all thought it was excellent value

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The rooms were comfortable, and clean.. the picture shown is a good representation of what to expect. The bed was most definitely one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever stayed in.
This was our first time staying at this hotel, and I'm glad to say we had a great experience. Everyone who worked there was super friendly and helpful, I think the customer service here is pretty exceptional. And the location of the hotel is great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

They say in real estate it's all about location. Well, they got it right with this property. We loved that it was close enough to comfortably walk to the good stuff (Petco Center, Gas Lamp District, Seaside, etc..) and a short drive to the airport and the San Diego Zoo and a slew of museums for all tastes and interests. The overall Gas Lamp District was clean and we felt pretty safe there and at the hotel. The Hotel Indigo rooms were big and comfortable. Plenty of room in our queen bedroom. We loved the use of green materials and really loved the comfy beds and the Keurig coffee maker. The one downside was we didn't really want to leave the room but there was so much stuff in San Diego to see and explore! What a dilemma. I can't stress enough how comfortable that bed was! The staff was courteous and efficient. (A combination that I LOVE). Yes, parking which was included was steep to the tune of $40-45 but the hotel room was such a good value in the city, I don't really think I had too much to complain about. The hotel felt, young, urban, fun and Eclectic all at once. Would stay here again on a repeat visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vinslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

First impression was good--helpful but expensive valet ($39 per night), took a taxi to a restaurant. Taxis are readily available. Front desk staff are friendly, helpful. Room has a boutique feel. Sustainability is on their agenda. But this is not really a place for anyone but businessmen. Businessmen were seated at breakfast, but my son and I couldn't get seated. I complained to the front desk and walked out. Eat breakfast at Mission. Excellent food and service. Easy walk four short blocks away. Tues night was quiet, but more people showed up Wed and you could hear everyone in the hallway, doors slamming. You can see the hall under your door. We were on the 11th floor with a great view. But the windows open! A little scary if you had a young child and actually opened. The feel of the place is that it caters to young business men.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Nancy D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortcomings you have experienced. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January. After a long drive it was a nice welcome. Friendly check in, central location, a few blocks down from 5th avenue with all the restaurants and bars. The gym was nice, with a few machines, but better than expected. Room was a good size with lovely decor and nice little touches.

And great value too. Would recommend it. We also found a great place for breakfast round the corner called the Mission! Very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AymanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,309 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#40 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing