We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm staff, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm staff, convenient location”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We enjoyed a two-night stay before Thanksgiving, where we could walk to a wealth of nearby restaurants and along the seafront promenade. The roof deck on our level looked out to Petco Park and beyond. Our room was clean and spacious, the staff was pleasant and the continental breakfast at the small downstairs restaurant was good if not great. They welcome dogs without charge so there are quite a few. They charge a hefty $39 per night for parking but we easily found an unmetered spot overnight just three blocks away. Definitely would come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauralela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    510
    127
    36
    34
See reviews for
212
669
113
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great rooms and excellent service. They even noticed my use of tea and automatically added extra tea for my use. Close to everything downtown. Rooftop bar was very nice. Suggest going out to one of the many bars and restaurants which provide great selection and better than hotel proce.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarreMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a charger game and left a couple of my favorite hats in the hotel room -- ELLEN PHAM was terrific and sent them to me fedex. I got them the next day. TERRIFIC SERVICE i would definitely come back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I can't say how great the people were to us from the front desk to the custodial staff. Always greeted you with a smile and you got the feeling that they actually cared.

The rooms were nice, but not at the level of a four star hotel. No mini fridge or microwave. There were strange noises coming from behind the bathroom walls (sounded like a mouse that had something tin like attached to him!)

The chair for the desk was very uncomfortable for working long periods of time.

Breakfast was not up to par with a four star hotel. Bacon was torched and potatoes looked like they were from a frozen bag. We found a small breakfast place a few blocks away named the Mission which was great - a don't miss from my perspective.

Very close to Petco.

No bad,,, just not four stars in my opinion.

Room Tip: work thru Hotwire
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saundejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear saundejo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations and breakfast prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We truly appreciate the perfect scores for Service and Value as well as the high scores for Cleanliness. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a comfortable and pleasant stay at the Indigo. It's well located in the Gaslamp District, easy walking distance to bars, restaurants, shops and downtown attractions. The room was large with a comfortable bed, great shower and views into Petco Park. The only downside is that parking is not cheap, but then it's not cheap anywhere in SD. We managed to find on street parking without too much trouble, which saved us a bunch!
What made our stay memorable was some fantastic service on our final night. We decided to visit the rooftop bar, for the first time, and were disappointed to find that it was closed for a corporate event. Derick was very kind and allowed us to stay in the bar until the corp guests arrived to enjoy the views and then personally escorted us to the lobby bar and ordered us two cocktails and some snacks on the house. During our lift ride down to the ground floor we chatted about leaving the following day and heading towards Vegas and the fact that we did not have a room booked but were going to find somewhere on the way. After our drinks we headed back to our room only to find a letter under the door offering us an extra night at a very good discounted rate. We were so pleased with the service we'd received that we decided to take up the offer, spend another night at the Indigo and explore more of SD!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davinia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Super close to Gaslamp without the inconvenience of being in Gaslamp. There are some good bars around East Village as well that are trendy, but not as in your face as Gaslamp and Broadway clubs/bars.

The hotel also allows pets which is both good and bad. The hotel is nice and clean, but you feel like it's all ikea furniture.

Overall, it's really great value. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarneAsadaBrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night but had intended to stay longer. We had to check out the next day because my husband is alergic from pets. There were way too many pets at this hotel and all of their rooms are pet friendly. I wish they had designated a few floors for pets :(...that was our fault because we did not do enough research when making reservations.

Other than that the hotel was very nice but some areas of service were below average. The hotel rooms were nice but the sheets were stained. One of the pillow cases had three large stains, the sheets had black grease stains from the washer or dryer, and there were food stains on the comforter. We wouldn't have used the comforter anyways so we did not care about that. We requested them to change our sheets and they took care of that very quickly. However, even the replacement sheets had black grease stains so they should definitely get their laundry equipment checked. White sheets with black stains just don't look good. Other than that the room was very clean and spotless.

The front desk and bell staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was very good but the server could have used some extra training.

I thought this was a very nice property but can definitely work on a few things but I would probably choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardeep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,947 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
5,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing