We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a dogs life! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's a dogs life! ”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Stellar experience, forget the dog! Which we didn't. Uber cool hotel next to PetCo Park. Did they plan that?
Best service I've had in the states. Great modern decor, fun lobby, huge room with a comfy king bed, pod coffee maker, great shower and big bathroom counter to spread out. The decor and bedding was really well done and fun. This place is crazy for dogs. They even have an indoor/outdoor doggie lounge on the 9th floor a bar, fire pits, great lounge furniture, multiple flat screen tv's and a little grass area fully equipped with poop bags. We brought our dog up and met other crazy dog people over glasses of champagne.
Easy to take your furry pal for a walk in PetCo Park 1 block away. We'd go back in a heartbeat, with or without the dog!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank beauvelous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    511
    127
    36
    34
See reviews for
213
669
113
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I picked this hotel cos of its location. It is within walking distance to major restaurants (5th Avenue, Market Street) and the Convention Centre (and the bay). It was not far from the key parts of San Diego and only costs me USD8 and 15mins to get to the airport.

Communicated with their staff, Kelsey and Jackie, over email due to some changes to my reservations. Both were very responsive, understanding, friendly and accommodated my requests without much fuss.

Checked in rather late in the evening. What struck me immediately was the high-energy staff (Nicollette, I believe) at the check-in desk. Her smiles and friendly nature was almost infectious and she made short work of check-in. She then took out a map and pointed out directions for food, groceries, sights etc.

The hotel looked modern and in keeping with its "boutique" hotel vibe. There was a hint of quirkiness in the decor, down to the bowl of dog biscuits in a fish bowl on the counter!

My room was facing the back of the hotel, on a middle-level floor. The hotel has in excess of 10 floors and I suspect the higher floors had a good view of the city. My room faced apartment blocks and if the curtains weren't drawn, I reckon a game of cards with the "neighbours" was probably possible.

Still, there was not much by way of noise or creepy "neighbours" peering into your room - maybe cos the apartments seemed to be so new that they haven't been completely occupied. There was a small parking lot (for the apartments) just downstairs and I did hear rumbling/revving of engines once or twice in the night. But it wasn't noisy enough to cause any concern.

The room was spacious and well designed. It was split into a bedroom / siting area and an entrance hall-way/bathroom area. Decor, down to the floral patterned bed-sheets were well coordinated and furnishing seemed rather new.

What I really liked were (1) the capsule coffee machine in the hallway and; (2) the Aveda bath toiletries. Both were befitting of the boutique hotel pitch that the Indigo was going for.

Sleep came easily cos the bed had just the right balance of softness and firmness. The four pillows were tad soft for me but there were three other large cushions to prop the pillows up. The hotel even provided a cylindrical bolster pillow. Nice.

The Indigo also scored brownie points with the rest of my group cos they had a good strong signal for the free WIFI. Most other hotels had iffy WIFI service, almost as an after-thought.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel the next morning. The staff recommended us to a nice cafe along G street (Zanzibar) which was just as good as he claimed.

Check out was very efficient and took no time at all. We were given a free late check out and that was very appreciated.

All in all, it was a very good stay. Would love to stay here again when I am back in San Diego.

Keep up the good work, Indigo!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel may be smaller but are slightly better cos the rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Loved this property from the moment I stepped in. Very modern, posh, and upmarket. The view from our 9th floor was beyond 'premium' and the service just the same. There were two ladies, Janette B. and Nicollette (I believe), at the front desk. These two individuals were bright, fun, and inviting! (Thanks Ladies) Stay here! The rooms are immaculately decorated to a cozy chic, and my shower was my favorite part!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1trackrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the Gaslamp Quarter area in San Diego.

Walking distance to dining and entertainment. Be sure to ask for a Petco Park view. You can easily access the bay area. Startbucks is right around the corner.

Very clean and modern!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shernandezjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The good: convenient location, friendly staff, decently sized rooms and bathrooms, great visual aesthetics in the rooms and common areas, clean rooms, great downtown view from some rooms, and free WiFi.
The not-so-good: the linens are rough, the comforter in my room was lumpy (the fill had clumped up and was no longer evenly distributed), the showerheads are those removeable ones typically only found in accessible rooms (which tend to spray anywhere by straight down when used as a fixed showerhead and have weak pressure), and the walls are thin (I am a heavy sleeper, but kept being awakened by noise).
Overall, I think that the room rates are high for what this hotel is. You can find better hotels for less money in this same area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sousnfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear sousnfrog,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate your compliments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff and clean rooms. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us and if your stay was negatively affected by our beddings. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel was very comfortable, conveniently located and a pleasure to stay at. Very spacious rooms, beautiful shower and bathroom and just overall very comfortable. The hotel patio on the top floor was also very beautiful and comfortable. Hotel is located in the middle of everything - very convenient. The only downside is no bathtub in the room. It would have been nice to take a bubble bath after a long day, but all the other positives of this experience greatly outweigh the lack of a tub.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

our stay there was fantastic. friendly and professional staff, rooms clean, large and well-appointed, with good downtown views. there is a rooftop bar with gas fires and a clear view of the ball park including home plate. this property is near many eateries and bars in Gaslamp, and walking distance to the waterfront. one drawback: parking (valet only) is $39.00 per night

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
5,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing