We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nestled near the Padres and Gaslamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nestled near the Padres and Gaslamp”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I loved this location, it was so close to the Padres stadium that I could see the pitchers mound from my room. I thought the bathroom was great and the overall room and hotel experience was wonderful. I did have an issue with the towels, but once I talked to the front desk about it, they communicated to housekeeping and it was resolved. I might suggest better pillows at this hotel but other then that overall I had a great experience with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalSShoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to “Sunny San Diego”. We truly value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to let us know about the pillow and towel situation you encountered. We always like to hit “homeruns” with our guests and hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    511
    127
    36
    35
See reviews for
214
669
114
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Indigo for the weekend. The hotel is in a central location in Gaslamp making it easy to walk to many activities, For the most part the hotel is clean. One of the days we came back to our room and the room had been cleaned but all of the pillows were left on the floor in the closet. The fitness center is average with two treadmills, two ellipticals, and a few stationary bikes. Due to being in the city, it did get a bit noisy at night especially on the weekends with all the bars nearby. The 9th floor has a rooftop bar, but we never go to see it because it was always closed for a private event. The biggest issue we experienced was with the parking. The hotel charges $39 a day to valet the car which is typical for most of the city hotels. When we tried to retrieve our car it took over 30 minutes and the valet said it was because our car was parked 4 blocks away. After that we found ways to park the car offsite without spending $39 a day and having to wait 30 minutes for the hotel to locate the car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Emily A.,

Thank you for stopping by and writing such a detailed review about our Hotel Indigo. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while here at our property. I will ensure I speak with my staff so these issues you experienced in the future do not happen again. Recently, we have just renovated our fitness room to meet the needs of our guests.

We hope you give us the opportunity and choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

First time staying here. Only stayed one night, but my wife and I really enjoyed the experience. The valet service--though mandatory--was quick and the attendants were courteous. They went out of their way to call a taxi when we out at night.

The employee who checked us in confirmed our bed preference (1 or 2), and accommodated us accordingly. He offered some nightlife suggestions at our request (one of which we took, and it was awesome), and was very friendly in general.

The room was modern, well-kept and comfortable. Not a ton of extra space, but not cramped either. One draw when we booked it was the ninth-floor rooftop bar and lounge, but we unfortunately did not get to check it out, as it was closed for a wedding reception. Not a valid reason to give a lower rating, but disappointed nonetheless.

The rare boutiquey-but-homely vibe was great, and we'd definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Padres stadium add a unique touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Eric C.,

Thank you for taking the time and writing such a wonderful review about our Hotel Indigo! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed you time and that the staff was accommodating. It is unfortunate that you were not able to take advantage of the Level 9 Terrace and I apologize for that inconvenience.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location for its price, and has a modern, cool style to it. We had a nice view of Petco Park, and the rooftop lounge/bar is great (only complaint is that closes at 10 pm). Breakfast was nice and the coffee very good! Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Mark T,

Thank you for stopping by and writing a wonderful review about our Hotel Indigo. I am pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our Level 9 Terrace and that you enjoyed your time in San Diego.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Came back from a year long deployment and booked a week at this Hotel to reconnect with my Wife. Great location a few blocks away from the gas lamp craziness but close enough to walk. Rooms were clean and decorated nicely. wanted a King size room and they accommodated me the next day without any issues. This Hotel"s staff was extremely friendly, polite, and took care of our every need all week. I would ask they desk staff for their recommendations everyday for a eatery and was never disappointed. Roof top Bar also makes awesome drinks. I accidentally left some items in my room and when I called back, they had retrieved them. Placed them in a fedex box and shipped them to me. How can you not appreciate service and integrity like this! I will make sure to stay here again when visiting and suggest all others to book with this Hotel. My only pet peeve was the price of parking was rather high, especially if spending 5 days or more. Thank you Hotel Indigo for Everything! J. Ruela

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnyrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
J. Ruela,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a wonderful review and thank you for your services. I am so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your 5 night stay at our Hotel Indigo and in downtown. I will ensure my Front Office team hears about the lovely feedback you have left.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Walking distance from the ball park. Front desk staff were very helpful. Good restaurant in the hotel - weird name but good food. If you want to eat out, plenty of choice within walking distance. Supposed to be pet-friendly but still very clean alround. Environmentally friendly place -- interesting history.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s4321s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
S4321s,

Thank you for taking the time in writing such a wonderful review about our Hotel Indigo! I am happy to hear that my Front Office team was friendly and accommodating to your needs and that you enjoyed your time in San Diego.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

What I liked most
- Location: in the trendy heart of SD, Gaslamp Quarter
- Huge room, huge bathroom and super clean. Spaciuos walk-in shower
- Nice lobby

What I didn't like
- Parking: only valet service, extremely expensive (39 USD/day). There are public parking facilities in the area (2 blocks from the hotel) at 15 USD/day
- Breakfast: expensive and not good. Continental breakfast is a croissant defrosted with a microwave and a small cup of fruit. All for 10 USD! Avoid the bar of the hotel, there are many bars in the area for a good breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saimonmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Saimonmays,

Thank you for stopping by and writing a review about our Hotel Indigo. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel along with the design of our property. I am sorry to hear you were dissatisfied by our parking rates and our breakfast. I do thank you though for mentioning your concerns because that is how we improve--from the feedback of our customers.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
5,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing