We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, neat room and very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #34 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Walking distance from the ball park. Front desk staff were very helpful. Good restaurant in the hotel - weird name but good food. If you want to eat out, plenty of choice within walking distance. Supposed to be pet-friendly but still very clean alround. Environmentally friendly place -- interesting history.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s4321s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

S4321s,

Thank you for taking the time in writing such a wonderful review about our Hotel Indigo! I am happy to hear that my Front Office team was friendly and accommodating to your needs and that you enjoyed your time in San Diego.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,782 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

What I liked most
- Location: in the trendy heart of SD, Gaslamp Quarter
- Huge room, huge bathroom and super clean. Spaciuos walk-in shower
- Nice lobby

What I didn't like
- Parking: only valet service, extremely expensive (39 USD/day). There are public parking facilities in the area (2 blocks from the hotel) at 15 USD/day
- Breakfast: expensive and not good. Continental breakfast is a croissant defrosted with a microwave and a small cup of fruit. All for 10 USD! Avoid the bar of the hotel, there are many bars in the area for a good breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saimonmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Saimonmays,

Thank you for stopping by and writing a review about our Hotel Indigo. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel along with the design of our property. I am sorry to hear you were dissatisfied by our parking rates and our breakfast. I do thank you though for mentioning your concerns because that is how we improve--from the feedback of our customers.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

the beds were very comfortable, and the staff was courteous, and very friendly. The whole hotel was all very clean, updated. The bathrooms were clean, an the shower was great! The rooms were spacious, and the hotel was next to the Petco field. There were many places to eat within walking distance, and the front desk staff was very helpful. Next time I come to the area, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach_Family_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Beach_Family_WE_R,

Thank you for stopping by and writing such a wonderful review about our property! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time in San Diego and that you found our property accommodating. I will ensure my staff hears of the fantastic feedback you have left and we will see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and three friends recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo while in town for a baseball game over a weekend in August. On top of one of the best locations we could have hoped for, the hotel was absolutely beautiful and the staff was fantastic. Do yourselves a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurelai23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Laurelai23,

I am so pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your time in San Diego! I will ensure my staff hears back about your wonderful feedback. Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts of our property and we will see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is walking distance from the Petro Park Stadium and the Gaslamp District. We stayed here are 2 night and we loved it very much. The room was great and pleasant with modern furnishing and comfy beds. The service from the staff was also great and they were very welcoming and polite. The parking was expensive but there are various other parking lots which offer reasonable parking prices surrounding the hotel. Otherwise I would recommend this hotel for the quality of service and ideal location. I would stay here again if I were to return to San Diego.

Room Tip: Room with two double beds was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Anthony D,

Thank you for taking the time and writing such an amazing review about out Hotel Indigo! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in San Diego and that the location met your standarts. Being so close to the park and to Gaslamp does have its advantages!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our party of three recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo for two nights while visiting San Diego as tourists. The hotel is nicely placed on the edge of the gas lamp quarter. It's an easy two block stroll to Petco Field and we took in a Padres baseball game one evening. All of the hundreds of restaurants and bars on 4th and 5 avenue are just three blocks away and we found scores of nice places to have breakfast and for dinner. it's a 10 minute walk to the cruise ship pier where the ferry to Coronado and the harbor cruise ships depart. Balboa Park with the museums and the zoo is only a short drive away as well.

Our room was very comfy and decorated in a hip, contemporary style. The room wasnt huge but was spacious enough for three with two queen beds. Good mattress and great pillows ensured a good nights sleep. Nicely appointed bathroom with high quality toiletries and a great shower were appreciated. In room coffee maker, flat screen tv, and free wi fi complete the picture. Valet parking was included in our package and they valet park cars for Padres games for $15. The negatives: I would avoid the hotel restaurant as our one breakfast experience there was not good: cold food and very slow service. The roof top outdoor bar was closed for private functions both nights we were in the hotel which was annoying. What's the use of having such a facility if the paying guests can't use it!

Room Tip: Not much street noise but get a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

David D,

Thank you for stopping by and writing such a detailed and wonderful review! It is amazing to hear you enjoyed your time in San Diego and were able to take advantage of what the location brings! I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at Table 509 and the fact that you were not able to experience our Level 9 Terrace due to a private event. I thank you though for the feedback because we learn best from our guests in what we can improve on.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hotel indigo for 4 nights and it was wonderful. The location is awesome- easy walking distance to gaslamp and (cheap) mass transportation (with no car we did everything we wanted to without cabs)! Rooms were great (just with they had a refridgerator). At the rooftop bar, Chris and Pat were great, both really friendly and nice to talk to while hanging out; excellent service! Ellen at the front desk was awesome as well! Overall perfect place to stay, right near all night life and good restaurants and really great hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BZ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

BZ8,

Thank you for taking the time and writing such a wonderful review about out Hotel Indigo! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay in San Diego and that the locationg suited your needs. We will ensure all staff hears about your kind words.

We will see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,457 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#36 of 278 in San Diego
2,062 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $129 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or and enjoy breathtaking views of Downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower. You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed West Bean coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing