We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personnel made it great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Personnel made it great”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The staff at the hotel turned an otherwise ordinary, almost mundane hotel stay into an excellent one. Every single person I dealt with was on-the-ball and jumped at the opportunity to help me out. I was an unusual customer: I rented a bike instead of a car, I wanted a gym pass, I preferred no housekeeping, and I had a problem with my restaurant bill. Everything was taken care of perfectly, professionally, and with ample courtesy. And that is why I would return to this hotel and/or recommend it to family/friends in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Avoid the 8th and 10th floors since there's a bar on the 9th, if you're a light sleeper. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    511
    127
    36
    34
See reviews for
213
669
113
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I recently stayed here for 5 nights and it was the best experience I've had in san diego! I flew in from Asia for graduation and Brian checked me and helped me get situated. He was so friendly and understanding. Although the reason I wanted to stay there was for the rooftop bar I ended up going to the restaurant downstairs which not only had awesome service (thank you Mike, i think the name was) but really great food and mimosas. The rooms are surprisingly pretty spacious and had an awesome view of petco park and downtown san diego. It's not crazy loud on the weekends so if you're traveling with a family it's really nice as well. Thank you Jose and Darren as well for being so incredible nice and friendly! I will definitely be staying here again and have told countless friends to send their families there. Thank you Hotel Indigo for contributing to the best graduation weekend I could have asked for!

Room Tip: try and book a room facing Petco Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwidewoman_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My stay with Hotel Indigo was outstanding. Along with clean, comfortable accommodations, the staff was exceptional in every way. The individuals working the bar were kind, amicable, and professional. We were helped by Matt, Mike, Chris, and Curtis. Can't put a price on great customer service;) Thank you for making me feel welcome and at home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaJWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for three nights while attending a function at the SD concourse. It's a nice walk or taxi ride to either the convention center or the concourse. The hotel is close enough you can walk to the various clubs and pubs in the gaslamp, but just far enough that you can't hear the music. The rooftop bar on the 9th floor looks out over part of the baseball stadium, and has nice view of downtown... great way to enjoy the warm evenings.

The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, but nice and simple... nothing crazy exotic, just easy to use. The free wifi is quite reliable, and the business center printers are quick and easy.

Overall, a reliable, professional, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genomancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'm very happy with my choice of the Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, and you will be too. It's a very good location; the staff is very accommodating, extremely service oriented, and hospitable without being overbearing.

Room Tip: Realize that this is a dog-friendly hotel . . . man's best friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
333 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have never been at this hotel or the Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego, and within walking distance of Petco Park, home of the Padres. My room was nicely furnished in modern decor, great bar area in the lobby, nice meeting rooms, right in the middle of the downtown nightlife and restaurants. No shuttle to the airport, you have to take a cab. A very pleasant stay and will be here again this August.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Puente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while on vacation in San Diego. When we booked our stay we noticed that the hotel was the number 1 rated pet friendly hotel in that area. So, we decided to bring our dogs with us, which ended up being a wonderful experience.

The room was perfect for us, the dogs enjoyed it as well. The Hotel has a roof top bar that is dog friendly and has a grassy area for the dogs which was pretty neat. The Hotel is also a block away from Petco park which has a park area for people to walk their dogs which was pretty cool. The hotel was able to point out some of the restaurants in the area that are pet friendly which was really nice to have. The people at the front desk were always very nice and welcoming. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

The only downside to this hotel is that per their website their parking fee is $38 a day and when we arrived, the parking attendant tells us that its $39 a day. I tell him that their website listed $38 a day and he said that they just changed it. I did also mention it to the person who checked us in and he gave us the same response. I know it's just a $1 but it would be nice if their website would be correctly updated. As of today (a month after our stay) their website still states that their parking fee is $38.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
5,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing