We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel experience especially for my pets!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel experience especially for my pets!!!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

From the time we checked in to the time we checked out. We had a great experience. We were able to walk our dogs around anywhere in the hotel. They had a special place on the 9th floor for doggies to pee and poo. The rooms were very clean. The staff were really helpful and attentive. Sergio helped us with our bags and before we even settled in that the doggies get the most attention here..this made me really happy...they dont charge any fee for the pets. Parking is expensive/ night but convenient. They also do charge for refrigerator/night. Overall I loved the whole experience. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blancetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    517
    127
    36
    35
See reviews for
217
674
115
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Clean and welcoming, this is a nice hotel. My fiancée and I only stayed for one night on our way from Mexico to San Francisco. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large, with an excellent shower.

The only negative thing I can say about the room is although the hardwood floors look great, they don't make for a quiet room. There was someone (a lady in high-heels I'm guessing) in the room above us and when she was walking around, it sounded like someone what hitting the ceiling with a hammer. Started to drive me a bit stir-crazy after a while.

Breakfast the next morning was excellent and the staff member attending to us was professional.

If we are back in San Diego, I would preference this hotel, if only it didn't have hardwood floors. The price you pay for "style", I guess.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the Baseball Stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartiniBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night before departing San Diego. The hotel is located in a great part of the city and the rates are fairly good. If you valet park your car, be wary as it cost $40. We were able to find a parking spot right out front, but be careful as there are very specific rules as to parking your car overnight. The hotel itself was gorgeous and the rooms were excellent. It definitely had the coolest atmosphere of any place we stayed in Southern Cal. I would recommend highly that you pay a little extra for a decent view as we were staring straight into what looked like a delivery area. I would stay here again and the pet friendly policy is great even though we did not take advantage of it!

Room Tip: Pay more for a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huhnnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

5 star superb hotel.suit for intermediate traveller whos looking for luxury & pleasure.2 days staying for 150 dollar worth money can do.near to attraction & san diego landmark place.u cam share your room with friend and bff.for budget backpackers,recommend to share 3 pax per room yet still worth & suit.my journey about 3 days at san diego,lets party!!

Helpful?
Thank Amierul N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The room was discounted over the web for 124 for a standard room or 144 with breakfast included. The extra 20 dollars just gave you a coupon good for 20
Dollars worth of food. And here is the kicker,parking is $40. No choice! The room was spacious and well designed. Hardwood floors, nice decor and beautiful design. Seemingly a perfect room, until.... The air conditioner! Perhaps I'm being overly sensitive but the ac unit sounded as if it belonged in a motel 6. It was loud, and not just steady loud, it pulsated. I thought as loud as it was, it must be a problem so I asked to see another room, same noise. Such a great room was really a let down over the noise. Other than that the hotel was comfortable and clean. Such potential but the little things disappointed me to the point I don't think I could recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sablue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sablue13,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am happy you noticed the cleanliness of our property. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the air conditioning issue you experienced. I understand the discomfort this caused you. This issue will be addressed immediately. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Amazing...welcoming... very hip...personable service.
Absolutely LOVED everything about this hotel... the room, the staff (thank you, Sergio & Jose!)...the bar upstairs... wow! Breakfast was amazing and preceded by some of the best needed coffee. The only downside was the cost of overnight parking! Otherwise, a true 10! I would recommend this hotel for people who don't have little toddlers... it is perfect for families who are active and can do a lot of walking to take advantage of Petco Park which is close by. But also for the many restaurants and fun eateries that cater to those who have children over 5 & older. For faithful Marriott travelers, we WILL tell everyone about this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the elevator and we had no issue with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFtravelTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Indigo for 5 nights in mid-March. The rooms, bathrooms, linens and towels are very clean and well maintained. The mattresses and pillows are comfortable. The rooms are on a smaller side and very basic, but quiet. The appliances (TV, hairdryer, iron) are in good working condition. There was no refrigerator in our room. The location is a few blocks walk to the center of the Gaslamp quarter and innumerable restaurants. The front desk staff are very welcoming. There is a cafe in the lobby, but breakfast selections are Starbucks-like and overpriced. The waitstaff are hit or miss. Given the choices of places to eat, I would not waste time eating there. There is a $38 daily charge for valet parking. We did not have to wait to get the car, which is available at any time of the day. Overall, it felt like we overpaid for the very basic amenities, but cleanliness of the accommodations made it somewhat worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hello KBNYC, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are glad you found our hotel to be so comfortable and welcoming. We will utilize your review as a source to improve our hotel for you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,262 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing