We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #34 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Colares, Portugal
Level Contributor
253 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Indigo Hotel three nights during our trip along the coast of California where we choose to stay mainly the Holiday Inn Express.
It was the first time we stayed at a Indigo Hotel and there are a big difference between this Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter and the HIE.
The rooms have enough space, the bathroom was fine the internet was ok and the service fine also.
However the big difference is the decoration much more young and agreable than the HIE and we were already fed up of the HIE.
The unique problem was the noise during the first night because our room was close with the vending machines, but they changed us to another room and the problem disappear.
For us this Indigo is a very pleasant hotel and we recomend it..

Room Tip: Ask a room far from the vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Elicia49,

We are pleased that you chose Hotel Indigo for your stay! Hotel Indigo is part of the IHG family which includes the Holiday Inn brand. The Hotel Indigo brand offers a boutique style that is modern and chic. We hope that you are a loyal member of our Priority Club frequent stay program in which you can earn redeemable points by staying at one of our many brands. To review membership information please visit www.priorityclub.com

Thank you and hope to see you visit us again in sunny San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    453
    107
    32
    32
See reviews for
185
587
103
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Curtis Crawford and the Hotel Indigo staff allowed us to have our non-profit year end networking event at the newly renovated Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Our group throws about 10 events a year and this was by the far the smoothest cooridnation of all of them. We couldn't have been more thrilled with the setup, logistics, hospitality, etc that Curtis and his staff offered to us. We will definintely be going back to Hotel Indigo and Level 9 for a future events!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was really impressed by the management, staff and services of the hotel. It’s a massive hotel and equipped with all facilities. The rooms are very nice and clean. The best part of the hotel is its rooftop bar. I just loved it. The view from the rooftop is certainly amazing. It’s a bit away from the downtown that makes it a calm place to stay. The Gaslamp Quarter is just along with the hotel. The only concern I had is that of Parking as there were additional charges for it. However, I just had to stay there for a few days so that wasn’t a big issue for me. I got a room on the 6th floor and it was a good one. The wireless connection was a bit slow though it worked out for my laptop. It was a satisfactory stay there though it surely is one of the best for those who love rooftop bars.

Room Tip: Ask for a better view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hotel Indigo was kind enough to host our Holiday Charity event for Big Brothers Big Sisters at their new Level 9 Patio bar. The staff was very easy to work with, Curtis Crawford was accomodating and a huge help in coordinating the event, the bartenders were efficient, the food was great, and the ambience is fantastic! This is my new favorite rooftop bar in San Diego. Thanks to Hotel Indigo, we were able to raise over $2500 for Big Brothers Big Sisters, through the Young Professionals Committee! I will definitely be back :) Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a business meeting at the local convention center. Unlike a few previous reviews state, Hotel Indigo is NOT a mile away from the convention center. It's closer to a half mile and is only a 10-15 minute walk depending on your speed. It is located in a nice little pocket about 5-10 minutes walking from the Gaslamp Quarter, in clear view of Petco Park (San Diego Padres baseball) and a little away from the hustle and bustle of downtown San Diego.

The check-in process was very quick and efficient. The staff was extremely helpful and gave me a little map for navigation purposes around the city. The rooms were clean and spacious enough. The bed was well taken care of and very comfortable. A Keurig coffee brewer was in the room and if you need more coffee pods or a particular type, the concierge have plenty of extra and more than happy to accommodate. As for bottled water and other snacks, there is a 7-11 one block away and a CVS three blocks away, both well-stocked and more cost effective than the $5 water the hotel advertises.

The bar/restaurant area is very cozy and had plenty of choices. They have a few items they can make (omelets and such) which are not on the menu, so be sure to ask. The food was made to my exact request and the coffee was delicious, albeit a bit overpriced.

There were only three complaints I had with the hotel. 1. No refrigerator or microwave - considering you get this even in a Days Inn and other "low end" hotels the absence was a bit out of place here. It was not a serious inconvenience, but did make me stop for a minute and go "Hmmm..." 2. Fitness center remodeling - the normal fitness center is being improved and they placed a temporary one in some converted offices. It has very poor ventilation and will very quickly overheat as there was not any adequate air-conditioning (not good for a few sweating bodies). The lack of a TV or music also hurt. They do offer a one-day complimentary pass to a local gym (about three blocks away), but I like a hotel that has all the amenities I need right there and like to work out more than one day at a time. 3. TV - had a large number of channels but it frequently lost signal and would have long stretches of black screens at a time.

That being said, this was still a nice hotel and I might have been inclined to rate it closer to 4.5 stars if not for the above issues. The staff was extremely helpful and went above and beyond to answer any questions I might have and make my stay more pleasant. The hotel was always clean and housekeeping never gave me a difficult time for "Do Not Disturb" signs until the early afternoon and cleaned my room promptly as soon as I left for the day. I would like to see how the new fitness center looks when it is done, complete with abundant TV's, music, and proper air-condition/ventilation. Provided I get a good price, I would be open to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daredevil3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel itself was fantastic - very 'green' place, helpful/friendly staff, comfortable and clean quarters, not noisy at all. My only hesitation is that it really is one mile to the San Diego Convention Center, which can be a hike for some people. The value was fantastic - as long as you're willing to walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4buisness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Travel4Business,

Thank you for taking the time to give a review from your recent stay. Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter is the first LEED Certified hotel in downtown San Diego. The hotel offers green features and uses local vendors to reduce our carbon footprint. These are just some of the many unique qualities of our hotel. We hope that you decide to choose the chic Hotel Indigo brand in other cities during your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I won't say that it was any ONE thing, but it was the complete package, i.e., what makes you enjoy a hotel vs just tolerate one. Our stay was 2 nights (Sun & Mon) catching the Bengals-Chargers game after a week with my wife at a dude ranch in Tucson. Hey, we were almost to SD, so why not tack on a couple more days & see our team in America's best climate??

Anyway, hotel has a decent location near gaslamp district, friendly and unpretentious staff, excellent accommodations, good food. You must check out the 9th floor open air bar area with gas fire pits at night (they also serve light bites / sandwiches). It's also a good place to head to with a cup o' joe 1st thing in am, especially if you're headed from eastern time zone since you'll wake up early...

Easy walking distance to many of the sites and the Trolley / public transit. We'll visit again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarkandBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you Mark and Betsy! We are thrilled that you found the hotel to be the perfect package! The hotel prides itself with having genuine, caring staff members who are here to make memorable guest experiences. Thank you for taking advantage of the different outlets offered at the hotel from Level 9 our roof top lounge to our fantastic restaurant, Table 509! We hope to see you visit our wonderful city again and choose Hotel Indigo for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#9 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,292 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing