We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva la lobster”
Review of Hexagone - CLOSED

Hexagone
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th Avenue
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Viva la lobster”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Love this restaurant with underground parking. They have a $22 lobster dinner about once, sometimes twice a month. I go early, meet the girls for happy hour and then we stuff ourselves on lobster and risotto. I know about the attitude thing- hey, they're French after all, but for the most part our service is always friendly, (we flirt) and if they're crowded it can slow down a bit.
ANY inconvenience is worth that lobster though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torriob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    13
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had dinner this past weekend at Hexagone. We have been many times in the past. The food is consistently good, the service is a toss up. Sometimes good, sometimes not so good. And the Host, even though we go in there semi-frequently, he never acts like he has seen us before and never smiles. We always ask for a Grey Good orange martini. The wait staff always says they don't carry that. But if you sit in the bar - amazingly, they always have it. My husband had the beef bourguignon - it was very good, as usual, but served differently than it in the past. I ordered the salmon in papillote, which I have had before. What I got was salmon wrapped in thinly sliced carrots with artichokes, potatoes and ginger. It was delicious but not exactly what I was expecting. I didn't bother to say anything, we were charged the same amount and it really was good. We like to go here, but you never know what you will get....in food and in service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callan1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mediocre”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

they could have done so much more with this place; the ambiance is drab and the food is nothing special really. The tables are so close together (and yet placed in a weird way) that the waiters bump into the tables all the time. there aren't many nice French restaurants in this part of town so it is kind fo shame that this place doesn't take advantage of this and remodel and change the menu or hire a better chef.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nadezhda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enough attitude to make you think you are in Paris”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hexagone has a weird name that doesn't sound very French, but the cuisine was delicious. On the inside, the restaurant had the feel of a nice French restaurant without being stuffy. The waiter was knowledgeable, but a bit too "east coast" for our California tastes. Then again, the slight attitude on his part made it feel a little more like Paris, no?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmichaelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had mussels Mediterranean appetizer and Sea Bass in a very light citrus sauce as the main course. The mussels were good but the bass was right on the cusp of being overdone. Also, it was rather flavorless. The lemon tart was good but forgettable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dancetictoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hexagone also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing