We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muzita Abyssinian Bistro

Muzita Abyssinian Bistro
Ranked #372 of 4,536 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Adams
San Diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Always delicious. If you love something different and are willing to eat with your fingers (although they have silverware if you ask), this restaurant will not disappoint. Highly recommended. We live in San Diego and have eaten here many times. One of our favorite places!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveLSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    23
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Try something new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great food, great service! We had lunch and it was quiet but for dinner you need reservations. Food is served family style and you eat it with a sponge bread with your hands. A great date place but as I would say not a first date! We had a mixed vegetarian dish with lentils and stewed vegetables that were great, my toddler loved them. Along with that we had a chicken special that had a juicy tender very flavorful chicken. I am not a fan of hot spicy food but this is not a burn your mouth spice and you can ask for it to be cooked more mild but it was perfect the way it was prepared. Lunch prices are around $10 a dish, very reasonable for the amount of food. Don't be scared to try something new, there wasn't anything weird on our plate just lots of delicious food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
661 reviews
435 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“For something really different, try this.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A great place not to be missed. Flavor packed meats, chicken, fish and vegetarian dishes are served family style. Injera, the Ethopian/Eritrean flat bread with a unique, spongy texture made out of teff flour is served up with everything. It acts as the delivery mechanism from plate to mouth - in lieu of a fork. Just like in Ethiopia. The place is "cottagy" small with a small outdoor area. Great service too. Will certainly be back.
We started off with the calamari and mushroom dish. Both great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place!!! Great Food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent service and very chilled out atmosphere. We have now been to this place multiple times and it has managed to always meet our expectations. I am vegetarian and there are many options to try out.
Food is overpriced but i would say its worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved our food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had very friendly service. We asked for suggestions as to what to order. Our waitress was helpful and explained everything well. I loved the spice level. The food was spiced great, not too hot but just right. We enjoyed the atmosphere and neighborhood. Parking was easy to find on the street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TABSOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muzita Abyssinian Bistro also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Muzita Abyssinian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing