We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”
Review of Beach Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Haven
Ranked #139 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2006

Arrived late on December 16th and was greeted kindly and hospitably by older women in very nice office,,,,Went to the room to settle in an found bathroom cabinets all wood rotted and fixtures corroded. Mattresses had a coating of dirt. We slept on top of the bed and left abruptly in the morning without even showering. It was shocking. The smoke detectors didn't work either. No coffee pot or hair dryer as promised. Terrible experience...

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zameidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 224 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2006

Stayed at this motel last summer and had a great time. When we were leaving the gm Jose booked us again for this year. He gave us the rate of $129.00 a night and told us we could reserve the room number we wanted. We reserved 3 rooms. When calling to confirm the reservation the Beach Haven didn't have any of our reservations. The girl at the front desk said that theres nothing they could do unless we saved are reservations cards, they were booked thank god we did. Had to call numerous times to speak to someone, the manager would never call back. When we arrived we didn't get the room we were promised. My room was on the top floor with no a/c. The room was extremely hot. There was a small evap. cooler in the kitchen area, which leaked all over the floor. We told the maintance man, all he did was dump the water out. Later I had to get towels because the the floor was soaked. The next day they did give us a new room. A few people we spoke with didn't have working a/c. When expressing my concerns to the manager, he just kept interrupting me. At the end of the conversation he said that he made us a deal on the room and he had people paying $200 a night (way to much for this motel). I took it as we must be second rate.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2006

This is a older hotel and the rooms, while clean, do have a few problems. There was no remote for the tv in our room and the restroom door drug across the floor and had to be forced open and closed. The room had a smell that we never could figure out. We only stayed one night, but that was enough. On the positive side, the ocean is only a block away and the pier is another few blocks south.

1  Thank Omegagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed May 16, 2006

My family and I took up five rooms, and were very happy with the rates, service, and pool-spa.
The staff was kind, accomadating, and friendly. Sure, it's not the Ritz, but you get a kitchen with a fridge, stove,pots and pans, and don't pay 200 a night.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2005

Just returned from a stay at the Beach Haven Inn and was surprised at how much we enjoyed our stay after reading some of the reviews on here. The staff and location are unbeatable!! the rooms could use some updating - but you get what you pay for. the location to Garnet street ( resturants, bars, shops) and the beach was great. we were there for the Pacific Beach Annual Block Party which is a busy and crazy time and we had no compliants! i would suggest staying here if you want a laid back place with a great location and value. if you are looking for down comforters, 24 hour room service and at least $100 more a night then choose a different location.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank moespice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Prescott, Arizona
19
Reviewed March 20, 2005

We(two couples) arrived at the hotel without having previous knowledge of the hotel site other than pictures on the internet. We arrived after dark, and having reserved two rooms, were told there was only one available and they were sorry. I had verified our two room reservations three different times before we traveled to California and insisted they find a way to accomodate us as one of our members was handicapped and needed his own bathroom. After much phoning, we were given a managers room. The rooms were clean but badly in need of updating....our refrigerator was rusted on the bottom, and the room dishes and pots and pans were dirty and had to be washed before using. The staff was pleasant, and the rate we paid, altho being told it was quoted as rediculously low, was all that should have been charged for the condition the rooms were in.There is no convenient hotel parking, especially annoying when having to carry large bags and a food chest! There also is no elevator. Parking is around the corner or in the back...not too handy for elderly people. No beach can be seen from this hotel, you walk about two blocks behind the building to get to the beach.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh PA
111
Reviewed January 6, 2005

This place was horrible. Not clean at ALL! Pillow cases and bed sheets had I think blood stains on them. Air conditioner/heater didn't work so we had to use a space heater to heat the room. On top of that, we checked out early to catch an early flight and NO attendant at the front desk. So my associate and I just placed the room key back on top of the TV and to my surprise today, my checking account was automatically deducted another $75. Shady place......don't recommend.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#211 of 286 in San Diego
182 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 286 in San Diego
720 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#177 of 286 in San Diego
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#150 of 286 in San Diego
371 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#24 of 286 in San Diego
1,082 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#146 of 286 in San Diego
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $119 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Diego's Pacific Beach neighborhood, Beach Haven offers a family-friendly hotel experience that puts the best of the Pacific just outside your door. Enjoy an easy walk to shops, restaurants, parks, and of course, the beach. Surround yourself in a sun-drenched, easy going, beach hotel experience inside and out. Enjoy the surf, stunning sunsets over the Pacific, and everything the neighborhood has to offer right here at Beach Haven hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing