We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Deal”
Review of Beach Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Haven
Ranked #140 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is really an amazing place. The rooms are terrific because they're all studios, which gives you a separate place to eat, sleep, watch tv or visit with guests. In addition, their prices are the lowest in the area--and their location is unbeatable: on the beach block at the most beautiful, scenic, and convenient area in Pacific Beach. Finally, the staff is exceedingly pleasant, helpful, courteous, and personable. I have stayed there for the last four years (always from Xmas through the first week of the new year) and have been consistently delighted by the location, rooms, and the way I've been treated. The only problem is that sometimes other guests are drunk, noisy, loud, and obnoxious--and their presence can certainly impair, if not altogether ruin your time there. All the rooms are in a courtyard with the pool in the middle, so if guests in the pool are loud, it's as if they're right in your own room with you. Otherwise, though, this place is an outstanding value in a great location with wonderfully hospitablel staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We really appreciate you compiling such a compelling argument for staying at the Beach Haven when visiting San Diego, more specifically Pacific Beach. A majority of the rooms do have a separate bedroom and the location is quite good! There is a terrific view at the end of the block on the boardwalk. Being elevated (on a cliff) makes for a great view to watch sunsets. The staff is interested in the guests and takes pride in making sure each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable. Thank you for the generous review.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 221 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Beach Haven is a nice place but the name shouldn't have beach in it - no beach view though it WAS quite close to the beach. Very clean and well appointed, the only issue we had was the lack of Wifi in room 106 which was a minor thing.

A kettle would also be good!

Didn't spoil the stay at San Diego - its a beautiful city to visit!

Room Tip: If you want wifi. don't get Room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippin1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

our stay at the Beach Haven Inn was very pleasant - located one block from a great beach -restaurants and bars- even if you didn't have a car you could ride a rental bike. The rooms have been updated and the beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was old but clean and it functioned. would recommend it

Room Tip: if you want good location and value - STAY HERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 305Rambo224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Beach Haven Inn. We’re pleased you had a pleasant stay in the renovated room or suite you occupied and the beds were comfortable. As you allude to in your comments the location of the property is outstanding. The staff and myself hope you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My sister and I recently spent 5 nights at Beach Haven Inn. The hotel has a great location and a friendly staff but the rooms are a little sketchy. The first room they put us in had a toilet that didn't work and a "vanity" that consisted of a sink with plywood around the bottom of it. We moved to another room with a working toilet and a real vanity but the bathroom left something to be desired. There were gouges in the walls, the wallpaper was hung haphazardly, the sink faucet was very corroded, the toilet lid and seat old and the molding around the floor was dirty. The bedroom, except for the carpet, was nice and the beds were comfortable. There was a round convex mirror hung above each bed but we couldn't figure out their purpose. They were too high to use as mirrors and their shape distorted your image. There was a kitchen, which we would use for $10.00 per night. We elected not to use it but they gave it to use free of charge after we mentioned that our room hadn't been cleaned one day. The kitchen had nice tile floors, new cabinets and new appliances; however it appeared that the walls hadn't been painted when it was remodeled. Our main impression was that they tried to remodel but didn't complete the job. It's a shame because the people were nice and the location great, but we'll stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for the taking the time to provide valuable feedback for us. The staff and myself are disappointed you weren’t satisfied with your room. The bathrooms in the rooms you occupied are scheduled for renovation. Thank you for the feedback and if you would provide us with the opportunity to accommodate you in the future it would be our pleasure to have you back.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I recently stayed 4 nights at the Beach Haven Inn to round up our roadtrip and we both enjoyed our stay a great day. Granted, the inn is not a 5-star uber-fancy, and thus 'generic' place, but it's got its unique charm. Apart from its convenient location and fair rates, it is very clean. All of our towels were changed every day even though we hadn't put them on the floor. Our suite was spacious and our kitchenette was also fully stocked. Once again, everything was clean. Moreover, the staff was competent, helpful and even jovial. Since we were unfamiliar with the immediate neighborhood, we asked the staff for recommendations regarding breakfast, dinner, etc. ALL of their suggestions panned out (e.g. Kono's down at the Crystal Pier, or Cafe 976 on Felspar St.)
All in all, we were very satisfied and should we ever be in the San Diego area again, we'll make sure to secure a room at the Beach Haven Inn.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank captjohnson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the property. The staff and myself are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the property clean, a good value for your money, and a desirable location. The rooms with kitchens include silverware, limited pots and pans, a microwave, stove top (some rooms have ovens as well), a refrigerator, and a dining table and chairs.
There are many quality restaurants in the area that the staff recommends and we’re pleased the staff referrals met your expectations and more.
Thank you again for your kind comments!

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I arrived around 7pm to one of the least friendly front desk people of all time. He tried to tell me that since my reservation said 2 people but I put 3 people on the list I had to pay 10 dollars extra a night. That isn't what I was told on the phone and he said "who did you talk to??" I had no idea. But he acted like a total jerk and said "oh I know who YOU talked to, FINE" Thanks...jerk. Get into the room... the a/c is a window unit with a gap...so yes there were bugs. The outlet in the room ( I had room 108) closest to the couch was not on correctly and we couldn't plug anything into the outlets without things falling out of them. The rooms themselves were ok. There were stains on the comforter, hairs on the pillow cases and the floor felt dirty everywhere. We should have taken pictures of how dirty our feet got just from walking around but we didn't. The fridge was a mini fridge. The water in the shower was very particular, either very hot or very cold. The view faced a building next door. The parking was ABSURD!!!! Not enough spaces so they REALLY shouldn't even advertise parking. The fold out bed in the living room was beyond awful, it was LOUD and uncomfortable, bars in all the wrong places, lumpy just terrible. The place was NOISY. Don't get a downstairs room if you plan to sleep, my room was just outside of the hot tub (it's a square so they all are) As soon as anyone was outside in that area talking you couldn't help but hear it. The walls were paper thin so you literally hear EVERYTHING going on. This place has a 72 hour cancellation policy otherwise I wouldn't have stayed there after I read the reviews. When I went to check out the girl didn't ask "how was your stay" I can only imagine she knows she works in a dump and that isn't a question she should really ask. Also they had actual keys, what a pain, if you lose them they charge you, if you are not out at EXACTLY 11 they charge you. We over paid for sure. I wish I would have made a fuss and left and got my money back because it was an awful experience. The ONLY good thing about this place is the location. It's close to the beach but loud loud and nasty. Also the housekeeper...banged on the door, which was locked from the inside for no less than 10 minutes yelling "HOUSEKEEPING" hey crazy, it's locked...from the inside...we don't check out for another day...leave us alone. Evidently our do not disturb sign fell off. At most decent places once they realize it's locked from the inside they leave you alone, this lady was a psycho about yelling it and trying the key and moving the door handle just rude and pathetic customer service. http://youtu.be/yX1WPLSrtaA

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZactiveobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Okay, let me start off my saying that if you're looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel, this isn't it (go try the Pacific Terrace for $300/night). If you're the kind of person who will get hung up on details like a slightly crooked light fixture or scuffs on the molding, this is not for you. On the other hand, if you're looking for a hotel or suite that is right near the beach (Less than a block away!) and offers A/C, swimming pool and jacuzzi, nearby shopping and restaurants, etc, all at a great price - check out the Beach Haven Inn! My wife and two small children booked one of the recently renovated suites (living room with pullout and kitchen with stove, fridge, micro) and had a really nice stay. The staff was very friendly, responsive and accomodating, especially Bob! He even brought out a little boogie board for us to use at the beach! Cleaning staff was great too! Suite and Pool clean the whole 3 days. Overall, just a really nice stay. I'd have given them 5 stars if it weren't for some details we didn't love (like BR door sticking, A/C unit was in one room and not central, all tile in living room where carpeting or a rug would have been nice, pull-out couch was not made to handle much weight so only the kids could lie on the bed... little things). But, I give them 4 stars for a great stay at a great price (our suite was only $120/night!) :) Thanks, Beach Haven Inn! :)

Room Tip: We were in 105 which was a corner unit facing the pool (ask for pool-side!) This was also good for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BurkeVaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Beach Haven Inn.
The staff and I appreciate your feedback as it is important to see where any improvement can be made. Our goal is to make each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable.
Thank you again and we hope to see you in the very near future.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#217 of 278 in San Diego
179 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#101 of 278 in San Diego
707 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#185 of 278 in San Diego
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#147 of 278 in San Diego
381 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#167 of 278 in San Diego
353 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $94 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Diego's Pacific Beach neighborhood, Beach Haven offers a family-friendly hotel experience that puts the best of the Pacific just outside your door. Enjoy an easy walk to shops, restaurants, parks, and of course, the beach. Surround yourself in a sun-drenched, easy going, beach hotel experience inside and out. Enjoy the surf, stunning sunsets over the Pacific, and everything the neighborhood has to offer right here at Beach Haven hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing