We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Haven
Nearby Hotels
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $315/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$209
$188
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$232
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$200
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$307
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites(La Jolla)
$207
$202
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$292
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
89
82
22
16
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
82
22
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific beachmission blvdhot tubtaco surfgreat locationliving roomshort walk to the beachsmall kitchenlots of great restaurantsrestaurants barsdining tablefull kitchenstayed here for one nightwalking distancelight sleeperbooked this hotelfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 232 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Okay, let me start off my saying that if you're looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel, this isn't it (go try the Pacific Terrace for $300/night). If you're the kind of person who will get hung up on details like a slightly crooked light fixture or scuffs on the molding, this is not for you. On the other hand, if you're looking for a hotel or suite that is right near the beach (Less than a block away!) and offers A/C, swimming pool and jacuzzi, nearby shopping and restaurants, etc, all at a great price - check out the Beach Haven Inn! My wife and two small children booked one of the recently renovated suites (living room with pullout and kitchen with stove, fridge, micro) and had a really nice stay. The staff was very friendly, responsive and accomodating, especially Bob! He even brought out a little boogie board for us to use at the beach! Cleaning staff was great too! Suite and Pool clean the whole 3 days. Overall, just a really nice stay. I'd have given them 5 stars if it weren't for some details we didn't love (like BR door sticking, A/C unit was in one room and not central, all tile in living room where carpeting or a rug would have been nice, pull-out couch was not made to handle much weight so only the kids could lie on the bed... little things). But, I give them 4 stars for a great stay at a great price (our suite was only $120/night!) :) Thanks, Beach Haven Inn! :)

Room Tip: We were in 105 which was a corner unit facing the pool (ask for pool-side!) This was also good for a family with a 6-month old so, if he cried, he only disturbed 1 neighbor, not 2. ;)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BurkeVaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Beach Haven Inn.
The staff and I appreciate your feedback as it is important to see where any improvement can be made. Our goal is to make each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable.
Thank you again and we hope to see you in the very near future.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family and I spent a week in August here at this little gem. We planned on spending our week at the beach so location was important. We booked a standard room with two queen beds for my husband and I with our 3 and 9 yr olds. At the end of the block is the beach (5 min walk). The room is no frills, but still clean and the pool and pool area is nice. It's on the corner so if you prefer it quiet, ask for a room away from Mission Blvd. Overall, it wasn't a noisy place anyhow. There are many, many places within walking distance for dining, and everyone seemed to walk or bike everywhere. For the price you can't beat this place. Just down the block prices were 3x higher. We just wanted a safe, clean, friendly place to call home for the week and this place definitely fit the description. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank effort2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a positive review of the Beach Haven Inn.
As you mention we are just a short walk to the beach and in close proximity to many fine restaurants and attractions.
The pool area with the BBQ grill is a nice feature that many guests mention when reviewing our property.
Thank you again for taking the as your feedback about the staff, the property, and the surrounding area is very important to us.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was perfect for our large family, the staff was very friendly, just a few minute walk to the beach, a place to bbq, loved loved our time there! We were able to walk to the store for food to bbq or walk to a restaurant to eat at. Loved the fact we could leave our things on the beach and go explore throughout the day and go back to our area. Had some crazy kids above us one night but the staff had security there right away and handled everything for us, great staff, great stay

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back to avoid any traffic noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanatfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The family suite is spacious and accommodates a family of four comfortably. The BBQ grill poolside is very popular. It would be our pleasure accommodating you and your family on your annual visit to San Diego. Thank you again for the nice review.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The date we stayed there were not any of the mini suites available so we booked a standard room. It is definitely the bare minimum. We did not even have a plastic cup to get a drink of water and one night there was not a spot available in the lot so we had to find a space on the street (about a block a way). Bathroom was pretty shabby chic and the AC was loud. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. There is no fridge in the standard room which would have been nice. I did see a one bedroom suite and they appeared to be nice and a better value for sure. Our room could adjoin and would have been good for a family wishing to have two bedroom suite. Location is nice and you can easily walk to the beach and dining from this hotel. Staff was nice and helpful. Overall, I think it was a decent price and location for this area of San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

I apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. We do provide drinking glasses for our guests in each room. I can’t explain why there were none in your room! We do provide free parking based on space availability and there is additional parking nearby if our lot is full.
Depending on what your needs require, the one bedroom suite can provide a comfortable stay if you don’t mind a sofa sleeper versus a traditional bed. As you mentioned in your review, getting two rooms with two beds each and the kitchen between is also an option.
The staff and myself hope you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit back to San Diego.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place is very nice and clean. Rooms are decent, Pool and facilities are family friendly, and stuff is very nice and helpful. This hotel is the best option for its price in PB and MB area. I would definately go again!

Room Tip: Don't pick room number 102! It is noisy!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimorBarkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review for the Beach Haven Inn. We are pleased you enjoyed the comfort of the bed as most rooms have pillow top mattresses. We also offer kitchen units for even more convenience. Our location is close proximity not only to the beach but restaurants, nightlife and shopping. I am pleased our Front Desk agent at night was able to assist you with your travel arrangements. We hope to see you again soon for perhaps a longer visit.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews