We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in PB” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Haven
Ranked #123 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location in PB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night before the Rock n Roll marathon. I was a bit worried about getting a good night sleep before an early wake up but the bed was quite comfortable and the highlight of the room. The room was simple and clean and I didn't have any use for the kitchenette, but the location is outstanding. In walking distance to great restaurants and bars as well as right by the beach. The night manager was also very helpful as we tried to get our travel arrangements set for the next morning. He was able to advise us on some options as well as give us directions to the Old Town trolley station.
So overall a great location, friendly staff, decent rooms with a great bed...was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKerabatsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    72
    20
    16
    22
See reviews for
75
45
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was the 4 time i stayed here & it is nicer then ever. the staff was very friendly & helpfull,
especially Holly at the front desk. My son & I barbaqued at the pool which was a loy
t of fun. Also we were only about 200 yards from Pacific Beach Beach. The water was warm & the weather was great. I will definitly be going back. Thank you.

Sincerely
Ray Michelson

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Mr. Michelson,

We are so glad you continue to return to the Beach Haven allowing us to accommodate you on your visits to San Diego. Holly, our Front Desk Agent is a true asset to the Beach Haven staff. The proximity to the beach is just a block away. Thank you for the complimentary review and we look forward to seeing you very soon.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la verne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stumbled upon this place as a last minute trip. We ended up staying a couple extra days we loved it so much. Beds were more comfortable than most 4+ star hotels we have stayed in. Great location just off the beach and an easy walk to a lot of restaurants bars etc. Nice little kitchen and a BBQ onsite if you want to stay in. Can't wait to go back again and again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Your kind comments about the Beach Haven are much appreciated. We’re so glad you “stumbled upon us” and even stayed an extra 2 nights and mentioning our proximity to the beach and plenty of restaurants in the area. The kitchens along with the BBQ really are a plus and increase your dining options. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to accommodating you again very soon.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Brilliant location, there are funky bars, great places to eat and the beach all nearby. Fantastic value, hard to believe some of the hotels on the same block are nearly five times the price just to be beach front. The studio room we stayed in had been recently refurbished to a stylish standard I hadn't expected for a US style motel. Great bed. Stylish bathroom. The whole place spotlessly clean. I. Iked the additional touches decent quality bathroom products, generous numbers of clean towels. The studio has a small kitchen and dinning area and a sofa. Quite a bargin. The noise from the road and other guests was apparent but in fact didn't ever bother me and certainly didn't interrupt my sleep.

Room Tip: Upstairs away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review about the Beach Haven Inn. Thank you for your comments about the location, the room, and the rates. Your apt description of the room is something we might borrow from you, with your permission, of course. The housekeepers are always pleased when a guest mentions the cleanliness of the rooms and the bathroom amenities provided. There are many fine dining establishments nearby to choose from or use the grill and barbeque, sitting poolside to enjoy your prepared meal. Thank you again for the wonderful comments and we hope to see you soon!

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great service! Great location near beach. Room had fully equipped kitchen (pots pans utensils glasses even a corkscrew!). Outside they have a pool, a BBQ, and free parking.

I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Haven Inn. With our location only one block from the beach is one of the Beach Haven’s many fine features. The fully equipped kitchens are one of our many popular guest amenities. Plus as you mentioned there is a BBQ grill in the inner courtyard near the swimming pool and spa for guest enjoyment. We are also one of the few remaining properties with free parking and free wifi. Thank you again for your nice comments and we hope to accommodate you on any future trips you make to San Diego.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I booked a beautiful (according to the pictures) one bedroom suite for 6 nights online. Unfortunately, the suite they had for me was at the end corner of the building, which means right by the sidewalk, a few feet away from the busy/noisy Mission blvd. You open the door to your suite and you step right on the sidewalk... So I asked if I could have another suite, away from the blvd. They found one on the first floor; a much older one. The first floor feels like a basement suite and you can hear your side and upper neighbors quite well. On the living room side, I could hear the guy next door talking on his cell phone and I'm sure he could hear my TV. On the bedroom side, I could clearly hear my second neighbor snoring all night long. As for upstairs, on tile floor, you hear steps, moving chairs, etc. The bathroom had no fan, so you have to decide between opening the first floor window (back alley with many people walking by) or to steam up your suite for quite a while. The mini fridge had no shelves at all (even on the door), so I had to pile up the food; quite inconvenient...
On the bright side, the bed was very comfy, the suite fairly clean, the heating system in good working condition (but in need of cleaning) and the hot tub and pool quite nice.
Overall, the place is okay but I paid way too much for it and I would probably not stay there again. For the same price, I would try a different motel/Inn.

Room Tip: Second floor a must for privacy and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmga2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review the Beach Haven Inn.
The majority of our suites have been remodeled. The initial suite we reserved for you was located on Mission Blvd. It is a major street and I can appreciate you wanting to relocate further away from the street. The 2nd suite you occupied has had some renovation done as well. It has a walk in shower, a new pillow top mattress and box spring and, since your review, we have replaced the mini refrigerator. The property is mature but it has does have, as you allude to, an outdoor heated pool and spa in the middle of the complex which are quite nice.
Thank you again for reviewing the property and we hope you will reconsider and make a return trip to the Beach Haven Inn.

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Beach Haven Inn. The room was very clean but in serious need of renovation. The weather was particularly cold in San Diego a few weeks ago while we were there which was a problem, the room didn't have any heat. The hotel provided a small space heater but it didn't work well enough to warm the room. However, the bed was very cozy. The wall are very thin to the point where you could hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room. All in all I think I will reconsider staying at the Beach Haven Inn again.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure you have working AC or heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Haven Inn. Thank you for the generous comments about the housekeeping staff, they work extremely diligently to make sure all guests have a clean and comfortable room upon check-in and throughout their stay. I do apologize for the primary heater not working in the room. The renovation process is an ongoing one and the staff tries to make every guest comfortable. I hope you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future and provide a more pleasant stay. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#148 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#103 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#226 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#230 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#142 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Property: Beach Haven
Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Haven Inn is located in Pacific Beach just 1 block from the breathtaking Pacific Ocean. It is an ideal location for those who want to center their stay around the sun, surf, and water sports that surround our Pacific Beach hotel.We offer affordable double queen and studio rooms, plus one bedroom suites. The studios and suites in our hotel in Pacific Beach have fully equipped kitchens and are perfect for families. Our pool and spa are conveniently located in our center courtyard and our barbecue area offers an outdoor charcoal grill. Take advantage of our free high speed internet in our lobby while you enjoy the comforts of beach living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Beach Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing