We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least it was clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Haven
Ranked #127 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At least it was clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Beach Haven Inn. The room was very clean but in serious need of renovation. The weather was particularly cold in San Diego a few weeks ago while we were there which was a problem, the room didn't have any heat. The hotel provided a small space heater but it didn't work well enough to warm the room. However, the bed was very cozy. The wall are very thin to the point where you could hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room. All in all I think I will reconsider staying at the Beach Haven Inn again.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure you have working AC or heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Haven Inn. Thank you for the generous comments about the housekeeping staff, they work extremely diligently to make sure all guests have a clean and comfortable room upon check-in and throughout their stay. I do apologize for the primary heater not working in the room. The renovation process is an ongoing one and the staff tries to make every guest comfortable. I hope you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future and provide a more pleasant stay. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    72
    20
    16
    22
See reviews for
76
45
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calexico, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had 2 rooms over the weekend for my daughter's birthday. Rooms were nice for our large group and included a kitchen which helped keep eating out to a minimum. Holly at the front desk was very helpful on the phone and ever better in person. Was there at our checkin and checkout and she was the only pleasent encounter we had with staff. The manager was extremely rude. Other than that we had an awesome weekend and will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Beach Haven. As you mentioned in your review, Holly is truly an asset to the Beach Haven family. The rooms you reserved with 2 queen beds and a kitchen in each room can accommodate 4 adults comfortably. It is unfortunate you considered the manager rude as he was only trying to remind your daughter and her friends of the quiet hour policy. Thank you again for writing the review and we hope to accommodate you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Beach Haven Inn so much that I wanted to tell Trip Advisor.
My son, grandson and I stayed for one night. We did a quick online search and then made a quick phone call. The phone was answered by a very nice and helpful gal that gave us the rates and what was available and confirmation that there was a hot tub and pool with warm water temp.
We arrived and everything she had told us was true and I even got a AARP discount. The room was clean, large, colorful and comfy. The beds were as nice as we had stayed in that week. Then with a small kitchen off our room we were able to cook dinner. My son made steak and veggies on a stick and we barbequed them. We used the hot tub several times. Then enjoyed our room and a large flat screen tv. The next morning we walked a few blocks to breakfast and then came back and checked out. Even the cleaning crew was friendly and helpful. My son said that room will be his BEST memory of our trip! Loved it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clhop77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
“A Thursday Evening at Beach Haven Inn”
Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Haven Inn. We appreciate your comments regarding the helpful guest service agent that provided the information regarding the property. Two of the most popular amenities are the outdoor heated swimming pool and the hot tub. The outdoor BBQ is also frequently used by our guests. Having the kitchen is really beneficial for keeping items refrigerated and having utensils and a dining room table available. Thank you again for your generous comments and we hope to see you on your next trip back to San Diego.

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed there for five nights in early Jan. 2013 . I arrived late New Years Eve night and there were no issues, the staff had left a key for me. I stayed in a one bedroom with a kitchen. It was a lot larger then I thought. The Inn is extremely close to the surf at Pacific Beach along with many surf shops and restaurants. The heated pool and hot tub was great to jump into after a long day of surfing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great Value and location for those wanting to surf in the area and explore. If I'm ever back in San Diego, I will be returning to Beach Haven Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahoney15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the Beach Haven Inn.

The one bedroom suites are good sized and having a kitchen is a nice feature.
The swimming pool and spa ~ heated year round ~ are really nice amenities and provide some relaxation after a day spent sightseeing or enjoying the beach just a block away. There are many shops and restaurants within walking distance.

We hope when you return to San Diego you will stay with us at Beach Haven Inn.
Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just spent a week there..older but updated and had a great deal for $92 a night..a 1 bedroom with a comfy 4 poster bed and kitchen with dining area The pool was warm and hot tub nice. Place was well located. Clean and spotless. The staff were great, and we will stay there again and again. it may be older and updated, but was like a little house...even a bathtub...hooray!!

Room Tip: Get a room in back if possible..back from Mission blvd
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our property and the nice experience you had. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you come back. Our housekeeping staff pride themselves on maintaining a high level of cleanliness for our guests. All the Staff at Beach Haven Inn are committed to having our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay.
Sincerely,
Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, our suite had a basic kitchen with stove, refrig, microwave, table, and a few basic pots and pans and utensils. A nice sitting area with a comfortable couch and a separate bedroom and bath. This is clearly an older establishment that has been updated recently.

Easy access to the beach, to all the shops, restaurants, and bars of PB.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLK1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Beach Haven Inn.

The one bedroom suites are popular and having three rooms which comprises of a separate bedroom, living room and kitchen make it comfortable for a family.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, off-season, and was impressed with all aspects of this hotel. Meticulously cleaned, quiet, helpful staff, free parking, convenient location. The kitchen was well-equipped, and the dining area made it feel much more like an apartment than a hotel room. Our family enjoyed breakfast each morning (saving a lot of money and time). My kids swam in the warm pool one night even though it was late December! Although the facility is aging, it is also well-maintained and provides helpful amenities for a family like a guest laundry, pool and hot tub access, ice machine, kitchens, and extra towels for the beach. An outstanding value which I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice comments you made about the property.
A kitchen is a nice feature that is appreciated by many of our guests who like to make their own meals or should they prefer, there are many places to dine within walking distance.

The Beach Haven prides itself on being a family friendly property only a block from the beach but also having a nice pool and spa.

Our housekeeping staff is very thorough and works hard to ensure a clean environment for our guests. As you mentioned free parking and free guest laundry facilities (self-serve) are additional amenities which Beach Haven offers.

We hope to see you again real soon.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#151 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#230 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Property: Beach Haven
Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Diego's Pacific Beach neighborhood, Beach Haven offers a family-friendly hotel experience that puts the best of the Pacific just outside your door. Enjoy an easy walk to shops, restaurants, parks, and of course, the beach. Surround yourself in a sun-drenched, easy going, beach hotel experience inside and out. Enjoy the surf, stunning sunsets over the Pacific, and everything the neighborhood has to offer right here at Beach Haven hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing