We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Haven
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$125
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$187
$178
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$173
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
86
81
22
16
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
81
22
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific beachmission blvdhot tubtaco surfgreat locationliving roomshort walk to the beachlots of great restaurantsrestaurants barsfull kitchenstayed here for one nightwalking distancesmall fridgelight sleeperclean roomsbooked this hotelfamily vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 228 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed one night as a large group (18) at this hotel when we came out of Mexico and were waiting for a flight the next day. It was a comfortable, cozy little place only a block from the Mission Beach. The rooms were recently painted although one can still tell that the Inn has some years behind it. We found it to be clean and the beds very comfortable. The pool in the center of the complex was clean and big enough for the group to enjoy. The hot tub was a nice plus also. We were easy walking distance not only to the beach but to several restaurants like Fat Burger, IHOP and the Creamery...all of which we visited! The hotel was willing to hold our bags the next day but couldn't give us late checkout due to being fully booked. They were very good about booking a taxi to the airport which arrived early but there is no airport shuttle.

Room Tip: We had room 112, right by the pool entrance, which worked well for us. The pool closed at 10pm so there was no late night noise from it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoBlessed2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Haven Inn. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The staff at the Beach Haven takes pride in providing clean and comfortable rooms, and an overall well kept intimate property. The property has and will continue to have improvements made to accommodate our guests in the most pleasant surroundings possible. The location of the Beach Haven is truly an outstanding one as you noted.
As you mentioned the Inn is within walking distance (1 block) of the beach and many fine dining establishments. As you also mentioned the pool is a generous size and the hot tub is nice to have after a day at the beach or sightseeing.

It would be our pleasure to accommodate you and your group anytime!

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Will start with bill he was helpful from the start, & Clayton. The rooms were clean everyday, great staff very close to the beach, hot tub & pool area clean . We were 4 adults 2 kids , little kitchenette was great to have & BBQ grill.we enjoyed our stay recommend it people with family's , great memories.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quattr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do enjoy accommodating families such as yours. Our sitting and dining area around the pool and spa is a good place to relax after a day spent sightseeing. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job and it is thoughtful of you to recognize the hard work they put forth everyday. We hope now and then you will have a minute to reminisce about your stay and when the opportunity presents itself you will once again be our guests at the Beach Haven Inn.

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I really enjoyed staying here. The staff were great, the pool and hot tub were nice and the location was excellent. The woman at the front desk was very helpful arranging transportation and other trip details. The only complaint was the hotel was kind of noisy - not necessarily people staying here, but because it was on the older side things were creaky and any time someone closed their door it sounded more like a door slam. But, considering the great price this place is definitely worth it- clean, great location and helpful staff!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sscimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We strive to provide value with our competitive rates in offering fully equipped kitchens, close beach location and good customer service. Beach Haven Inn is a quaint little property and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Located near the beach (less than a block) was ideal. Also, the commercial strip offering many restaurants was a short walk away but far enough not to bother your stay. The pool and hot tub area was nice to end the day at and offered a complementary BBQ and eating area we enjoyed. The personnel was very nice and helpful. Rooms were basic but clean, exactly what to expect for a motel style.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to add the kitchenette, its worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minic100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed our location being only one block for the ocean. We are consistently upgrading and renovating our rooms and pride ourselves on our housekeeping staff for their high cleaning standards. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I really wanted to like this place. I thought for the location and price it would be great..nope. If it wasnt such a last minute trip, Im sure we would have stayed somewhere else based on an overall negative review. Little picky things dont bother me much and I can usually deal with it, this place is an exception. The staff (2 guys) were absolutely awful. The room was ok, the cleaning service was great. I went in to the front office one of the days of our stay and the guy was just completely rude, like I was some random person off the street asking to use a bathroom or something, not a paying guest. When we went to go check out he told me to "have a seat" like he was scolding me, asked me if we had more than 2 people in the room. He wanted to charge us the cost of having 2 extra people in the room for our stay. He had the nastiest tone, very condescending and accusatory. Our friends came to our room is all, didnt know that was against the rules. I really wish i would have taken picture of the room before I left, wouldnt be surprised if they are running some crook operation there and charging people for nothing. We left the room with trash thrown away, dishes done and a tip for the cleaning lady who did a great job. (Im sure he goes in there to pick up the tip before she gets a chance) I would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone. I had an impression that they might be the owners, if not, I really do hope the owner reads this and invests in training a more pleasant staff. I personally think staying a little south of there is better,at this place you can walk right to the beach in less than 2 min but have to walk down 4 flights of stairs to get to it (not a big deal but i like being able to walk right out) That might not be the best with young children or an adult that may have a problem with that. Dont waste your money here, it is NOT worth it.

Room Tip: Stay at the Blue Sea Lodge, better location, excellent staff, a little pricier but worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorena317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologize for your bad experience as this is not acceptable. We have management changes at the hotel and following up on your comments, implemented new training standards and procedures for all employees at the property. Making sure our guests have a nice experience is our top priority. I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you how your comments have truly made a difference and you will not be disappointed.

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews