We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #16 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We just spent a week at the Dolphin Motel. It was a perfect location to see the sites of San Diego. It was very quiet & I always felt safe. Most evenings we walked to dinner at local restaurants suggested by the staff. We enjoyed walking along the bay located directly across the road. The rooms are a little small but very clean. All of our needs were met & more. The staff was exceptional. Very well done Dolphin Motel.....we'll be back!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
It's not been long since you left with a smile that we heard from you guys again in this review!
Thank you Mr. & Mrs R. for finding our motel from the many others in San Diego
For your extended stay during this off-season we offer the lowest price with the most accommodations.
Since our service comes from the heart, our genuine attitude towards our guests comes directly from the owners themselves; whom genuinely care for their business & employees.
It would be wonderful if we could make a friend for life to all our guests, because we appreciate the business that comes from word-of-mouth; which in our opinion is the best marketing tool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    316
    71
    13
    10
See reviews for
195
494
117
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great location, everything we needed in a clean and friendly place great staff. Will come back again, 24hr desk. great help with sight seeing directions. Light breakfast felt very safe here. very surprised to find a flat screen television and a mini fridge in a $50.00 room.

Room Tip: rooms by the office have better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
It is such a treat yo have you guys stay with us for the week
Everyday I would see you guys walk by the office while going sight-seeing across San Diego
It was a pleasure to get to know you guys from the conversation we had few days back.
I agree with what you guys said in that most of our old friends have gone somewhere
Nowhere to be seen, can't even find them on facebook!
Stories aside, please don't hesitate to give us a call the next time to stop by this corner of California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for more than a month and we learned to love the place like our home away from home. Cleanliness and order is superb with so friendly owners and staff...i'd say they love what they're doing. A perfect location with great neighborhood. Mr. Murdock, thank you...Now, we have a 'home' whenever we're in san diego! Oh! They do have breakfast, delish choco muffins.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizbeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Our warmest regards to you & the family for choosing our motel
I'm so glad to know our hard-working owners stand out above the rest in providing you anything of need
It was a pleasure to see you guys every day going back & forth to the college, knowing you care a lot about his future & being proactively involved
Best wishes to your son & his college journey
Would love to have you back next year for another few weeks visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay great location and priced right. Great recommendations for sightseeing from the staff. Traveling with 2grandkids, 11 and 8 and stayed at 2 other hotels. They thought the Dolphin had the friendliest people. Thanks for the cane!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Our manager Steve & owners send their regards
Nice to have you here at our modest little motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Location, location,not just location but clean,clean not just clean but also reasonably priced. Not a 5 star more like staying with family you may even here your neighbors a little. This little gem is 10 minutes from everything. Lets see priced right, clean, free parking, free light breakfast, 24hr desk, friendly owner operator. I will stay there again. I love the idea of using all white sheets and blankets they just looked and felt clean and fresh.

Room Tip: i like looking into the habor but I don't think there would be a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greghoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Many thanks to these nice couple for writing about us.
As a modest family-owned, family-operated motel, we treat all our good guests like family
If the request is not over the top, we would go out of our way to get for you
Don't want to mention anything specific but yes, our hard-working owners ensure all our guests get the individual attention they need.
That's one of our strong points for being a little motel.
Much of the personal touch comes from our lack of being owned by a corporation/franchise
Hope you come back to San Diego in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was our second stay at the Dolphin and we were very pleased with everything. Like everyone already said, it's immaculately clean and everyone is very friendly. The location is super convenient to everything San Diego has to offer, beaches, Downtown, Coronado, all within a short drive. If I could mention anything even slightly negative, it would be that the rooms are really only meant for sleeping, since the space is small. There are lots of patio tables and chairs in the courtyard during nicer weather, but in the winter that isn't always an option. Still, that minor problem doesnt take away from the 5 star review. We will stay there again next time we have the opportunity

Room Tip: stay upstairs if possible, the view toward the marina is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curious1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
My goodness! We are so thrilled to hear from you guys!
How was the flight back from Oregon to Seattle?
You guys made our owners & staff so happy, it's such a pleasure to have stay at our little motel for last few days.
I remember talking to you guys in the office the night before while printing boarding pass (free service at the front office)
You also mentioned the weather up their was very cold as of recent, here in San Diego it is considerably cold compared to the rest of the year (but like you mentioned warmly to me, we have it easy down here in Southern California)
Thank you for writing about our owners & the property, please don't hesitant to write us an e-mail sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I've been staying here during the week for the past few months, after checking out many hotels in the 100 and under price range. This is the best! Family-run, friendly, absolutely clean and convenient - just stellar.
Across the street from Point Loma Seafood (excellent sushi), sportfishing docks, easy am run to Shelter Island. They've even kept my car and belongings when I've flown in and out of S.D. This little place is a gem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you dreedy for writing about our motel
Our heartfelt appreciation for your patronage here
This is the off-season so prices are relatively cheap
Coffee & breakfast starts every morning 6:00am - 10:30am, and its great that we are conveniently located near your workplace
Yes, we do offer limited parking services when you left for a week to visit your family.
All in all, we continue our routine of offering budget-friendly accommodations to local & far away visitors. Hope everything is well with you, and see you next week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106-2770
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to our staff over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing