We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #34 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at your motel last week and had a Fabulous stay! Yes the rooms are small but we didn't require much for the 3 of us. The wi-fi was perfect. And the mini fridge in the room was perfect too. The staff and owner are very Friendly and outgoing. The owner suggested a place for us to check out on our way out of town and even had a map to the location to give us! I can't wait to go back to San Diego and stay at the Dolphin Motel again! Thank You all very much!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you Heidi for giving our motel a chance
Also appreciate our good guests from Arizona that swing by this side of the border for a quick break from the heat.
The owners Mr. Murdock & Alan and all our staff are so pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay at our busy jittery motel.
Please contact us as far ahead as you can, summer season is high season and space is limited
Especially the week before Comic Convention. Every year the crowd gets bigger, and so does the demand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    316
    71
    13
    11
See reviews for
197
499
117
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We’re just back from a three week road trip around California, Vegas and Northern Arizona. We stayed in seven hotels – everything from one star to five star properties. The Dolphin Motel was by far the friendliest, with the smartest staff.

When we were checking in, I told the guys at the reception that I was going to take the family to Sea World. A couple of minutes later they had given me a voucher for cheap tickets, told me to go on line and buy, and then e mail the tickets to them which they would print. Amazing! Fifteen minutes later I had tickets which not only saved me $75, but also gave me us an extra day at the park. Brilliant!! They also gave us great directions to the park.

The rooms are just fine – a little small, but super clean which is down to the monitoring the senior management put into their work. The large TV screens are a real bonus. The breakfast in the courtyard is good – family really liked it. We found all of the staff, everyone from the cleaners to the senior management, super friendly. I really enjoyed talking to them all.

The hotel also has a great location, close to the water, convenience stores and malls. Great place. Thank you!

Room Tip: Book early for a good rate. Ten minute drive to Sea World
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
That sounds great Westhash!
We thank you so much for making our motel a part of your recent trip to the West Coast of America
Mr. Murdock is so pleased to hear you kind words of praise!
He wanted to emphasize the point that our customers define who we are
And it is wonderful customer like yourself that keep our small motel alive in these difficult times
Isn't it strange that budget places rarely make top rankings on tripadvisor?
There simply is no place anymore for budget-minded guest looking for accommodations
Many of our guests say they were "abused" by these limited choices
We hope things will change for the better
Once again, thank you guys for your kindness and hope you visit San Diego in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
181 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Come on guys I see only 5 scores for this motel. For me it is a 3.5 to 4. It is true that the rooms are very clean but also VERY small.

The staff is VERY nice and helpfull.

There is enough parking around the building and the neighborhous seemed safe to me.

It is a short (20 minutes) drive to Sea World and to Disneyland.

What was negative for me is the internet that was VERY slow and threw me out a couple of times.

The breakfast is basic but for a couple of days this is not a problem.

Tip: use the Mitch seafood restaurant across the street for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BossErpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Bosserpe, Thank you for the nice comments. It's always appreciated. Also I am glad you wrote "Very Small" for our rooms, to give our future guests more notice. I write "more" notice because about every 3rd review mentions the small rooms. I hope this was not a suprise to you? I hope the room size was adequate for your needs. Most every establishment with wi-fi experiences glitches now and again. I apologize to you for the inconvenience. At this time wi-fi is as usual, working well. Best regards, Alan Murdock and my dad, owners.
P.S. Since we advertise as a budget motel--- I hope our room rates were acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a great place to stay for a couple of nights in San Diego. Cheap, nice and safe area, close to the water if you wanna take a nice little walk and there are restaurants nearby. I think the best thing though is just how nice and friendly all the staff were, and for a motel very soft and good towels :) . The only thing they could improve to me would be the breakfast as there were only muffins and bananas - add some cereal and its all there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kindness Emma A for choosing our modest little motel on your recent summer visit to San Diego
We thank all our customers who do research about our motel before going on vacation
Our rooms are small, budget is our niche
Many of our customers tell us about being overcharged at other locations for services which would have been free
Unfortunately, every places is different and doing a little research beforehand could potentially save them
Parking, WiFi, Breakfast in san Diego can be charged at other higher chain hotels or free, really depends on where you are staying.
It all comes down to doing research beforehand and deciding the best fit for your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
326 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We used the Dolphin Motel as a base of operations for visits to Seaworld and the SD Zoo. That meant we weren't there much - we needed a good value, clean and comfortable place. We got it, though not without some shortcomings. The room was small (just big enough for a full and a twin size bed) with a very small bathroom. The fixtures were dated, but functional. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast was minimal, but at least it was something. Parking was very tight. No swimming pool.

Noteworthy were three things that stood out:
1. The staff was VERY engaging and helpful - one of the better staffs we have encountered. You really felt like they love their job, and they were truly pleased to have you there.
2. The room rate is less than half the Ramada across the street.
3. Very interesting location across the street from the marina. We didn't have the time, but I would have loved to poke around some of the shops and restaurants that line the marina.

All in all a good stay - we recommend it - and we would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Happyrocker
All our staff and the owners have read your review and thank you for giving our little motel a try.
We do try our hardest for our guests!
As we are a small time budget motel, we hope all our future guests read carefully about our motel and our accommodations.
We are an older motel and rooms are rather small, we may or may not have what everybody is looking for
But please don't hesitate to inquire about us!
Tripadvisor is the best thing that has happened to the consumer, it offers future potential guests an idea of a place before they commit. Reading both “goods” and “bads” about a location beforehand and weighing the options
Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just like the other reviews say, this is a great place to stay. Few frills, but what differentiates it is the service which is incredibly welcoming and friendly. Very clean rooms. Plenty of food options nearby. Superb value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enfilade405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much Enfilade405!
Your review brought a smile to the owners Mr. Murdock and Alan
And all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

From check in to check out this motel was perfect. No frills budget motel with clean rooms, comfortable beds, excellent staff, simple but good free breakfast, great location and the owners and staff went out of their way to answer all questions and give helpful suggestions! We will definitely stay the next time we're in San Diego. A BIG thanks to the staff and owners!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you Diane07 for taking the time to write about us.
It has been a pleasure to have met you guys.
Hope things have been well for you guys in Ohio, it takes a little time to get the comments through on tripadvisor
Not all places charge for a smile, and certainly here at the Dolphin, our smiles are FREE!
We certainly do our best to give our customers the honest faithful service that the owners have established 38 years ago
And it is such wonderful customers like yourself that make it all possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 279 in San Diego
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 279 in San Diego
966 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Old Town Inn
#16 of 279 in San Diego
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106-2770
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to our staff over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing