We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolphin Motel
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$125
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$195
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$187
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveler rating
714
323
78
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
323
78
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallyogurtsport fishingpoint lomamitch's seafoodfree wifishelter islandcontinental breakfastflat screen tvevery morningplace to sleepcomic conair conditionershort driveold townmini fridgebalboa park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
455 - 460 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

What we saw from the reviews was a cute little place with a good price. Although the room was a bit small for four of us it was more than adequate to catch a good nights sleep. The continental breakfast was basic muffins, fruit and yogurt, good enough to get your day started well. A couple things that set this place apart. The locatiThe owner and staff get an A+ for friendliness and serviceon is ideal, short drive to Point Loma, Sunset Cliffs, Balboa Park, the zoo, and downtown. The owner and staff get an A+ for friendliness and service, helping us with anything we needed and making us feel like we stayed there often. Check out the owner's response to reviews here, tells you all you need to know about how they aim to take care of you. All in all price, cleanliness, location, service make this a nice little pearl along the harbor.

Room Tip: Room 28 has an outside siting area where you can relax with a nice view of the harbor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fftrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Find a well-located hotel, with a decent breakfast, cell-phone loan, and laptop loan, cheerful, helpful clerks and what would you expect to pay? A lot. Not at the Dolphin Motel, though. They have taken a spare, bare-bones property and added amenities that make you treasure this find. It even has a pool. Not fancy, but clean, friendly and very high value. Parking is behind the rooms, so if you have trouble walking or climbing stairs, specify.

Room Tip: Upper floor on east side has the best view, as you sit outside on the walkway.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank orcasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your generous review orcasgal
As a small family owned motel, we put in the personal touch when it comes to our guests
We hope all our future guests read carefully what we have to offer
We are not a fancy place, like all the reviews have stated
We are best suited for budget travelers who can save some money if they do a little research about what they need
We thank you once again for giving us a chance.

Minor note: We do not have a pool, that belongs next door at the Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've never been in San Diego and decided on the Dolphin after reading reviews here. Everyone is right about the rooms being basic, and the back building has tube televisions. The customer service however is outstanding. Both the front desk and the owners work hard to make sure their guests are happy. And the location couldn't be better to explore San Diego. Go up and over the hill, and you're at Sunset Cliffs. Go towards the city then up the hill, and you're at Balboa Park. Or you can watch the fishermen unload their catch in the early morning at the marina across the street.

Room Tip: walls are very thin. Get a corner room if possible.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oldgoat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

It looks like you took the driving shortcut to Balboa Park/Zoo!
We appreciate you giving us the chance and being a part of your recent vacation
I'm very happy to hear you enjoy many of the places San Diego has to offer
That is true as well,
early in the morning around 6:00am you can smell the catch of the day as it gets shipped to the local restaurants and markets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this property and were so pleased. It is very clean and small (cozy). The staff is very helpful and friendly. Wonderful find for the budget right at the docks. We enjoyed walking around the docks and then being such a short drive to the lighthouse or to downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinaray107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear valued customer, we thank you Tinaray107 for your recent stay at our motel
Across the street from our motel is Point Loma Seafoods which is the local favorite
Once again, we hope all our future guests will read carefully the reviews that our previous customers have posted
and decide for themselves if we are the right fit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a perfect "low-frills" option in a great location. The rooms are small, but very clean, comfortable, and just right for a good night's sleep. Friendly staff, free continental breakfast, and an unbeatable price make this any easy choice. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveFromBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

It was a pleasure having you with us Steve,
Just like you said, we are a "no-frills" motel that is suited for the budget-minded traveler.
And many travelers we get in these economic times who want to go on vacation, and save some money so they can enjoy more of their vacation!
Our rooms are small and clean, and we offer basic ammenities
For future guests, please give us a call and inquire about our motel & pricing
Once again as always, we appreciate your business and hope you will visit San Diego again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews