We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude receptionist but excellent quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Ranked #100 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Nice grounds, nice pool. Front-desk receptionist Marianna was smug, very rude, and began to speak in another language to herself when she was upset that we wanted a handicap accessible room. Otherwise, great value. Besides the Marianna experiecnce, this 3 star seemed like 3 1/2.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

This hotel was fine in a lot of respects. Clean, very nice pool area, easy access from the highway and close to Mission Bay.

They were in the process of painting the dining area which was fine really. The breakfast is pretty pricey at 15 bucks per person - go to the Denny's that is near by. The air conditioner worked but was on some kind of timer so we woke up in the middle of the night because it was hot.
Also the comforters are down which would be very nice if it was cold outside, but really in San Diego you just don't need down.

Biggest problem was the size of the bed. They claim it was a Queen, but there is just no way that it was. It was a full . My husband is 6'6" and the bed was too short and not wide enough for both of us. I felt like I was sleeping on the edge of the mattress all night and so did he. We will not stay there again because of the beds.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
Thank Travelinmom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I really liked this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights, for a sports competition and it was fantastic. Because the hotel was accosiated with the competition, we got free breakfast (which had great food) and a discount on the nightly rate. The rooms were very clean and organized, and the tv was very nice. We got plenty of channels and were thouroughly entertained when we weren't at the competition. It was very close to the beach and Torrey Pines state park. The only cons I have, are that its a tad bit far from the San Diego Airport, but it wasn't too bad. Also, the dinner was a bit expensive, and it took about 45 minutes to make a ceasar salad. But overall, this was a GREAT hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GymTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Traveled with family in the San Diego area. Had switched from the Marriott Courtyard Central at the identical AAA rate because the pictures of the pool looked so darn enticing.

The pool is exactly as billed and we had a terrific day. Compared with the Courtyard Central, the rooms are smaller (no balcony) and the hotel is bigger and busier. The cookies were abundant and amazing, but breakfast / wifi are not included.

Considering the rate was the same, we should have stayed at the Courtyard Central but still had a decent stay at the Doubletree Del Mar.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pricelinejunkie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights (Fri-Mon) at the end of March with my 6 year old son. We got this hotel through Priceline for $50/night. The location is in a corporate center area, but we actually liked that it was in between SeaWorld and Legoland. We did not have any trouble finding the hotel. It is right off I-5. There is a Taco Bell and AM/PM gas station and store nearby. We did not have any trouble finding parking and parking was FREE. Check-in was quick and easy. I asked for a room with 2 beds and my request was accommodated. We were assigned a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the parking lot. We were also given freshly baked chocolate cookies at check-in.

The room itself was nice. I would say the room was average in size with 2 queen beds and a small desk. There was ample lighting. The bathroom was small and the sliding door was heavy and a bit hard to adjust. There was a large closet. There was also a flat screen TV. We liked the Neutrogena shampoo, conditioner, lotion, facial wash, and daily moisturizer (UV protection).

The only complaint we had with our room was that at times a weird smell would come up from the kitchen vents through the space under our door. At times it smelled liked chocolate chip cookies, but other times, it smelled like there was a natural gas leak or eggs. Luckily, we were not placed near the elevators because the rooms by the elevators are louder and the vent from the kitchen is closer to those rooms. So, if you can, request a room away from the elevator.

The hotel seemed very busy with families and students on sports teams. We did not try the hotel restaurant. There was no complimentary breakfast. But, the hotel is down the street from a small mall and we headed to McDonald's for breakfast. The Del Mar McDonald's was different from any of the McDonald's we had ever seen. You could tell you were in an upscale neighborhood! They had extra menu items that they called bistro gourmet. We didn't try any of it, but we thought it was quite interesting! We also ate at Red Robin one night and bought some grocery items from Ralph's.

My son and husband enjoyed the swimming pool one afternoon. They said it was heated. We enjoyed the location because it was in between the attractions we were visiting. My son would also ask for a cookie after we returned from a long day at the theme parks. We would definitely stay here again.

On another note, my parents and my sister with her family also stayed here because they won this same hotel through Priceline for $48/night. They only needed to stay for one night. They were assigned a room with only one queen bed and a sofa bed. Their rooms were smaller, but they said it was perfectly fine for the one night. They were allowed to check-in at 9am which they appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waiomaogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We travel a lot -- worldwide. Have never encountered anything like this and we generally like where we stay hotel wise.

We booked a multi-night stay through Hotels.com that included breakfast. I had the print out of the reservation stating that the rate included the breakfast buffet. It's not a hotel I would have chosen without it, as it's in an industrial park and a bit of a drive from the sites we wanted to get to in La Jolla and MB. They had a decent rate and it looked ok, so we thought we'd try it.

The front desk clerk and the manager of the hotel refused to honor the rate because "it was too low of a rate for them to do it." ?!? They were rude and uncooperative. Phoned Hotels.com to enforce the rate. They called and were unable to get the mgt. to cooperate. Haggled with them for 2 days and then called Hilton Honors. Someone up the food chain finally slapped them up side the head and got them to comp the breakfasts we were entitled to. BTW, couldn't ck out because we had paid in advance and it was non-refundable. They really had us.

Hilton Honors and Hilton Mgt. was superb in their customer service and communication. Will stay at the Embassy Suites in La Jolla or another chain in Del Mar before coming back here -- better location, better breakfast, nicer rooms and better service for about the same price. Ridiculous that I should have to spend one minute of my vacation with rude staff who are intentionally breaching a contract because they're too cheap to honor it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank racine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

As my business in San Diego was in North County, the Doubletree Hotel San Diego/Del Mar made for a very convenient location, and turned out to be a very satisfying stay. Room, bath were comfortable, with a nice pool view. I enjoyed sitting out on the terrace, nibbling on some delicious and reasonably priced snacks. The pool and garden setting is landscaped lovely, and makes for a nice respite. While the hotel lacks self-service laundry, the helpful staff was able to advise me of nearby venue, plus Radio Shack, local restaurants and a Supercuts. This was my second visit, and I will gladly return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KLMChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#71 of 286 in San Diego
785 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#122 of 286 in San Diego
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
#114 of 286 in San Diego
218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#92 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $119 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing