We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay near the fair!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Ranked #59 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great stay near the fair!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

I stayed the Doubletree in June of 2009 with my girlfriend when visiting from Vegas. We booked the room on Priceline for $69 + tax, which was a great deal for the area. It wasn't exactly in Del Mar, but it was very close and the hotel had a free shuttle that took us to the fair. Of course the cookies are great at the front desk. My only real complaint was that the room had a queen sized bed and not a king. Oh well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veeRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    358
    114
    47
    44
See reviews for
352
252
66
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, MT
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

Very nice Hotel. Warm cookie on check-in was just what the kids needed after 5 hours on a plane. Check-in was quick and easy. Staff couldn't be better. Only fault is the kiddy pool was cold. But the rest of the pools were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vastdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

We've stayed at this hotel twice now. Both times have been fine.
Of course you get the tasty chocolate chip cookie. I like free parking. Rooms are comfy.
The rooms are small-ish though. The bed has enough space to walk at the foot of it. Because the coffee table is there. Beyond that is a couch. Don't get me wrong, it's nice to have a couch, but the location isn't the greatest. The couch blocks access to open & close the curtains, and to the thermostat.
Bathroom is adequate sized. Nice Neutrogena toiletries including face wash & a small tube of sunblock.
The parking can be tight. What I decided is that as you pull in if you look for the perpendicular line that goes along the aisle those spots seemed to be smaller. Head toward the far side of the lot on the freeway side, or actually on the side of the hotel, and the spots are a bit wider. The narrower spots aren't awful, but if you need to un-load items from the backseat of your vehicle it's tight and you have to be really careful not to hit the neighboring car. If you don't have the additional insurance on a rental car I'd avoid these spots because of other drivers around you.
There were a TON of dogs! I like dogs, but wow. I swear every time during the weekend that I was going in or out someone was taking their dog(s) out for a walk. On Sunday morning all I could hear in my hallway were barking dogs.
At times the music in the hallways was a bit on the loud side. Didn't help that they played a lot of Top 40-ish stuff.
During our stay, on Sunday I believe (checked out on Tuesday), one of the elevators broke. The elevator situation wasn't the greatest to begin with for the number of rooms and with one down it was awful. For some reason you had to hold the button on the 1st floor to get the elevator down. 224 rooms, which were mostly full on the weekend due to a kids soccer tournament, one elevator was just awful. Plus the elevator was on the small side.
Comfy bed. Good location for what we were in the area for. Good freeway access. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwifuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

I can say with complete confidence that we were 100% impressed with this hotel from check in to check out. Hotel staff were superb, rooms were bright, well finished, and very clean. Even though the hotel charges for Internet, I was able to get free WiFi. Pool is amazing, in a quiet area with lots of trees. Hotel features a very large and odd shaped outdoor pool, and both a wake pool and hot tub. Bathroom is modern and like the rest of the facility very clean. The only complaint I have is the fitness room was not very well vented which meant I was sweating bullets.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lwu22qq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

We landed here randomly via Priceline, and were really grateful. It's a lovely hotel -- great beds, nice little gym (very well-equipped), breakfast is pricey but good, amazing cookies for the asking at the front desk, nice Neutrogena toiletries in the rooms (even sunscreen!). But we were just blown away by the kindness of the staff. The manager (whose name I will almost certainly misspell, so I won't even try) was extremely accommodating. Barbara, at the front desk, gave us a coupon for Legoland that saved us $40 -- she just happened to bring it from home on the off chance a hotel guest might need it. The dining room manager. The housekeepers. I could go on and on. Not a single person working at this hotel was ever less than helpful and friendly. One of the most consistently pleasant hotel stays I've ever experienced. We are hoping to go back soon...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AOGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsbruce
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

This is our hotel of choice in the Del Mar area. The staff is just great and goes out of their way to make you feel important. The rooms are well kept.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

$50 on Priceline's name your own price. But I would have the same things to say even if it was full price. We only stayed one night but we found it very convenient for us and the hotel was very nice. The room was spacious, the staff pleasant and helpful and the kids loved the pool. We've pricelined rooms in the past and are always happy with what we get and this was no exception. It only took us 15 mins. to get here from downtown and we would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to avoid the high downtown prices or be convenient for other things in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristilyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#86 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#81 Family Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing