We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Ranked #61 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

In town for a 60th wedding anniversary, this was the ideal location, close to the ocean. Wonderful recommendation to eat at Jake's in Del Mar. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Although hotel was close to highway very quiet and the pool area was exceptionally clean and they had an outdoor TV with a comfortable sitting area. thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank rammer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarDoubleTree, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Rammer61,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. By the way, Jakes in Del Mar is one of my personal favorites in the area.

I hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Del Mar.

At Your Service,

Ian Heffron
General Manager
DoubleTree San Diego Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    358
    114
    47
    44
See reviews for
352
252
66
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was really looking forward to my one night stay at this hotel, since it was beautiful and had a great pool area. Unfortunately, I was stuck in traffic and didn't get to the hotel until right before my night program. So, no relaxing for me. It sure was beautiful...and comfortable...for the few waking hours that I got to spend there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarDoubleTree, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Namaste 859,

I am sorry that you didn’t have a chance to enjoy our hotel amenities. Although, it sounds like you made the most of your stay for the little time you were able to spend here.

Thank you for your very kind comments and business!

At Your Service,

Ian Heffron
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is located very close to all amenities. We wanted to stay close to Del mar and enjoy the beach. although it is not on the beach but is only 5 min drive to it. They have great service. Some rooms are facing the freeway, although far away, but ask for a room facing the pool. It is very quiet. Free and plenty of parking is also attractive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shawnt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarDoubleTree, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Shawnt19,

Thank you for your comments. We pride ourselves on offering the best value for a full service hotel close to all the North County and La Jolla beaches.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

At Your Service,

Ian Heffron
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stay at the Doubletree Del Mar mostly for business, but a few times a year I bring folks with me. The staff is always welcoming, and the rooms and grounds are very comfortable. The hotel is a bit out of the way, but the staff is always willing to take you places in the van. They have taken me shopping, into Del Mar of Dinner, or even to the beach. They drop you off and you call when you want to come back.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TPH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a large group of family in town for a wedding and we all stayed here! The hotel staff were so gracious and nice to everyone. Great stay for all - rooms, pool, bar, restaurant, and strong coffee in the morning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is off to the side of the Del Mar town, and in a office/mall complex. We only stayed here one night, and the stay was fine and efficient. If you are in Del Mar for business, or only need a place to "sleep", then this is a good choice. However, if you are interested in exploring the area, and soaking in some of the local charm, there are better choices. The hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Doubletree located anywhere else in the USA, nothing more and nothing less. A bit sterile. The cookies at check in are always a nice touch, but the broken coffee maker was annoying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarDoubleTree, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear JNelson,

We appreciate your business. Although the DoubleTree Del Mar is located in a business park, we are located less than a mile from the Torrey Pines beach and Del Mar beaches. The good news is that we offer a complimentary shuttle within a 6 mile radius of the our hotel and our parking and WiFi are free! This is a great value compared to the two properties directly located in the town of Del Mar.

I hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Del Mar.

At Your Service,

Ian Heffron
General Manager
DoubleTree San Diego Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Overall the hotel is exquisite. Upon arrival there were a couple of minor issues with the bathroom which are a big turn off for me.. beard trimmings in the sink, no bath floor matt, otherwise ok. Also I paid for room with view of pool but received room overlooking the dining room instead. I COULD see a sliver of a corner of the pool so I didnt press it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#73 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#84 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#81 Family Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing