We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Tree Hotel by Hilton, Del Mar, CA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Ranked #81 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, United States
1 review
“Double Tree Hotel by Hilton, Del Mar, CA”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Like and used the early check in option. Reservation, and desk staff were helpful. The coffee pot in the room was hidden in a pull out drawer and I was not told it was there. I went downstairs to the breakfast to see if I could get a cup of coffee and a cold box of cereal to go, as I had to be at an early meeting and the breakfast was not open for another 15 minutes, I was told I could not have coffee and if I wanted a box(s) of cereal to eat on the way, I had to pay for it. I ended up having to go the entire day without eating as I was unable to get away during the day to get something to eat. The woman at the eating area who refused my request based on 15 minutes, was very rude and condescending. I rated the value as poor as I was unable to take advantage of the free breakfast that was offered as part of my reservation. I rated the service as average because although the desk service was good, the overwhelming rudeness of the woman in the eating area and the fact I had to go without eating for an entire day because of her was pathetic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarDoubleTree, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Denise,

I am very sorry for your experience. I actually shared your review during our daily pre-shift meeting today as an example of how associate empowerment should work. There is no excuse; coffee should be available and cereal to go is so easy for our team to execute. I apologize for the rudeness you experienced as well.

Thank you for your business and I can assure you that we learn from your valuable feedback.

At Your Service,

Ian Heffron
General Manager
DoubleTree San Diego Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    371
    129
    58
    57
See reviews for
383
264
70
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for a Friday and Saturday wedding event recently, and was very surprised and pleased. Had never stayed in Doubletree before. The rooms were stylish and clean, with very comfortable beds. They have the fluffiest most luxurious towels! Was not bothered by any noise, as the rooms seem to be well-insulated. REALLY GOOD BLACKOUT CURTAINS!

The most OUTSTANDING feature of the hotel was the uniformly friendly, kind, helpful and intelligent staff! It started with the front desk, and was evident everywhere, right down to the restaurant servers and housekeeping. This alone will make me seek out Doubletree next time I have a need.

I had the hot buffet for breakfast both days, and it was very good. The staff was excellent with my grandchildren.

I loved the free parking (hotel is in a business park) and free wifi, which is why I chose this hotel over the Marriott across the street, where some other family members chose to stay. Overall, it seems that my experiece at Doubletree trumped the Marriott in quite a few ways.

The room rate was also good. I will definitely return to this hotel when I'm in the area!

Room Tip: My room was near the elevators, yet I heard no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_E_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

First of all I think this hotel has a perfect location if you want to visit both San Diego and the smaller beach towns Del Mar and Solana Beach. Check-in was efficient and very friendly. My room was a good size on a higher floor with a nice view of the pool and palm trees.

The room itself was very clean with a comfy king bed and had a nice sofa and updated decor with new paint. I stayed 2 nights very comfortably and enjoyed their breakfast buffet just one morning which was fresh and tasty. If I go to Del Mar again I would probably book this hotel if I can get a good price like this time.

Room Tip: Room on higher floor around the pool is nice because you get a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerhardvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent stay as always. Would highly recommend. Rooms are clean. Staff is extremely helpful. This has become the place that I always reserve when I'm in the San Diego area. The hotel is conveniently located near the freeways but you don't hear any of the noise from the freeway. Overall can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The room I stayed at was very comfortable, a nice size, not too small. Wireless internet access was fairly speedy, and the parking lot is large enough to not to have to worry about parking. On things that could be better, the elevator was a bit on the slow side, and I had a room that faced the open courtyard, which could be a bit noisy if you wanted to turn in early. Overall, a very good place to stay, and of course, you get a delicious cookie as a welcome!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 811hung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We got a king size bed and used the pull-out sofa bed for our six year old. The room was a little cramped with the pull-out extended. Check-in was efficient and we got warm cookies for everyone. Parking is convenient with one main entrance/exit. Free wifi and coffee maker in the room. We did not use the pool in October but there are comfy chairs and umbrellas all around with a jacuzzi. The room and bathroom are appointed with modern furnishings and fixtures. The flatscreen is "smallish" by today's standards. The bed is very important to me, and I got a good night's rest. There was some loud hallway noise that woke me up but that is not the hotel's fault. The Doubletree is not that far from Seaworld. The Del Mar Highlands Town Center is nearby and full of great shops and restaurants--very convenient! Bill out the door was $111.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great place to stay, reasonable rates, no parking fee and free cookies. We always enjoy staying at this hotel. It is 15 minutes from Sea World and Old Town San Diego but the savings on the hotel room and parking make the 15 minute drive well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#66 of 278 in San Diego
733 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#102 of 278 in San Diego
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#81 Family Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing