We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Ranked #93 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We just finished a great mini-vacation with my wife and 5-year old grandson. Great facility. Close to the I-5 freeway. Twenty minutes from the Airport. Close to the beach. We went to Legoland (15 minutes), Disneyland (an hour and 15 minutes) and Sea World (15 minutes). Staff was great. Bar (which I needed after a hard day a Disney with a 5-year old) was excellent. Clean facility. Lots of business travelers, but very customer-friendly for families. Pool and hot tub were great. Made for a great mini-vacation! I recommend this place highly.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank DoubleEagleDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2008

To begin with, we "won" this hotel through Priceline for less than 1/2 of the going rate on the hotel's website. With that said, I would have still been happy with my experience even if I had booked direct through the hotel for around $139/night. Not only was Priceline never mentioned... to the contrary we were met with excellent customer service. It started with a smiling face and warm cookies for my entire family. We got an unsolicited follow-up call about 10 minutes after entering the room just to see if everything was OK, and to see if we needed any additional service! The room was average size, well maintained, and had very comfortable beds. It is located in a bit of an industrial area, but if you have a car it is convenient to all of the area attractions (it's about 1/2 way between Seaworld and Legoland). As it turns out the only assistance we would require would be after we left. We forgot a pair of jeans that had valuable ear rings in one of the pockets that belong to my 10 year old daughter (they are her only real jewlry, and were a gift from her grandma). I called the front desk from home to see if they could look for them. To my delight I got a call back the next day and they had located the jeans... with the ear rings still in the pockets. They arranged to ship them back to me, and even provided another follow-up call to give me the tracking number! I got the jeans, ear rings and all, 2 days later! Such honest and customer service is very rare these days.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank grram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We stayed at the Doubletree Del Mar over President's Day weekend. The hotel is mostly business focused and is located near freeways, in a business park setting. However, we found the location convenient for traveling amongst the various, area attractions, such as La Jolla and Torrey Pines State Reserve.

The hotel itself was nice, clean, and comfortable, with the standard Doubletree cookies at check-in. We had a room overlooking the pool and marsh, which was very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking was plentiful and free.

We discovered at check-in that the hotel only have a few rooms (four, I believe) with king-size beds, despite the website listings. Most guests will receive a queen size bed at check-in, even if they requested / booked a king. Also, internet access from the room is only available for a fee.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JesApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Great deal in December. I have never stayed at a Doubletree before, and frankly, I was a bit afraid! (Fairmont and Ritz, yes, but what is a Doubletree?)
It was great. Free Parking. Great cookie w/ check in. Great location. Beds were decent. Not 5 star, but really comfortable. Rooms were clean. Maid service wonderful.
No, we didn't have the beds turned down in the late afternoon, nor were bathrobes provided, but it was a delightful cheap and cheerful vacation, and I would do it again in a heartbeat!
I actually liked the fact you could "do your thing" at the hotel without having to interface w/ alot of employees~
A great stay and I will not hesitate to book there again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank girlagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

Great location just off the I-5, near to Del Mar and near to restaurants/supermarkets if you want to stay local.
Buffet breakfast was good, attentive staff, bar ok, room was clean, spacious and the bed was super comfy.

Don't stay here if you are on vacation as it is away from the Del Mar/San Diego attractions but for a business traveller, I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chargersfan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2007

This whole hotel is a facade. The lobby is nice, but that is where it ends. When I entered the room, the paint on the door was peeling off(why there was paint on the door was beyond me). The floor was hard and felt like I was walking on concrete. The bathroom door is not like a normal door. It slides into the wall, like a closet door. That is fine and good, except ours was stuck in the wall and you could not close it. The beds were lumpy and hard, and the wallpaper was peeling. The glasses for the water were not clean. Most importantly, the window was broken, and we were on the 3rd floor. I checked out immediately, and demanded a full refund. The girls at the front desk were accommodating, and said my credit card would not be charged. A couple of days later, I still saw a hold on my account from this hotel for more than my actual stay would have been. When I contacted the hotel manager to help me with this matter, he was rude and yelling at me, saying MY bank was scum. I wound up staying at the Marriott across the street and they are 100 times better, and for the same price the Doubletree charges!
I plead to anyone who reads this, do not stay at any Doubletree or Hilton brand hotel. The price of this particular hotel is the same as others in the area, and you will get much much more for your money at any other hotel. I hate to have anyone spend their hard earned money and be treated with such terrible customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank calitravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Well, first off , there’s the cookie! But the room.. desk with comfy desk chair, couch, dressers, end tables, chairs, 2 phones, 5 lamps! (but without CFL bulbs-shame) NO RECYCLE BIN. Curtains that close! Lotions and soaps nice, great towels, sheets, really clean bath, good workout room (finally!), beautiful pool and Jacuzzi, close to freeways but not too noisy. Good quality coffee and tea in room, lots of cable tv channels, ottoman at end of bed, staff helpful, very good market (organic) and restaurants up the street

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank KOSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#65 of 278 in San Diego
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#105 of 278 in San Diego
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
#111 of 278 in San Diego
216 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#81 Family Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $131 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing