We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Ranked #63 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed a few nights in this hotel and found it to be a great value. We booked through hotels.com and I thought we were getting a king suite, but we had a king bed and a pull-out sofa (with very little room between). The room and the bathroom were very clean. I found it strange that we didn't have a microwave or a refridgerator in our room. The location was a little challenging to get to when we used our GPS because it didn't recognize that there's a "back way" in because you can't turn left off of El Camino Real when you're going under the interstate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDelMar, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It’s great to hear how you found your stay at Doubletree by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar to be an excellent value and we appreciate the time taken to share your point of view. Our website offers the most comprehensive outline of what each room type offers and we would be delighted to assist in finding the perfect accommodations for any future stays. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you’ll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    363
    122
    53
    45
See reviews for
369
257
67
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laguan Niguel,ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The staff at the hotel made our stay. Everyone is helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the food. Breakfast was the best! The workout room was very clean. Individual tv screens and clean towels for users. The pool was nice with music and great lounge chairs (towels too!) We even used the shuttle to our events we had planned...no money needed for expensive cabs rides!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDelMar, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
How wonderful that our staff could make your stay so memorable! Thank you for your lovely description of your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, as we're glad that you were able to enjoy so many of the services and amenities that we offer, including our complimentary shuttle! We truly appreciate you sharing your review and hope that we get the pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Drove down from Orange County for a relaxing day in San Diego. Got a deal on Priceline-great check-in with the front desk-cookies in hand..check plus* Dropped suitcase in the room-went down to Happy Hour-great value...but how about some music or something to liven up the place. Anyways..started a few conversation with other guest sitting at the bar.

Front desk recommended Donovan's Steak House in La Jolla, and made reservations for the shuttle to take us. It had started to drizzle, and was glad I didn't have to drive. Met a great young couple who were celebrating their 2nd anniversary-THANKS FOR SERVING !

Our room was facing the pool, and although we could see the freeway-we slept like babies.

Room was nicely decorated, clean and I would stay here again. Staff was very helpful, and the grounds well maintained. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanNanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDelMar, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Happy Hour, as we will certainly take your great feedback into consideration for the future. We're glad that our staff could provide their recommendations on where to dine in the area and that you were able to enjoy a convenient trip back and forth with our complimentary shuttle. We couldn't be happier that your recent stay with us has inspired a return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Doubletree Del Mar with my wife and 5 year old daughter for 5 nights October 2012. We found the overall value was great, but don't expect too much as their customer service is average at best. The rooms have been remodeled and are pretty nice and clean. Parking is also free which saves you at least $20.00 a day over similar properties. If you are looking for a central location this is a good place with comfortable beds and fairly quiet at night. It is more of a business traveler hotel, but worked for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDelMar, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We're glad that you have taken the time to share your review, as we're thrilled that you found us to be at a great value for you and your family. Whether staying with us for business or pleasure, we always want to ensure that our guests' experience with us exceeds their expectations and regret that your stay didn't reflect the high standards of customer service that we've set. Though we appreciate the feedback that you've provided, we hope you'll give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Doubletree by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for one night as a stop over before we met our friend in San Diego, The female receptionist was friendly and told us where to go at night,though no doubletree cookies,we got to our room and a bottle of prosseco was waiting for us with a little note welcoming us to there Hotel and San Diego, The room was a nice size not that big but probably the right size for one night but there beds are super comfortable, We didnt decide to go to the places the receptionist mentioned as we didnt know the area that well and it was dark the time we arrived so we asked if there was anything nearby so she printed off some maps to show us a local shopping centre with quite a few restaurants to choose from, they do have a free shuttle service from the hotel but we wasnt offered it, but its only a few minutes walk to the shopping centre where you can find some great restaurants.

We didnt have time to use the Hotel facilaties but it looked like a great hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDelMar, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We're glad that our staff was able to direct you to the best places to go locally, as the shopping centre nearby offers a variety of restaurant choices to please any palate! It was our pleasure to comfortably accommodate you during your one-night stay and we hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to enjoy everything that the Doubletree by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar has to offer. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The location of this Doubletree makes a vehicle a necessity, albeit they do offer a complimentary shuttle to things in the area (including the beach). While a nice, up-to-date property, I'm not sure we'd rush back here as from a tourist standpoint not really near any "hubs." However, we were on the last day of our visit and were looking for a property where we could just "hang-out." This property is certainly ready to handle that. It has a great pool area, a shuffleboard area, and an outdoor patio area with TV and fire pit. The issue with these, at least the day we were there, is no staff seems to be tasked to keep it clean. We wandered down mid-afternoon and found lots of plates, glasses, etc. left over from previous users that had very obviously been left for hours. The bar area is plenty large, with a lounge with multiple TVs so we ate our dinner there (to watch some football), which was tasty and reasonably priced, albeit nothing noteworthy. My final comment is on the all-important cookies that Doubletree is known for providing... they had none when we checked in, promised to send up a tin, and we only eventually got some when my husband called down several hours later. If this is your signature/claim to fame, I'd make sure my staff understood that, especially when they said they'd bring them up (we never even asked for cookies). The rooms are nice overall, albeit not very large in my opinion and feel a bit cramped as they put too much in them (our very small bedroom area had a king size bed, 2 night stands, a coffee table, a sofa, a huge desk with a built in bureau, and of course an office chair) for multiple people and baggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corbyandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDelMar, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Doubletree by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar. Though we're glad that on your last day of vacation you were able to relax at our pool area, we truly regret any inconveniences that you may have experienced. Rest assured, the issue regarding the leftover tableware will be immediately shared with our staff, as this doesn't reflect the high standards we've set for our property. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our famous chocolate chip cookies and can assure you that your concern will be passed along to the appropriate departments. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back, as we trust that our staff will be able to help find the perfect room size to fit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
692 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived without a booking and were told all hotels in Del Mar were booked out. We walked in late a night and the staff could not have been more helpful and gave us a room for the 6 days we required. There is free wifi and printing facilites in their business room opposite the gym. They also supplied a free shuttle to closeby areas at no charge. There was a bowl of fresh apples on the reception desk for customers while they waited. The rooms were really clean, spacious and comfortable. Staff were always friendly and helpful. There is also a pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDelMar, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your kind comments regarding our staff. It was our pleasure to accommodate you at the Doubletree by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar and we appreciate you pointing out a few of the services that we offer. We always enjoy reading a review that mentions how helpful and friendly our staff members are and we're truly grateful that you took the time to post your feedback. We hope that you'll visit with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#65 of 279 in San Diego
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#88 of 279 in San Diego
607 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#81 Family Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing