We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harborview Inn and Suites
Ranked #233 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Palmdale, California
2 reviews
“horrible stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I am a travel agent and without knowing, I booked this hotel for my clients. What a mistake. They told me that it was very dirty and smelly. The weekend they were there, there was also lots of construction going on. They told me they would never stay there again. I know the price is reasonable, but there is no excuse for this. I also, will make sure that I never book this property again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    49
    20
    91
See reviews for
34
73
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The owners were very helpful and kept guests happy. The hotel is conveniently located in Little Italy, a short walk from Downtown San Diego and if you are playing a gig or attending a show at the Casbah, it is literally right around the corner

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SeannyGetsDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

There was value for the location if you want to save money on a stay. It was comfortable and the bathroom was recently updated. If you want to be pampered in lavish surroundings this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I never saw a bed bug so when i found a dead one(red flat disc bug) and brought it to the managers(male& female "indian appearance) they said it was from the tree. Tired & too trusting I stayed in the room. In the morning i noticed blood stains on the bed sheet. The housekeeper never came to clean the room for the following day. I had to request and told the female manager w/the nose jewlery. Upon return to the room the bed had been changed but when i looked closer i saw two more dead bed bugs and tiny ones that exploded with blood when i picked them up & crushed them in a tissue. I noticed a few mattresses in the hallway too but thought nothing of it. I placed the bugs in a plastic cup and brought them to the male indian manager. First he tried to say i brought them but i corrected him by reminding him about bringing the dead one i found on the bed upon arrival and showed to him. Suddenly he said he wpuld refund my money and drove me to Motel 6. I am pregnant and only now that im home I am noticing bed bug bites all over that itch terribly. Thing is these lowlifes knew exactly what it was and instead of shutting down the hotel they pass it off on the guests just to make a buck. Disgusting & criminal.San Diego doesnt even have the proper health dept to deal with this or anything it seems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gretchen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Bremerton, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

1st room did not have double beds as requested & was the size of a shoe box with a torn shower curtain. 2nd room was located adjacent to extensive renovations, including paint & carpet fumes. Attempted to check out after 2 nights of torture & was refused any refund for remaining 4 nights. 3rd room was further away from the renovations but subjected to an orgy that night & again next morning--despite complaining. Also found the quality of everything to be shoddy. Suspicious stains on the carpet, including a bright red one in 3rd room, paper thin & small bath towels, torn curtain linings, iffy cleaning, a ridiculous excuse for a continental breakfast, and the most incredibly small elevator (hard to fit 2 people & 2 suitcases). Staff was inefficient & unprofessional. Is close to Little Italy but should only be rented by the hour!

Room Tip: Rooms on the parking lot side have significantly less noise than street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdharborview, Manager at Harborview Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are very sorry your stay was not what you expected. This hotel is a family owned & operated establishment, We listen to our guests and their reviews which is why we are still doing our best to upgrade and are in the process of renovating the last 4 rooms of this hotel. Again we apologize and understand that there isn't ever a good time to complete renovations. This hotel was built in the early 1900's and has a bed and breakfast feel, some of the rooms are small and we do our best to accommodate everyone but we do have a limited number of rooms to choose from and on New Years Eve we were booked. In regards to refunds if your room is booked through a third party we cannot refund you third party money. We are doing our best to make this hotel a great place to stay. Generally our guests are pretty quiet, but on New Years Eve the biggest party night of the year it is difficult to keep all of the guests quiet. Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently enjoyed a relaxing weekend in San Diego. Turned out I was pleasantly surprised at the welcome I encountered. The staff & accommodations went beyond my expectations. The hotel was very reasonable priced & well suited for family adventures in the San Diego area. Check them out

Room Tip: The location is typically "San Diego" C of C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodMorningx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had a great experience, rooms were comfortable and clean, staff was friendly, great location, great restaurants in the area, we ate at Little Italy and it was awesome. Great rates and I will definitly recommend a friend.

Room Tip: This hotel is a small independent hotel all the rooms seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#174 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#71 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#128 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#207 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn and Suites

Property: Harborview Inn and Suites
Address: 550 W Grape St, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the Downtown district of San Diego on the corner of Columbia and Grape street next to "Little Italy". We are a limited service hotel. This hotel has an older look to it as the building itself was built in 1901 however it has been renovated, the rooms are updated and cozy as the bulding offers 42 rooms. We have Singles, Double and Suites. This hotel is undergoing a complete management change. You will enjoy the location as well as the price come stay with us at the Harborview Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harborview Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing