We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room for the $ in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harborview Inn and Suites
Ranked #247 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Little Italy and Starbucks around the corners. Nice staff and helpful with directions. Room was small with 2 Queen beds but managable. Bathrooms clean and so was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was toast or eggos waffles and coffee but restaurants offering breakfast were close by. Little Italy was lively, and we got use the to the jets landing at the nearby airport. Walking distance to harbourfront to pick up trolley tour that took us everywhere including Coronada Island Fare was $39.00 for the day. WIFI connection. Parking was available most times and limited. No prblem if you you didn't drive there.

Room Tip: This hotel is a cab ride away to the Convention Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 234 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

rooms were not as advertised online, was attacked buy BEDBUGSm thank god they didnt eat me alive. Bedding was dirty and old, bed very uncomforatble and parking is limited. HarborView would not work with me on discounting me with the BEDBUGS so i took matters into my own hand. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL>

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank alwaystraveling66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

An absolute disgrace of a place. After finding this place on bookings.com we were led to believe it was close to San Diego. After checking in we realized the rooms were filthy, the walls paperthin and the place was like a sauna.

After complaining to the front desk we left to find another hotel. To my amazement we were then charged a $90 no show fee. We contacted bookings.com who couldn't help and were then given the hotels email which was a yahoo account.

Lesson learnt but if you like your hotel like a dumpster then this is for you

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdharborview, Director of Sales at Harborview Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Traveler,
We are first and foremost very sorry for your unpleasant experience. As for our location we are Located in San Diego in the heart of Downtown San Diego, next to little Italy. We try to accommodate all of our travelers however we do understand people are looking for a specific experience or rating on a hotel when they are traveling. We are limited service and our rooms are clean and updated. Our website has pictures that are current. It is standard practice throughout the industry to have a 24 hour cancellation policy. If you book through a third party we cannot refund your money you have paid them. Again we are very sorry for your unpleasant experience. And we wish you well in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was my worst hotel experience to date. Why? i) My room had a bed bug infestation. ii) Doors from the hotel onto the streets were unsecured. iii) The advertised continental breakfast looked so bad that even the manager suggested going elsewhere. I absolutely DO NOT recommend Harborview Inn and Suites to any traveler. There should never be a compromise over sanitation and safety.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bineztrav_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

we tried booking .com and got the ez 8 hotel in old towne about 5 miles away we checked out after 10 hours due to drug addicts hookers and a noisy freeway , we were able to get the harborview last minute on the fourth of july for 113 $ a night , we were happy with the clean room great tv , and bob and nera the owners are good people just busy , its in downtown lil italy and our room did have a harbor view although just a glimpse would stay here again in a minute .

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view because some face the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalterAndYoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Location in Little Italy a bonus, since Filippi's is a favorite restaurant. Exterior could use sprucing up, but the room was lovely, though small. All furnishings appeared fairly new, including fridge and microwave. We like to eat breakfast in the room, so didn't care about breakfast in lobby, except coffee) There is a new and well-stocked 7-11 within 2 minutes walk. (one short block). Arrived early (5 p.m.) so parking was not a problem. (Parking lot is a little crowded, but it's free -- not usual for downtown). Hotels.com clearly states if reservation is not cancellable, and I had a previous reservation at a different hotel which charged $15 per day parking, which I cancelled to stay here. It clearly stated that it was cancellable till 7 p.m. Carpe diem!

Room Tip: Ground floor was quite, even though on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoGinnyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

After reading various reviews on this hotel, I was little nervous to stay here. My boyfriend had booked it for one night for a quick trip to San Diego. Upon arriving at the property we found parking, but there was only one space left. Parking situation was not great but it is city and that is how things go. The halls, elevator, and office do give the impression of a very run down accommodation so before getting to our room I was expecting the worst and was prepared to deal with whatever happened.
The door to the room would get stuck and was difficult to open without force. We did it, but that was inconvenient. The room was clean. There was a stain on the curtain and some on the carpet but the room overall was very clean as was the bed. I do think that we paid too much for it ($129!) because there was a convention and the lady at the front desk told us she was very busy because of this. It doesn't seem that business is suffering from these reviews. The room was small, but I did not mind it. There was a table, two chairs, refrigerator, microwave...all in perfect condition and made the room look nice. We were on the second floor and noise never bothered me. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom fine...We are planning to go back when there is not a convention to get a more fair price and stay again. You get what you pay for and I felt that the room was very comfortable and safe. If it hadn't been clean, I wouldn't have felt comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#175 of 286 in San Diego
516 reviews
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#184 of 286 in San Diego
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn and Suites

Address: 550 W Grape St, San Diego, CA 92101-2207
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $66 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the Downtown district of San Diego on the corner of Columbia and Grape street next to "Little Italy". We are a limited service hotel. This hotel has an older look to it as the building itself was built in 1901 however it has been renovated, the rooms are updated and cozy as the bulding offers 42 rooms. We have Singles, Double and Suites. This hotel is undergoing a complete management change. You will enjoy the location as well as the price come stay with us at the Harborview Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harborview Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing