We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harborview Inn and Suites
Ranked #236 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“rude management”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed there this past Saturday night and the guy at the front desk was a complete piece of work. He spent 10 minutes criticizing me and my friend for booking the room through hotels.com instead of calling the hotel. Clearly he is completely clueless because we never would have heard of his hotel if it weren't for hotels.com to begin with. Checking in lasted 20 minutes because the guy at the front desk has a massive stick up his rear. He even slapped on a $5 energy surcharge after we paid for all fees and taxes through hotels.com.

Aside from the horrible customer service, the rooms were spacious. There was, however, an odd stench that permeated throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    49
    22
    91
See reviews for
35
73
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I walked into my room and immediately smelled a horrible scent. While following and looking for the source of the scent, I discovered some fresh bed bug spotting, but could not find a live bug. So I flipped the mattress and found more spotting. The scent now was extremely strong. I moved the box spring and discovered cat droppings underneath the bed closes to the head board! Yes, feces! I took pictures and showed them to the owner and ask for a refund. Shockingly, the owner yelled at me for flipping the mattress! I told him I was looking for the smell and that's why I moved the bed, he continued arguing with me. He did not refund my money and Orbitz did not help in doing so either. I was forced to stay in a less clean, handicap room that I cleaned some throw old throw up off the bathroom wall. I have been using orbitz for several years and will never do so again. I reported this hotel to the health department.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seabeedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My friend Celeste had a really early flight and as she has some physical disabilities, we decided to get a room close to the airport the night before her flight as I live about 50 miles from the airport. The parking lot was very tiny and tucked away around the corner so that was my first worry. The lobby was clean and bright and the young man that assisted us was very friendly and willing to accommodate when we asked for a smoking room (ok I know! )
After a ride in a tiny elevator we found , our room was at the end of the hall, right next to a fire escape door that was propped open.This building is very old and I think was a studio apartment house in it's younger days. Building materials were propped against the walls in the hallway and it smelled musty and slightly of curry. In our room large cracks adorned the walls, paint was peeling from the door frames,there was no phone, the heater was right against one of the beds, slats broken and didn't work on the heat setting. The carpet was old and dirty. The bathroom was ancient, cracked tiles and the toilet was up on a raised platform. There was a little kitchenette but the light didn't work. It didn't seem too clean, but there was a working fridge and two microwaves. I went to the lobby to ask for an ashtray and was told that you couldn't smoke in the building because it would smell up the hallways,but out on the fire escape, which is why I guess that door was propped open. This led me to feel unsafe as anyone could come up the fire escape stairs and into the building virtually unseen. I worried about bed bugs, the mattress were very hard and the pillows flat.I took pictures on my cell phone but need to get a cord to download them to my computer. Will try and do so soon.We paid $102. for this room and it was NOT a bargain!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukee, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Due to overbooking at Marriott Mariana, travel agent booked me here since all SD hotels were booked except here[ should have been warning] Charged $325 per night, I was booked for 3. My gut told me not to check in but it was late and clerk was friendly and it was late. Upon walking down hall to room encountered smelly dirty mattress propped against wall, dozens of dirty old TV's lined the hallway, stained carpet, peeling paint, missing door trim and musty, smelly air hit me. The room- Smelled of a dirty bathroom, dirty windows, sticky doors, bathroom dirty floor and toilet no toilet paper [broken holder] BUGS in tub!! But greatest fear was door sticky and OPEN door to balcony off of hallway made me feel insecure, especially traveling alone. Wish I had a camera!! I called Amex Travel to GET ME OUT OF HERE!! Had talked to clerk about problem of smell he said "I come check in morning" Never put my luggage in room, fear of bugs! Was fortunate to find a clean room at Holiday Inn Express down the street! Hotel refused to give me a refund, saying they were full and couldn't resell my room [ they lied, had vacancies and listed them the next morning at $400 per night!!! HOW can this place get a certificate of health and be on any travel co,s list??? What a shame because with the location and proper management this could be charming, but not a $325!! The Marriott at the Marina where I stayed prior to this was $109 Great room, service, location and worth it if I paid $325!!! Lesson learned READ reviews,!!!!!!

Room Tip: Check to see room before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artglink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

II rent room 405 with my family last saturday 14 feb 2012...i was eaten and bitten by the bed bugs...ended my weekend in a medical facility with allergic reaction to the bed insects...who ever speak spanish..."chinches"....Please be carefull this situation is dangerous and the manager....Jay do not take any action to solve the problem......and denies the facts......I am tryng to find reimbursement for my medical expenses and there is no response so far...Please dont go to harborview inn...dont take the risk to take this insects to your home.......

Room Tip: Never go to the harborview inn hotel...You are risking your life....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HernanAnaheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I looked at all the reviews only AFTER my stay, because I hadn't booked a place before reaching San Diego at 8pm and went hostel hunting around Little Italy for a place to stay the night. I found Harborview Inn & Suites and liked it so much that I eventually extended my stay for 2 more nights.

So I'm quite surprised at the negative reactions, but it could be a matter of expectations.

Personally though, for the price I paid, I think I got a steal. Everything was in working order - air-conditioning, shower, TV - and the beds were comfortable. The location was fantastic - a 15 minute walk from the harbour. Internet wi-fi was good and consistent too, which is something that many other accommodations lack. If you're on a trip to explore, maximise your budget and not waste time lounging around in your hotel room, then Harborview Inn & Suites is highly recommended, based on my experiences at least.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseyong1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

with the exception of the location the hotel experience was terrible, it is very noisy. Planes are fying just above and the side street leads to the freeway, in adition we had a very noisy group of people in the adjacent room drinking and talking loudly.
I stayed two nights and could not sleap at all. I had to move to another hotel.
I will NEVER GO BACK HERE.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abdel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#173 of 278 in San Diego
496 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#134 of 278 in San Diego
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 278 in San Diego
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn and Suites

Property: Harborview Inn and Suites
Address: 550 W Grape St, San Diego, CA 92101-2207
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the Downtown district of San Diego on the corner of Columbia and Grape street next to "Little Italy". We are a limited service hotel. This hotel has an older look to it as the building itself was built in 1901 however it has been renovated, the rooms are updated and cozy as the bulding offers 42 rooms. We have Singles, Double and Suites. This hotel is undergoing a complete management change. You will enjoy the location as well as the price come stay with us at the Harborview Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harborview Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing