We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple but clean, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley
Ranked #230 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed July 17, 2013

efficient and cost-effective, familiar place to stay...... no big frills but not expected either. Have stayed at similar in other states and always been satisfied. For this one you'll need a map to locate but not a problem. Close to Fashion Valley mall, Balboa Park, Hillcrest, PB etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

James - Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that our location was convenient to different establishments in the area, including Fashion Valley Mall and Balboa Park. As well, I am glad that you liked your room.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had a two night stay at the hotel which was on a very good location since it was about 6 miles away from San Diego Zoo and Sea World - the places that I wanted to visit. The room was a bit smaller than the other Extended Stay hotels that I had visited earlier. There were light bulbs missing in two of the lamps and the bathroom door wouldn't lock. Since I was using the hotels just to spend the nights, these things did not really matter. The bed was a bit hard to my liking. The stay could have been better, but that's what you get at the cost I paid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that our location was perfect for the places you had to visit like SeaWorld and the Zoo. I am sorry you found our beds a bit hard for you and that some bulbs were missing; we will make sure those items are addressed with the staff.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was kind of scared after reading the reviews and had my daughter check it out first. For us, it was an ideal location, just up the street from where our daughter lives in Mission Valley.

Negatives
Clean Linens and Towels came with stray hairs. Kind of gross.
Mold around the tub caulking. An easy clean, not sure why it is not cleaned.
A little humid in the room.
Maids throw dirty linens over the balcony onto the bushes below. They stayed there most of the day.
Some stains on rugs.
Beds not very supportive.
Pillows- eh... I really like a good pillow. There wasn't much to them.

Positives
Location (for our purposes in Mission Valley)
Front desk staff - very helpful, great attitudes.
Close to shopping center for food. (We did not care for grab and go breakfast options.)
Free parking included.
Free WiFi - although very slow.

I do not think it was as bad as I anticipated, and certainly not the worst place I have stayed. I would stay again simply because we could not beat the location. If you want luxury, top notch rooms or views go elsewhere. This would be a purely practical choice with room for improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesuburbangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I want to thank you for the kind words about our front desk staff and I am so glad that you liked our hotel's location. Yet, the items such as towels and linens, tub condition and the pillow and bed you described are not acceptable. I sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am going to ensure we take the necessary steps to correct the areas we fell short.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. I invite you to contact me at mvl@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

extended stay America -san diego. was a great choice to stay in San Diego, given the locational advantage. The front office staff were excellent and provided email print outs, helped in the laundry room and any information one required.The room interiors are a little old however everything was functional and was fine. Housekeeping is provided onc ein 7days free of cost.Parking , wifi, laundry at $ per cycle of washing and drying respectively was good too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you were happy with our staff and the way they provided for you during your stay. Also, I am very happy that you enjoyed our convenient location and onsite laundry facilities.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Front desk persons and Mr. Pavel were very friendly. Front desk was very attentive to our need for towels & replacement trash bags. Was dirty outside the room for the entire 5 day stay...trash was never picked up from walkways outside the rooms. Dust bunnies around edges in room & room did not have the 'clean' feel to it. My socks were black from the little bit of walking on the carpet in the room. Fridge had yuck inside near the front. We also had the understanding this was very near to Old Town and it was not. Bummed there was no pool. (My fault--didn't recall that from booking this months ago.) Will probably do something different next trip out!

Room Tip: Read all the reviews, not just 2-3 good ones and go with it! Ground floor would have been better as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farley92010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. Thank you for the kind words about our front desk staff. Still, the housekeeping issues you described are not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am reviewing with the housekeeping staff our cleaning standards and the importance of providing consistent service moving forward.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. I invite you to contact me at mvl@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I love the service from.mr. Pavel. The front desk guy who serve us. He is very Friendly and professional . The place is very quite and clean. I give 5 star for this hotel. Thanks mr. Pavel. You are such a bless for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that our front desk staff was able to assist you as needed during your stay, especially Pavel. I will be sure to share your comments and thanks with the entire team.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Tiny room hard to deal with for family of 4, and no pool or balcony to escape to. Service was great, however...front desk very attentive to our needs for towels, etc. Location was great, but room just not as good as a hotel room would have been for similar cost. They did take our dog, which was the only reason we stayed here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Randy - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am very happy to hear that our staff was so helpful and friendly to you during your visit. However, I am disheartened that you found our rooms to not be large enough for you and your family. Please know, we do offer various size rooms and some larger options at our sister property. In response to your feedback, we will ensure that the staff communicates this message to guests as they book a reservation and check-in to the hotel.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. I invite you to contact me at mvl@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#177 of 279 in San Diego
90 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#163 of 279 in San Diego
193 reviews
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#187 of 279 in San Diego
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley

Address: 7444 Mission Valley Rd, San Diego, CA 92108-4406 (Formerly Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $93 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Fee: $15 daily $5 per day for stays over 7 nights Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites San Diego / Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Homestead Suites San Diego
Homestead San Diego
Extended Stay America San Diego
San Diego Homestead Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing