We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
Ranked #206 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Fort Huachuca, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We just needed a place to stay for one night before a long drive back home. Clean room & they let us check in early (around noon instead of 3pm). The staff were nice, not super friendly or welcoming but I have nothing negative to say about them. Good value & they have free parking. I'd stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank akuma57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    40
    44
    12
    27
See reviews for
62
47
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid June.

Good things I would say are:
Helpful staff
Ok location
Parking available

Bad things:
Really loud aircon
Room stank of damp
Beds uncomfortable
Bathroom not clean
Found wiry hairs everywhere (ew!)
Breakfast just coffee and Danish

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahsha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have stayed for months at the Loma Lodge and paid a lot of MONEY was told I could continue to stay at the hotel for a SPECIAL RATE over 100 dollars for a single bed, as long as I didn't say anything to any other guest the Owner Gene Berger and the GM Neal Singh lied to me, said it was the best deal they could offer, my friend is also staying at the hotel and he is only paying $59 dollars a day and that is what they are advertising outside on the sign. I asked to get that rate and was told NO. They would rather a good guest be gone. They lie to the guest and pick and choose who they want and they treat there employees horrible. And do not appreciate anyone, "I heard Gene saying let all the weekly's go who cares I make more money when they are gone!" Glad I'm gone!!!

Room Tip: None that Gene Berger owns or Neal Singh runs!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Most of the mid range hotels are very similar to each other in States, following the same concept of construction. All they have simple American breakfast and amenities.
It was good hotel in the out skirts of San Diego. Has some restaurants nearby.
Room was clean. People at the front desk was good and friendly.
Thanks & Wishes!!!
Raju India

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IncrediblerealindiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

First, the good: Wifi is strong. No roaches. I didn't see bed bugs, but I was sure itching up a storm even though the bed was comfy.

The bad. I was charged for the room before I even got there. Filthy carpet, smelly bathroom, loud banging air conditioner, extremely thin walls, loud area, dirty ice machine which is not even free! I was afraid to touch anything! Key card was constantly de-magnetized, and they seemed more put out than I was to redo it.

The ugly. I politely asked to change rooms. Was nastily told there were no other rooms, yet there was a vacancy sign. The foul-mannered manager named Sarah [---\I believe (I was refused names - no name tags) locked me out of my room as she was yelling and blaming me for the poor conditions in the room (all of this as I'm ill upon waking from the mold and smell from the leaking sink into the cabinet in the bathroom). I had to call the police. She had her 2 ghetto minions give me dirty looks as well. Sarah is a hateful person who infects others with her negativity. I actually feel badly for her! There will be a health department complaint, because this place needs to be shut down! Don't be fooled by a cheaper price, you will be sick for sure! There are plenty of places around which are much cleaner, and the personnel is much friendlier. You have been warned.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Not a fancy place but it is clean and the beds are comfortable. We like the location -close to Old Town and freeways. If you stay 7 nights, you get one free night. They do not have to be 7 nights in a row. We stayed 4 nights the first time and 3 nights this time so we got a free night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lefty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Even though there was some confusion finding our reservation I had made and already paid for online when we went to check in, the Front Desk Clerk was super nice and even offered us a slightly better room than we originally reserved. We have stayed here several times and are never disappointed. The rooms are basic and clean and quiet. The pool area is lovely even though we usually just see it in passing. We did have the maid service overlook our used coffee pot and cups were still full of coffee when we returned to the room in the evening. Oh well, no big deal. We hope to stay there again soon for a longer visit next time! This little gem of a property is located close to everywhere we like to visit in San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper lever rooms , or poolside if you are requiring one of rooms with 3 beds for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blpettyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#220 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#102 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
California Suites Hotel
#224 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
Address: 3202 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Loma Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge (Sea World/Old Town) offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer an outdoor pool, guest laundry facility, business center, free coffee/tea in lobby, and free on-street parking. All of our clean spacious guest rooms features free Wi-Fi, mini-fridges, cable TV, HBO, ESPN, alarm clocks, and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (18 and under in parent’s room). For those guests who are in town on longer term corporate assignments or business trips we also offer special weekly and monthly rates, as well as direct billing options. For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Sorry, pets are not allowed. We are centrally located in San Diego, CA, directly off exit 18A from I-5. Our quaint Spanish-style hotel is less than four miles from the San Diego International Airport, Sea World, and University of San Diego. Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge (Sea World/Old Town) is your best choice in the San Diego area. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town to visit the San Diego Zoo, San Diego’s beaches, Valley View Casino Center, or Gaslamp Quarter. At Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge (Sea World/Old Town) our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge (Sea World/Old Town), We’ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Hotel San Diego
Loma Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing