We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Town Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
66
46
45
18
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
46
45
18
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrosecrans streetbudget hotelcoffee makerfree wifismoking roomextra towelspool areaspacious rooma wonderful staymicrowavecheckintrolley
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 215 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Although this is an older hotel, the rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable. Roomy space and the beds (I think they just purchased new ones) are so comfortable. I've stayed here a few times, and you just can't beat it for the price, clean no frills, free muffins, bagels and coffee in the morning. Close to restaurants, pharmacy, coffee shops, bus line and is located close to freeway and minutes from the airport and Seaworld. Sometimes they offer stay six days and get the seventh free. Recommend calling for reservations or in person, as their website seems to say they have no availability often, when in reality they actually do have rooms available. Staff is incredibly friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLOMALODGE, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We do thank you for your nice review & hope we can have you as our guest in the near future. Great rates & service year round at the award winning ABVI Loma Lodge. Brian Johannsen General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The newly renovated Deluxe room was clean, and had all the amenities that you need (coffee pot, microwave, mini-fridge). The staff is friendly and helpful. Not a fancy place, but is a great value. Not my first time at this property, and won't be my last.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kutkat6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLOMALODGE, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your nice review & we appreciate your business. We hope you got one of our frequent stay cards during your stay & hope to see you again. Brian Johannsen-- GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband, son, and I stayed here when we came in to town for another son's graduation ceremony from Marine boot camp. We chose this place because it was both the most reasonably priced and cleanest we could find without prior reservations. Also, it's located within walking distance of stores and restaurants and it's no more than a couple of miles from the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD) where the graduation ceremony was taking place.

Our room had 2 double beds separated by a shared nightstand with lamp, TV armoire, small desk with chair, small refrigerator and a luggage rack. The room had a fairly spacious open closet with a shelf running across the top. The bathroom was average sized with a larger shower area in lieu of a bathtub. There are no laundry facilities for guests but they do have irons and ironing boards upon request at the front desk. As stated the room, including the carpets, bed, furnishings, and the bathroom were very clean. My only gripes about the room would be that it had a strange smell, it reminded me somewhat of cat litter, and the bathroom had no towel bars or racks to hang anything on. Other than that, it served its purpose in giving us a place to lay or heads for a couple of nights in a clean and peaceful environment. They serve a very small continental breakfast in the morning consisting of coffee, teas, muffins, bagels, and pastries and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I was also allowed to view the room before renting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahadevarise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLOMALODGE, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We thank you for your nice review & hope we have earned your business should you return to beautiful San Diego again you will keep us in mind. Have a great day! Brian Johannsen--GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

If your looking for great little hotel this is the place...  Inexpensive, nice staff, clean, great pool. 

Recommended great restaurants
10 min from sea world 15++ from zoo.
Way to visit San Diego cheap!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor back side.. Seems to be a busy road but is not bad at night
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLOMALODGE, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

On behalf of my staff & myself we thank you so much for your review & are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the business & hope to see you again! Brian Johannsen-- GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed two nights in Oct 2013. the staf were very friendly and courteous. The room was small but very clean and the beds were comfortable. The lodge was very easy to find and less than ten minutes from Sea World. What the lodge lacked in amenities it more than made up for in other areas. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bairbreaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLOMALODGE, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Just want to say thank you for a great review & we are happy that you stay was the best! Thanks again :) Brian Johannsen-- GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews