We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Favorite San Diego hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
Ranked #216 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Grayslake
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favorite San Diego hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Would not stay anywhere else in the area. Clean rooms, friendly,outstanding staff (even if I left somethings behind) they arranged for me to get it returned to me. Will be staying here again in the future. Weekly rates also allow a great stay at a reduce price in the middle of the city

Room Tip: Close to restaurants, stores & public transportation to the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomakid, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi Bonnie, Thanks so much for the awesome review and if back in San Diego email me direct I will give you a free upgrade to our King Deluxe room. Much appreciated! Brian Johannsen--GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    39
    43
    12
    26
See reviews for
59
42
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

On the website this motel looks so very nice-so I couldn't wait to stay here HOWEVER on arrival it was nothing like the pictures on the website, the hotel staff were rude and unfriendly not to mention unhelpful, when I entered the room I felt a dirty feeling, it was smelly, tatty, very, very dated and in general awful-I am not a motel / hotel room snob but this room made me feel depressed-it was more like a prison cell than some nice place to stay, I waited for my friend to arrive from washington who took one look and said "this is less than satisfactory" we went straight to the reception and checked out-something that I have never had to do this ever in my whole life...but I couldn't even spend one night in this motel room.
We were told that we'd given a smokers room (even though we had not requested a smokers room-since none of us smoke and I have Asthma-made worse by smoke) and smokers trash motel rooms so it wasn't one of the best rooms!! The manager and assistant were rude!!
I wouldn't recommend this motel to my worst enemy!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delilah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomakid, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I am sorry for your experience and this is not the way we do business. I do apologize but to future guests we strive to be the best we can but please read all of our reviews before making your choice where to stay in beautiful San Diego. Thanks! Brian Johannsen GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This motel was worth the money! The employees were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean. It was spartan but clean which is very important. It was nice having a microwave and fridge in the room. The only complaint we had was that there weren't alot of channels available on the television but not a big deal. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a budget friendly motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soonergirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Pleased with hotel. WAs my wife and teen child. Little noise from road traffic didn't bother us. But if light sleeper maybe
Friendly staff. Breakfast was small just muffins and Danishes but food nearby. Easy to find. Parking lot is small but we found a spot both nights pool looked nice. It never got to use. No views of anything really. But for the price you can't beat it I checked many similar hotels in area

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odanyashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our kids are teens and sharing beds is getting difficult. So, we got a room with three beds that actually turned out to be really a two-room suite! So, our teenage daughter was happy to have room to herself. It's the best deal I've found for three beds. The pastry and muffin selection for breakfast was good and fresh. The airport flight path noise was noticeable, but seemed to stop through middle of the night (so not as bad as being near the railroad tracks or station in other parts of San Diego, which I have experienced). There is some street traffic noise. The bathroom fixtures were old. They have soap and shampoo but no conditioner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 days, 2 nights for my Family of 5 through Travelocity as we planned a trip to Sea World. I was looking for a great deal and was not familiar with the hotels in this area. When it was time to check in it was fast and easy. We stayed in a room with 3 beds, 2 tv's, microwave and refrigerator. The pool was clean, as well as the rooms. The pool area has vending machines, along with an ice machine. You hear the traffic and airplanes going by but we didn't mind at all. My family and I had a great experience and can't wait to come back again. I won't need travelocity to take care of my next reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ctangled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I wish I would have spent a little more money and gone elsewhere as this hotel is not worth the money and the management is very poor. Parking is hard and the Rosecrans street noise is very loud in the room. After enjoying the city went back to the room and found blood on the sheets. The man said I'll have to see what I can do -- he came up to the room with flash light -- after acknowledging the blood, said again, 'll have to see what I can do. What --no extra sheets?!! Finally, he brought clean sheets which we had to put on the bed ourselves. Next morning asked to get the breakfast 5 minutes early and the same office man was very short and rude. He said the sign says we open at 7:00. The beds were ok. We we won't waste our money on this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomakid, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
First I would like to apologize for the obvious lack of guest service & this is not how we operate as you can see from our many great reviews. As for the housekeeping error once again I apologize for the oversight in the sheets. I hope you will accept my apologies & give us another chance with your room for the night on me. Feel free to contact me anytime at 619-222-0511. Brian Johannsen GM ABVI Loma Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#132 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
California Suites Hotel
#226 of 282 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
Address: 3202 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110-4834 (Formerly Loma Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Point Loma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge (Sea World/Old Town) offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer an outdoor pool, guest laundry facility, business center, free coffee/tea in lobby, and free on-street parking. All of our clean spacious guest rooms features free Wi-Fi, mini-fridges, cable TV, HBO, ESPN, alarm clocks, and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (18 and under in parent’s room). For those guests who are in town on longer term corporate assignments or business trips we also offer special weekly and monthly rates, as well as direct billing options. For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Sorry, pets are not allowed. We are centrally located in San Diego, CA, directly off exit 18A from I-5. Our quaint Spanish-style hotel is less than four miles from the San Diego International Airport, Sea World, and University of San Diego. Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge (Sea World/Old Town) is your best choice in the San Diego area. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town to visit the San Diego Zoo, San Diego’s beaches, Valley View Casino Center, or Gaslamp Quarter. At Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge (Sea World/Old Town) our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge (Sea World/Old Town), We’ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Hotel San Diego
Loma Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing