We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location and value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Western Inn & Suites
Ranked #138 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I recently stayed here and chose this hotel because it was a good price. It isn't anything flash, but the rooms are clean and air conditioned, the staff are friendly and breakfast is included. It is a great location in old town and has a car park so for a small fee you can park your car off the street, which we found helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    108
    57
    22
    24
See reviews for
102
95
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife, teenage daughter and I stayed at the Western Inn and found it quite acceptable for us. This is our fouth stay in the Old Town area of San Diego for the ComiCon Convention. The location is good in that the trip to the convention is a simple ten minuted walk from the hotel and a ten minute ride on the trolley train. The train stops right in front of the convention center at two at either end of the building. Now for the uninitiated, there are NO inexpensive hotels stays during the convention. We knew this and Western Inn was one of the least expensive. There are few amenities there. They have a SMALL continental breakfast and wifi in the rooms. The wifi was pretty much overloaded in the early evening so don't expect a lot. The room was VERY clean and the beds nice. The bathroom had plenty of towels (4). There is a refrigerator and TV in the room but we did nt use them. It was quiet for us. The air conditioner worked and was reasonably quiet. We had a slight problem at first getting into the room. A maintenance person had to come out with a special device to reset the locks. It took little time. There is no bathroom in the lobby. The staff is friendly we tipped them well when we left. A tip for breakfast: Right across the street in a Courtyard my Marriott with a Extended Starbucks inside which serves breakfast. We used their restrooms as well. For breakfast, I had fried eggs, bacon, toast and potatoes with my coffee. My wife had the fruit parfait yogurt. Breakfast was delicious. There are lots of other restaurants nearby as well.

Room Tip: I am not sure. There were rooms on the other side that had exterior tables and chairs. The nearby fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gus and Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a family owned and run hotel in a great location in Old Town San Diego. Perfect for walking to the many restaurants and shops. Large rooms, very clean and comfortable.
Could use a little updating but all in all the staff were very friendly and our stay pleasant. A free continental breakfast in the lobby was provided.

Room Tip: I only saw our room so have no comparisons. It seemed that all the rooms have that air conditioning...
See more room tips
Green Features: Towel reuse program is in effect. I believe the shower faucet was energy efficient along with the toilet.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chacha298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I did not expect the rooms to be as big and clean as they were. I was very pleased with the room and how clean it was for the price we paid. They charge for parking so we parked on the street which was fine because it was a quiet street. The man at the front desk was very nice. The bathroom could have been cleaner. Good location for a short walk to Old Town. May visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Don't book through Expedia. hotels dot com was 60 bucks lower. For prices shown on Hotels dot com it is a good deal. it is an older hotel, but the room was quite large and also clean. Great water pressure in the shower. Friendly employees. The location is only a few blocks from Old Town. they do not have an airport shuttle and there is no lounge, but the Courtyard by Marriott is across the street and has a small bar an food during specific hours. .The Courtyard employees were also very nice. I promised to tip the driver $10 and they let him shuttle me to the airport.

The important draw back for me was there were far too few electrical outlets, especially near the desk. I also prefer more light in the room, but the windows have great slat blinds that do brighten the room. The ironing board is one of those small ones with 6 inch or so legs, but there really is nowhere to put it at a reasonable height if you are using the desk.

Pretty good value for the money. If spending more is in the budget then you might like other hotels more, but I was good with my 2 night stay there.

Room Tip: They have both smoking and non-smoking as well as an out door smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank randyabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

There is no wifi on the 3rd floor and the only thing that your smart phone or iPad will get for the wifi id is "Stayoffmywifi". If you want to save $$$, don't pay for parking, because there are curb side parking spaces around the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello

We are sorry for the problem you had for the wireless problem on the 3rd floor, we did find out that our access point went down but we are able to take care of that problem. Once again we are sorry that the wireless did not work while you were staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have been here twice and never was told they had a pool and fitness center.I mainly chose this hotel because it is near the freeway and Old town San Diego and relatives to visit and to take the Trolley Tour

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Courtyard San Diego Old Town
#144 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town Inn
#21 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn & Suites

Property: Western Inn & Suites
Address: 3889 Arista St, San Diego, CA 92110-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located walking distance to OLD TOWN, Trolley line and close to all major attractions. All rooms comes with free wireless internet, Continental breakfast, coffee maker, and iron. You can walk out and explore over 150 international shops, historic landmarks theme restaurants and art galleries. The San Diego Convention center and Gaslamp is only 10 minutes from the hotel.The Western Inn is just 3 miles from San Diego Airport and 1/2 mile from MCRD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Western Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing